We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of GLO Hotel Art

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
GLO Hotel Art
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed here for my two first nights in Helsinki

1. Positives
Nice bedrooms, ideal for a single/business travellers. The electric bed was marvellous, helped you sit up and watch television or read comfortably.
2. Amenities such as cheap rental bikes.
3. Good location, not far from the central streets of Helsinki. Also good amenities were available locally.
4. Friendly and helpful staff.

Negatives:
1. Breakfast was expensive. 18 euros! Ouch!
2. Glass encased bathroom, while it was nice. But again, issues of privacy when using it could be a problem.
3. Disappointed there was no sauna/health area (or couldn't see one).

All in all, it was nice place to start my visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CardiffKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    669
    213
    61
    22
See reviews for
169
634
133
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

It wins best shower and best beds of our six weeks in Europe. We were tired and the beds were sooooo comfortable. Excellent bed light for reading also. The bedside table and bed bases lighting up was quirky and cool. We only had one night and were too tired to go out. We had the 'salmon panini' in the reception lounge. Have it! The name is misleading. It is better than that. It is traditional Finnish flatbread with real salmon, not 'the usual' smoked salmon. Very filling and totally delicious. Wanted more but couldn't fit it in. Receptionists friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank quirkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I am going to keep this brief since I have put a detailed review already for the same hotel a few months ago.
This was my second stay there for a week within six months.
Highlights:
1. The rooms in the 400 series are bigger than the 300 series. Perhaps my company paid for the bigger rooms this time. There are a couple of chairs (or one chair and one sofa) and a small table where you can keep your laptop. Again, I got a room with a decent view of the road (meaning outer wing.)
2. This time the bed did not have any way to raise itself. No remote available. So this one was not like the adjustable angle one from last time in the 300 series of rooms.
3. They have no smoking rooms. So you have to go out to the parking/ open area to smoke.
4. TV was perhaps bigger than last time, though I did not watch it that much.
5. The WiFi signal was week and the speed was 512 Kbps. You have to pay 2 Euros per day for 2 Mbps unlimited.
6. The hotel was kind enough to allow us to to put our luggage in a locked luggage room for several hours.
7. Breakfast was boring on the sixth day. The same stuff everyday. But for a vegetarian I have to keep expectations very realistic.

Tip: To get to the airport from the hotel, walk down to the tram stop on Fredrikinkatu and catch tram number 6 or 3. Then get down near the tram stop for the central railway station Rautatientori.
Walk across the street and look for the bus stop which has the aeroplane sign on it. We took bus 615, but there other options too.

The same bus pass works for this, provided you have regional pass (Helsinki and Vantaa municipalities).

They have place to keep your luggage in the bus as well.

You will come across T1 terminal stop first and then T2. You may ask the driver where to get down in case you do not know.



The Nepali restaurant in front of the hotel is decent if you want some Indian type of food.

Room Tip: Choose the ones on the road side, the inner ones will seem to be boring with no people to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Nice comfy bed, stylish room, clean, quiet, good location, but didn't appreciate the hotel trying to sell everything in the room - cuddly tiger, overpriced water etc. The bathroom is glass so not ideal for privacy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The outside of the hotel that you will see in photo's is extremely misleading as once inside and checked in you have to make your way through a myriad of corridors, having to stop and use your hotel key card at every door, to what can only be described as an office block style accommodation. Actually it's not dissimilar to university halls. The entrance lobby looks old and appealing and then bizarrely you end up in a very business-esq room, overlooking a busy street, with dismal coloured furniture and a chair that looks like it should belong in an old peoples home. As a business stay perhaps this would do, it looks like so many of the four star homogenous rooms one can find, but as a tourist it's an extremely uninspiring setting. Also, despite having to travel along corridors balancing your bags whilst you fiddle around with the key card for opening the doors there was no offer of a porter.

The room was fine, clean and well maintained yet there was no bath, no fridge, no opening window, no hair conditioner, no kettle and tea, no free water and the shower is bizarrely a semi-see though block facing the bed. This of course is an enjoyable feature on some occasions, but I doubt as much when you have requested twin beds and therefore are traveling with someone who you would prefer not to share a bed with, nevermind for them to see you completely naked whilst you bathe. Luckily my friend and I booked separate rooms. There was also a small toy tiger on the bed that had a tag saying, "For 23 € I'm yours forever! Just bring me to the reception to bail me out." Ah, thanks, just what I've always wanted, an over priced tiger as a reminder of my stay in Finland. You also have to pay for wifi if you would like a limit of over 541MB.

Hotel parking is expensive at 3.50 € per hour, but is at least in a secure underground parking lot.

The hotel itself is a short distance from the main attractions of Helsinki so you can walk or take the tram number 10.

So, overall for 107 GBP I would not say this hotel was worth the money, especially since I've just been staying at the Radisson Blu in Turku for less, which was of a much higher standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeCygne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Really liked this hotel - after a few standard business hotels it was a refreshing change to have a weekend in Helsinki and at the hotel. Really good breakfast mix of healthy and unhealthy for whatever takes your fancy. Coffee is 6/10.

The hotel is located on the line between city and residential and that's great for a nice walk in to see all the sights and then back.

Also for those night owls, there is a great bar located in the same street and plays lounge music with an 80s twist.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Puddock_KIng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The location is a little away from the active center of town (Stockmann's, Mannerheimintie, Esplanadi) but still convenient by tram line 6 a block away on Boulevardi and only a block from the Hietalahden market hall and flea market. The main building on Lönnrotinkatu is a Jugendstil castle built in 1903 that has been carefully maintained (or restored), and the breakfast room/restaurant is in a barrel-vaulted cellar. If you're into the style, you'll revel in the forms and decoration. However, the sleeping rooms are in other buildings attached by walkways. Our room, and the rooms of our fellow travelers in another wing, were comfortable and well-appointed, though compact (this is Europe, after all). Our biggest surprise and disappointment was the lack of acceptable wifi service, especially considering the hype we had heard about Finland's superiority in internet and mobile technology. Our room was a total blind spot, and the service available in the lobby and our relative's rooms was dreadfully inadequate. We paid an up charge for one day and borrowed another room to Skype home, but this deficiency alone would probably keep me from a return stay.

Service otherwise was adequate and friendly. The breakfast was varied, plentiful and of high quality, and the restaurant, though with a limited menu, was quite good. No room service, though, and limited dinner hours. A small bar in the lobby did offer snacks and sandwiches in the evening. Fortunately there are several good cafes and restaurants within a few blocks walk.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side can be a little noisy on the street side. Our room on the courtyard was quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#8 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Property: GLO Hotel Art
Address: Loennrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GLO Hotel Art is an exclusive, charming lifestyle hotel built around a century-old Art Nouveau castle in the centre of Helsinki. A unique hotel has excellent meeting facilities. Surrounded by the vivid Design District, you can enjoy lunch in one of the areas cosy cafes, dine in one of the top restaurants in the area or take a stroll to the city center. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will definitely enjoy your stay here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing