We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location and Great Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. This is an older hotel with smaller rooms than North Americans are used to. However, it was entirely adequate for our needs. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean and relatively spacious. A safe was provided in the room. We arrived in the morning and the hotel kept our luggage safely in a separate room.
We stayed at the Original Sokos hotel as part of a Collette Vacations tour, so it was booked for us. However, Collette did a good job. The location could not have been better. It is a short walk to the Esplanadin Puisto (a beautiful park), the local market, the harbor, historic churches and many other things. There are also lots of good restaurants nearby.
Not only is there Wi-Fi in the rooms but free internet access on computers in the lobby. There is a nice sauna, although we did not have time to use it.
Breakfast was wonderful. There was an excellent choice of breads, meats, eggs, fruits, cereals, juices, yoghurts, cheeses and other foods. The food was plentiful and of excellent quality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandyRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

With so many Sokos hotels in town it is hard to pick a favorite but the location and convenience to the bus and train terminals as well as high end shopping makes this one a winner! The staff is very accomodating and went to some trouble to find a room similar to one I had enjoyed 7 months ago. I could not remember the details but they searched the computer system and duplicated the room nicely. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms clean and large enough that you don't bump into yourself taking a shower. The sauna on the top floor is especially nice during the colder months. Breakfast is busy because this is a popular hotel for business people but the staff keep items well stocked and tables bussed so it is possible to find your favorite newspaper, take a cup of coffee and start the day. I am a little perplexed about pricing. The night before I stayed at a Sokos in Kuopio at half the price for virtually the same room. The Economists would tell me that is supply and demand or market pricing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Sokos Hotel Helsinki is situated in the middle of the city. So, if you like to walk to attractions of Helsinki, this hotel is good choice. The building is old, and I quess that therefore rooms are quite uniques.

I liked room, it was spacious, and clean.
Breakfast buffet was just little bit over average. In Finland that means, that you can find everything you need. I stayed in this hotel three night for business. Everything was just fine. Because of my schedules I did not use other services (like restaurant) in hotel. So, all I can say is that room, and bed is comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anssil958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend. Hotel is located very well only within walking distance to everywhere you want to go in centre of Helsinki. Basic hotel rooms are spacious and averagely decorated. Bathroom is nice eventough it was a minus that there were no shampoo or conditioner in shower, only all in one soap. Thats not a good for a lady who has long hair and has left all hair stuff at home! Air conditioning in the room is good but its hard to control so we had pretty cold room during our stay! The most impressive thing in this hotel was the breakfast!! I have stayed in many hotels in Finland and this hotel had the best breakfast so far. One of my favourite things staying in hotels is see how good their breakfast is! This hotel had a lot to choose from. They had fresh bread, bacon, cereals, fresh fruits, eggs and lot more other options to choose from! Overally i and my girlfriend had good time in this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A very pleasent hotel in the heart of Helsinki. Nicely located for shopping as previous reviewers have said.

Although my room was basic (and I only mean it's size [although more than enough room to swing a couple of proverbial cats]) what more do you really need other than a comfortable bed and somewhere to wash.

The only negative I could find with this hotel was the fact that the hotel bar was closed because the staff where on holiday (I assume that the bar is sub-let rather than run by the hotel itself). However there is no short supply of bars nearby, so this didn't effect me.

For anyone planning on staying in Helsinki, whether at this hotel or any other, I would strongly recommend using the Finnair bus from the airport (which runs every 15 minutes) costing only €6.30 and only takes 30 minutes to reach the city centre.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Situated within easy walking distance of the rail and bus stations this is a convenient hotel for the sights. Rooms are comfortable and all the staff helpful with advice and suggestions.
Breakfast was excellent and plentiful.
Negative: Restaurant was closed on Mid-summer Eve so we were reduced to frequenting the American (burger) bar in the same complex.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Got a twin bedded room on the top floor, okayish view of the cathedral but better than the ones that look into the inner courtyard. Comfortable and user friendly, staff is very helpful breakfast is great but do try to make it early or fairly often you'll find the buffet empty.
Everything worth seeing is in walking distance, many restaurants and pubs around the area and the touristy stuff isnt far off either.
all in all great stay and the sauna is awesome!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NayantaraBagla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,253 reviews
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#38 of 66 in Helsinki
659 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#17 of 66 in Helsinki
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Address: Kluuvikatu 8, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: £106 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and cosy Sokos Hotel Helsinki is located in the heart of Helsinki, between Ateneum (the Museum of Finnish Art), and the Senate Square. The hotel is located next to the major shopping streets and it is only 300 meters from Helsinki Central Station. All the hotel rooms are designed with fresh, Scandinavian style and have hardwood floors, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TV. Some rooms have a private sauna. There is a complimentary internet point with three computers in the lobby area. The hotel also houses two great restaurants: Fransmanni and Memphis. Fransmanni offers French-inspired cuisine and the hotel’s rich breakfast buffet is served there every morning. Memphis is a more upbeat restaurant with tasty burgers and cool drinks. The hotel is also a great venue for small-scale meetings, and offers two meeting rooms for a maximum of 30 persons. The sauna department is located at the top floor and can also be rented for private use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helsinki Sokos Hotel
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing