We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric, helpful and convenient.”
Review of GLO Hotel Art

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
GLO Hotel Art
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Atmospheric, helpful and convenient.”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Our actual stay at the Hotel GLO was only a brief overnight one with an early departure the following morning. However, two days beforehand we walked in with our suitcases and asked if they'd be able to store them for us until our return from a 24 hr side trip to St Petersburg. Friendly staff were very happy to do so which was reassuring and made life less complicated. Our check in on our return from Russia was smooth and the reception and lobby area were delightfully furnished in an atmospheric environment. Our actual room was great; modern with ironing facilities and a great hair dryer and blissfully comfortable bedding and A/C. Such a contrast from St Petersburg. The hotel is well-located in an interesting part of town full of design shops and eating choices and only a 15 minute pleasant walk from the Central Rail Station. They do have other GLO hotels in Helsinki so be careful if booking online that you get the one you want. Rates were most reasonable for this level of comfort.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    715
    227
    64
    22
See reviews for
175
660
145
286
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Saw the tripadvisor 2013 award and felt delighted upon arrival. We were sure we would have a fabulous stay.

We were assigned a room with a threadbare and fraying half sofa with holes in.
The internet was sporadic and yes we paid for the top level wifi at 9.99 a day but were frustrated with this as it kept going down. Even though we called for help, none was given.
We would ask for our room to be cleaned daily, and would mostly wait six hours for it.
If you needed anything...eg coffee in the room you needed to pay 5.00 Euros for it. In addition, You had to go to the reception and collect the kettle.
If you needed extra towels, you would have to go collect them from reception.
There is no room service in the hotel, and any food orders are delivered from the hotel next door.
There was a complete lack of service. Basically there is a person at the front desk to check in and check out and answer basic questions. When it gets busy the whole of the small reception area is crowded with people awaiting service.
Oh, and the fitness centre is always locked and closed.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivecaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
272 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Enjoyed the location of this hotel which was a 5-10 minute walk from the central area. It felt quiet and peaceful and a 10 minute walk to the ferry terminal. The rooms were great. We stayed 2 nights and 1 night paid to upgrade to a bigger room and it was very nice. However we didn't mind the smart room either, it is small but not bad for European standards. The room had nice stylish touches and caters to business travelers. The prices were much better on the weekend. There was good wifi. The best part was the recommendations of the staff. They recommended a Finnish restaurant Salve and a indoor market a few blocks away that had fabulous food. Very happy we decided to stay here. Loved the castle facade as well.

Room Tip: If you don't like small rooms, don't stay in a smart room. But they really aren't bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJRTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Simply perfect for couples.
Modern romantic atmosphere in a great location in town (art and shopping venues).
Big, well equipped and confortable rooms. Super big showers!
Beautiful reception and skilled, kind personnel.
Surely advisable for special events.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FollowTheReaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I have stayed in the hotel for 5 nights. The interior of the hotel is impressive and you would think the service will be the same...well, it was full of surprises during my stay. At the check-in I wanted to opt for a room in the old wing, they informed me that it will cost me extra 10 EUR per night. So I kept the room in the new wing which is bit of a walk from the reception especially if you are with luggage. The room was tiny and compact, hardly any space for suitcases and clothes. The "wardrobe" takes about 4 hangers but then you cannot close the door properly. You cannot put your suitcase anywhere but the bed when you want to pack / unpack it. Despite all these problems I liked the room with it's modern and simple design. They tidy the room daily and you'll get fresh towels as well. The breakfast is very good, but with the same choice it gets a bit boring after day 3. The WiFi is free in the entire hotel, but do not expect any miracles. Only the basic WiFi is free and it has the speed of the 1990's modem connections. If you want to have something quicker then you have to pay 2-5 EUR per day. I also wanted to use the sauna (we are in Finland, aren't we?) only to find out that it costs 18 EUR and you have to book it 2 hours in advance. The location of the hotel is reasonably good, about 10-15 minutes walk from the city centre / esplanade / train station. Staff is helpful with directions and other things. All in all a pleasant stay however not a very good value for money as you have to pay extra for many things normally included in the price elsewhere.

Room Tip: Not much to choose from in the new wing, I believe rooms are OK on the higher floors as they are ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankieinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

On first impressions Wow - this hotel looks stunning! From the outside it looks like a medievil castle and the inside is very modern scandinavian design - gorgeous. We are a same sex couple and had some strange looks when we checked in and were even asked if we would like to be booked into sepperate rooms as it looked like there had been a mistake on the system and we were booked into a double room. Quite embarrassing to then explain to the front desk staff that we were a couple :/ We were soon given a key and told of instructions etc and walked to our room.

We stayed in a double ensuite room which looked pretty & had a heated floor (much needed in -8 degrees :)) but the room was very very small. The bed did come with a remote and you could move the bed up and down to suit your desired angle but if you like more than a waifer thin pillow bring your own to sleep with as the pillows were tiny and very soft and flat. The room had a flat screen TV with local cable and the room had free wifi however; there were no tea and coffee facilities. The power shower amazing!

The view was rubbish (facing a gym down a dark back street) and I felt that it was a shame the hotel wasnt located somewhere else like at the beautiful water front within the city as the outside of the hotel looked beautiful and the city back streets didn't do the hotel justice.

Breakfast was nice, served in a buffet style with lots of choice. No fry up as was a continental style cold buffet but there was warm scrabbeled eggs and porridge. The cold meat served is rain deer (i found this to be quite common in Finland) which tasted very nice but there are no labels on the food so be warned if you dont want to eat raindeer for breakfast it is the dark red meat :) We did not eat lunch/dinner at the restaurant as we went out.

The hotel was close to local ammenities/bars and the staff were very helpful in giving directions to town (town was a good 20-30min walk away) or advising on the best way to travel around town (by tram)

All in all the hotel looked pretty impressive but very pricy for the tiny rooms, if I were to return to Finland I would stay in a hotel closer to the water front and right in the heart of the city and get a bit more for my money.

Room Tip: The rooms are stunninly beautiful but very very small. Heated floor is deffinately a plus tho :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Psylola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed just one night at the Glo Art Hotel. The staff were excellent, very friendly and efficient. They have a cute little bar right off the registration desk and the breakfast room is down stairs. Many others comment on the layout but it was perfectly fine and the layout was easy to follow once you figured out how and when to use your room card. The room was an OK size; the bed was very comfortable; and the amenities were great. The breakfast was more than satisfying, everything was delicious and there was a huge variety to choose from.

When we checked out we asked if we could check our bags in for the day as we were returning from Tallin and we had several hours in Helsinki before catching out train. We were delighted when we heard they'd be happy to!

I would definitely recommend this hotel. There are a couple of restaurants within a block or you can walk to the harbour front / market area in 15 minutes. There was also a flea market in the opposite direction.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
411 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 65 in Helsinki
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 65 in Helsinki
1,305 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Property: GLO Hotel Art
Address: Loennrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GLO Hotel Art is an exclusive, charming lifestyle hotel built around a century-old Art Nouveau castle in the centre of Helsinki. A unique hotel has excellent meeting facilities. Surrounded by the vivid Design District, you can enjoy lunch in one of the areas cosy cafes, dine in one of the top restaurants in the area or take a stroll to the city center. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will definitely enjoy your stay here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing