We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment & wound up going to another hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of GLO Hotel Art

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GLO Hotel Art
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointment & wound up going to another hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

FWIW room size and hotel location are fine! It reminded me of being at some weird place w notes all over telling you when to do things and costs for each thing(that's included other places) short sighted policies in a city where the niceties are included in this price range

It's not the fault of the staff but the mgmt (according to staff) put in place new policies that "nickel and dime" or euro and euro you to deathHotel glo art
Broken(a hole in wall tile) tile in bathroom
18e brekkie plus more € for eggs
18€ for 1 hour use of sauna other place

3e water
5e for use of robe
€ more for high speed internet

Entire place had feel of a room with little notes all over in contrast to other hotels in this region this really had the feel of nickle and Diming you (or euro and euro You)

Sadly I decided it wasn't worth it to spend last few days of a great trip like this
It was
As if a manager owner decided to charge one rate for bed then thought "look at all the money I can make by charging for everything else" €18 for brekkie ? 5€ to use a robe? €18 for a 1hr sauna use at another building??



It leaves you with a bad feeling
Room itself was ok but when I added everything up I actually (for the first time ever booked another hotel in the city where things like those mentioned above were included and forfeited the $ I'd spent on this hotel ! Try the Scandic if you want to feel like your business is appreciated!



coming back at night the area was quiet, though I saw three separate incidents of drunkeness
People vomiting, people relieving selves on street)

Room itself was ok but the experience wasn't good ;
the person at reception was nice and even called a museum to see if it was open.
if you don't want breakfast or other amenities this might b ok, but other hotels in this city are a better choice.



Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maproot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    689
    218
    61
    22
See reviews for
173
645
138
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The location is good for accessing Helsinki and the staff are very helpful. The breakfast is wonderful and provides a large selection including regional specialties such as pickled herring.
Rooms are modern and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Dian_B-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taghazout, Morocco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed there during my last business trip to Helsinki. Went with my sister and Father, that were going to the same Tourism trade fair as me. We were positively impressed by the rustic style and original architecture of the hotel. Had to leave at 4 am and staff at reception were very friendly and helpfull. Had a great breakfast before leaving and there tips were just perfect.
Will defo stay there again !!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YounesARABAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palacekamp, Guest Relations at GLO Hotel Art, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi YounesARABAB!

Thank you for staying with us @ GLO Art! We are delighted to know that your stay was a good one. I´m glad to read that you enjoyed our services designed for the early-birds to get you the best possible start for your day.

Looking forward to have you here again!

Greetings,
Enni Viuhkonen
GLO Hotel Art
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hotel is conveniently located within 20 minute walk to/from the main railway station or ferry terminal. Rooms are on smaller side, but have comfy beds. Shower is small, but serves the purpose. Service at check in was very polite and friendly, reception staff is courteous - Leena was polite and knowledgeable. Breakfast is quite large, be there early to get the most for your $$$. Internet service sucks, very poor connection.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are not as noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank houliganski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palacekamp, Guest Relations at GLO Hotel Art, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Houliganski,

Thank you for your review and your kind words about our staff- I´ll make sure Leea gets your greetings. We appreciate your feedback around internet connection and your words will be definitely taken on account when planning our services in the future.

Greetings to Florida!

Behalf of GLO Staff,
Enni Viuhkonen
GLO Hotel Art
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Before booking my stay, I was read some comments concerning the long distance between the front desk until the rooms. Indeed, it is not that short distance, you have to pass some corridor, a small external (but covered) space, another corridor, and you reach the elevators. So, it's true, but.... so what? I have very good properly functional arms and legs, so it's is not an issue for me.
I arrived in a Sunday evening and I realized that the lady who was supposed to attend me was making some coffee/tea for someone else. This fact kind of worried me, however in week days there was enough people to give me the attention I required.
The room was also okay, enough space and comfort for one people, clean, with very good LED TV (seems to be around 46 inches or so). Bathroom also clean and very functional (wow, you can watch TV while seated in the toilet sanitary, very useful during the World Cup, if you know what I meant).
The breakfast is between fair to low. The very same food every single day. Not much options of bread and no options of cakes.
Service in general was okay, no concerns.

Room Tip: All rooms are ok if you can walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardo_2772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina_Kaikkonen, Guest Relations at GLO Hotel Art, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments about our property and our services, we highly appreciate all the feedback from our guests!
Thank you for giving brilliant example of how strong the first glance can be, I´m reliefed to found out that even though you got some concerns on your arrival, you later got convinced about our service at front desk. I´m thankful for your understanding approach! We truly also understand that the first time journey to our guestrooms can feel a bit long, especially if one´s dragging a heavy luggage and has several hours of travel behind. However, all the doors that are on our guests way (most of them motorized) are there only to make our guests stay a comfortable and secured. If one of our guest has difficulties on moving around, we do all we can to place his/hers rooms in a way that it is easy to reach from the reception.
Your constructive comment about our breakfast selection will be passed on to the people in charge of the food and beverage services.
Hope to see you here again in the near future!


With Best Regards,
Enni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

My party of four had two rooms and we felt the size was fine. Unsure why others felt it was small. The staff were most accommodating, (they allowed us to borrow their luggage scale which was most helpful at the end of a two week trip) and the architecture and furniture were all very modern. The distance to downtown is literally 5 minutes, and they are close to many great shops on Frederick street. They do charge for 'extras' like coffee, water. And the 3rd floor coffee/expresso machine was not great. The morning buffet breakfast ok, but had to pay extra for eggs of any type. The best thing though, were their comfy beds!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan_H_68_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Cozy hotel is a bit far from the city center. Medium-sized rooms, well-equipped.. Very friendly service. Suitable for urban traveler who wants to walk. The breakfast-room small but nice and the food varied.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mart U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Art

Property: GLO Hotel Art
Address: Loennrotinkatu 29, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Hotel Linna)
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GLO Hotel Art is an exclusive, charming lifestyle hotel built around a century-old Art Nouveau castle in the centre of Helsinki. A unique hotel has excellent meeting facilities. Surrounded by the vivid Design District, you can enjoy lunch in one of the areas cosy cafes, dine in one of the top restaurants in the area or take a stroll to the city center. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will definitely enjoy your stay here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your GLO Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linna Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing