We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of GLO Hotel Art

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
GLO Hotel Art
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I spent one night at GLO Hotel Art . Clean room, convenient location in the design district downtown Helsinki. Very good breakfast with excellent choice. I also liked the room design - very different from dull Canadian and American hotels. Service folks at the reception desk were helpful and polite. Definitely will stay here again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kostya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    735
    236
    67
    23
See reviews for
189
676
151
293
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed in two different 4 star hotels during my stay in Helsinki - this being the second. What a difference!
Although this hotel is good, compared to the other hotel I stayed in close by, the Glo Hotel Art really pales in comparison. The decision to charge for things any other hotel provides for free is a real slap in the face for a paying guest.

The positives first - the location is good - not dead central, but under 10 min walk to the main downtown core (Stockmanns, Kamppi, bus terminal, train station etc) - with lots of restaurants close by, and a supermarket almost opposite (with an ATM). The staff on check in were courteous and professional. The breakfast was okay - not superb, not bad - just okay. Not the best choice but what they did have was expertly displayed and looked very nice. Good quality of fruit juices too. Beware though - they have 'extra' items which you have to pay for (detailed on a card on the table) - really disappointed with this. When you stay in a 4 star and have breakfast included you really don't expect to have to pay for things like bacon €5 and fried/poached eggs €5 (as if they are a luxury extras). Unfortunately, the habit of charging for extras is a common theme in this hotel - to its detriment. More on this in the review.

The room we had was small and awkward to navigate with two people and luggage. It was a courtyard view in the older part of the hotel. The decor and bed were good, but the size of the room really let it down. The bathroom appeared to be okay until I realised that the toilet was positioned with an angular wall to the side, which made it impossible to use properly as you almost had to cross your legs to use it! Myself and my companion are slim people so I don't know how larger guests would manage this odd bathroom arrangement. I would almost expect this kind of thing in an 100 year old Paris city centre hotel, but not in a fairly modern 4 star hotel in Helsinki.

Inside the room you are almost bombarded with things to spend your money on. There is the cuddly toy on the bed (yours for €23) and what appears to be complimentary water to greet you after your journey -oh but wait, this is €3 a bottle also. (I've stayed in 2 1/2 stars in Europe that give you complimentary bottled water on arrival). On top of that we also have a small bottle of Bailey's (€12.50) and a 'welcome card' which is just another price list in disguise (tea and coffee making facilities added to your room - €5, bathrobes - €5 etc)
They actually charge for a kettle to be put in your room?!? Disgusting - this should be a standard for any 4 star! Also, there is no fridge in the room - again, this is a standard that I would expect!

I have added some photos of the various 'added extras' this so called 4 star charges it's guests.

Be aware that this hotel does not represent good value for money. It appears they are only interested in milking more money out of guests who have already paid a high enough price for the room. There are better hotels all over Helsinki - stay in one of those! Better rooms, better breakfasts and better standard of care to paying guests!

I would not recommend this hotel unless they abandon the 'added extras' policy.

Avoid this hotel. It really lets Helsinki down and does not represent the nature of the city at all.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Horizonx30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed here for my two first nights in Helsinki

1. Positives
Nice bedrooms, ideal for a single/business travellers. The electric bed was marvellous, helped you sit up and watch television or read comfortably.
2. Amenities such as cheap rental bikes.
3. Good location, not far from the central streets of Helsinki. Also good amenities were available locally.
4. Friendly and helpful staff.

Negatives:
1. Breakfast was expensive. 18 euros! Ouch!
2. Glass encased bathroom, while it was nice. But again, issues of privacy when using it could be a problem.
3. Disappointed there was no sauna/health area (or couldn't see one).

All in all, it was nice place to start my visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CardiffKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

It wins best shower and best beds of our six weeks in Europe. We were tired and the beds were sooooo comfortable. Excellent bed light for reading also. The bedside table and bed bases lighting up was quirky and cool. We only had one night and were too tired to go out. We had the 'salmon panini' in the reception lounge. Have it! The name is misleading. It is better than that. It is traditional Finnish flatbread with real salmon, not 'the usual' smoked salmon. Very filling and totally delicious. Wanted more but couldn't fit it in. Receptionists friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank quirkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I am going to keep this brief since I have put a detailed review already for the same hotel a few months ago.
This was my second stay there for a week within six months.
Highlights:
1. The rooms in the 400 series are bigger than the 300 series. Perhaps my company paid for the bigger rooms this time. There are a couple of chairs (or one chair and one sofa) and a small table where you can keep your laptop. Again, I got a room with a decent view of the road (meaning outer wing.)
2. This time the bed did not have any way to raise itself. No remote available. So this one was not like the adjustable angle one from last time in the 300 series of rooms.
3. They have no smoking rooms. So you have to go out to the parking/ open area to smoke.
4. TV was perhaps bigger than last time, though I did not watch it that much.
5. The WiFi signal was week and the speed was 512 Kbps. You have to pay 2 Euros per day for 2 Mbps unlimited.
6. The hotel was kind enough to allow us to to put our luggage in a locked luggage room for several hours.
7. Breakfast was boring on the sixth day. The same stuff everyday. But for a vegetarian I have to keep expectations very realistic.

Tip: To get to the airport from the hotel, walk down to the tram stop on Fredrikinkatu and catch tram number 6 or 3. Then get down near the tram stop for the central railway station Rautatientori.
Walk across the street and look for the bus stop which has the aeroplane sign on it. We took bus 615, but there other options too.

The same bus pass works for this, provided you have regional pass (Helsinki and Vantaa municipalities).

They have place to keep your luggage in the bus as well.

You will come across T1 terminal stop first and then T2. You may ask the driver where to get down in case you do not know.



The Nepali restaurant in front of the hotel is decent if you want some Indian type of food.

Room Tip: Choose the ones on the road side, the inner ones will seem to be boring with no people to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Nice comfy bed, stylish room, clean, quiet, good location, but didn't appreciate the hotel trying to sell everything in the room - cuddly tiger, overpriced water etc. The bathroom is glass so not ideal for privacy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The outside of the hotel that you will see in photo's is extremely misleading as once inside and checked in you have to make your way through a myriad of corridors, having to stop and use your hotel key card at every door, to what can only be described as an office block style accommodation. Actually it's not dissimilar to university halls. The entrance lobby looks old and appealing and then bizarrely you end up in a very business-esq room, overlooking a busy street, with dismal coloured furniture and a chair that looks like it should belong in an old peoples home. As a business stay perhaps this would do, it looks like so many of the four star homogenous rooms one can find, but as a tourist it's an extremely uninspiring setting. Also, despite having to travel along corridors balancing your bags whilst you fiddle around with the key card for opening the doors there was no offer of a porter.

The room was fine, clean and well maintained yet there was no bath, no fridge, no opening window, no hair conditioner, no kettle and tea, no free water and the shower is bizarrely a semi-see though block facing the bed. This of course is an enjoyable feature on some occasions, but I doubt as much when you have requested twin beds and therefore are traveling with someone who you would prefer not to share a bed with, nevermind for them to see you completely naked whilst you bathe. Luckily my friend and I booked separate rooms. There was also a small toy tiger on the bed that had a tag saying, "For 23 € I'm yours forever! Just bring me to the reception to bail me out." Ah, thanks, just what I've always wanted, an over priced tiger as a reminder of my stay in Finland. You also have to pay for wifi if you would like a limit of over 541MB.

Hotel parking is expensive at 3.50 € per hour, but is at least in a secure underground parking lot.

The hotel itself is a short distance from the main attractions of Helsinki so you can walk or take the tram number 10.

So, overall for 107 GBP I would not say this hotel was worth the money, especially since I've just been staying at the Radisson Blu in Turku for less, which was of a much higher standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeCygne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 65 in Helsinki
1,349 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 65 in Helsinki
1,153 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#5 of 65 in Helsinki
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Property: GLO Hotel Art
Address: Loennrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GLO Hotel Art is an exclusive, charming lifestyle hotel built around a century-old Art Nouveau castle in the centre of Helsinki. A unique hotel has excellent meeting facilities. Surrounded by the vivid Design District, you can enjoy lunch in one of the areas cosy cafes, dine in one of the top restaurants in the area or take a stroll to the city center. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will definitely enjoy your stay here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing