We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,053)
Filter reviews
1,053 results
Traveller rating
372
510
142
24
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
510
142
24
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar american bar art deco tallest building top floor historical hotel jugend style beautiful room big room nice stay bars and restaurants the heart of the city single room superior room mini bar excellent location business trip
Filter
Updating list...
583 - 588 of 1,053 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed here for a weekend after my fiancé was in Helsinki for work. The Torni is actually one of the tallest building in Helsinki and can be seen from many locations throughout the city and while on Baltic sea excursions (helpful to find your way back if you get lost).

The Hotel has some real early 19th century features, from the stairwell elevator to the domed lobby. Note how the theme of the hotel's shape resonates in the light fixtures and columns in the main restaurant.

Our room 423 was large, with a magnificent bed. While the bathroom was an average size, again it was full or period features, including a claw-legged roll-top bath.

The breakfast buffet was amazing. And as others viewers mention, the rooftop bar is worth a trip to take photos alone.

We didn't pay for the hotel ourselves. However, we opted not to stay a third night as we could find accommodation cheaper elsewhere. Although if returning, I'd probably look into staying at the Torni again due to its excellent location and general comfort.

Room Tip: Rooms in the older building seem larger than the others depicted.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadGallivanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Everything at the Hotel was OK. nothing was "great" but then again nothing was "bad".

Room :
- There was no Tea / Coffee facilities in the room, which would've been nice.
- The bed was comfortable, I had no problems sleeping.
- Free wifi was good. Download speeds were quite slow ( for large amounts of data ). If you just want to browse the internet then it's fine.
- The blinds didn't really keep the room dark ( when it's light at 3AM this can be an issue )
- Bathroom was OK, though a little cramped around the sink. There was a socket above the sink, set high enough so you can't splash it, but then this made it difficult to charge a toothbrush.

Food :
There was a good selection at Breakfast : plenty of hot dishes as well as cold. Most of the tables in the restaurant were quite large, so for couples or people travelling alone it often meant sharing.

If I went to Helsinki for a holiday I probably wouldn't choose to stay here, but for a business trip it was ok.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain5Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stayed here for a weekend. The hotel is just 5 min off the main shopiing area and shopping center (Stockman). The rooms are big, clean and had much light (due to big windows/ high ceilings). Some noise from the street on the Saturday (due to some bars on the other side of the road).
The breakfast buffet is good, and the nextdoor bar has a nice garden.
The hotel also has a fantastic roof-bar (though a bit small so come early) with fantastic views of the city and great drinks (a bit pricey); this place can be visited even though you don't stay at the hotel, and is worth a visit on a sunny day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dordi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The Sokos Torni is a middle range business hotel in the centre of Helsinki. The building is old but decently renovated. The rooms are sufficiently spacious and have no carpet, a feature I like very much for hygiene reasons. TV is good, safe is too small. WiFi is included. The main drawback is the too small bathroom. It is difficult to stand in front of the mirror to shave because there is not enough space next to the toilet.
Staff is nice and professional. Breakfast ok but nothing special. Seem difficult to buy normal eggs in Helsinki to make normal scrambled eggs.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank Jolis99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Spent 1 night there my fiancé and I, celebrating his 30 year birthday. The check-in was smooth and Ulla was very welcoming. Our room, 409 on 4th floor was in the end of the hallway and very quiet from the hotel side but there was some noise coming from the street. Not disturbingly much anyhow. We had a suite including bath tub and balcony. The bath tub did unfortunately not fit 2 persons which we had hoped but the bathroom was classy and nice anyway. Lot's of amenities they had, like body lotion, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, vanity kit, shower cap, toothbrush and razor set etc. There was a blowdryer as well and well enough towels, 2 bathrobes and 2 pairs of slippers. The entrance had sufficient closets and an ironing board and safe. The salon had a flatscreen TV, writing desk, small sofa and table in the salon. We liked the material of the furniture and the colour scheme. Thedouble curtains let in light when needed and kept out the light when needed. The entrance to the balcony was from the salon and was narrow and the balcony itself undistinguished. The only thing decorating it was a small tree. No chairs, table or anything. I was dissapointed. The size of the balcony was maybe 1x3 meters with wobbly floor. There was no other view except for to the street Yrjönkatu. The bedroom we really fancied, huge flatscreen TV in front of a king size double bed. Finally a hotel with sufficient amount of pillows! =)
The bed was supercomfortable and kept us sleeping in just the right temprature. As we had booked the suite we were able to choose breakfast delivered to our room. It was a more narrow selection that one can find in the breakfast buffet. It included natural youghurt, muesli, 1 glass of orange juice per pers., coffee/tea, 2 croissants, white & dark bread with some plate of cheeses, eggies and ham's. I was missing drinking water. Of course one can drink tapwater as well but in Helsinki it tastes to chlorineFor a bigger variety, I suggest you go down to the buffet. The WiFi was free and the minibar expensive. A small piccolo of red wine 10 EUR, can of Cola 4 EUR etc.
We loved the bed and 1 night experience of luxury and didn't really dislike anything. Was just missing something to sit on on the balcony =) Go here for above the average experience and visiting the Panorama bar on the 14th floor is a MUST! =)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 409, 4th floor with view only to the building across the street and the street Yrjönkatu. You need to be on floors 6 and higher to be able to have a view over Helsinki.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvelynErika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews