We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,049)
Filter reviews
1,049 results
Traveller rating
369
509
142
24
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
509
142
24
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop baramerican barart decotallest buildingtop floorhistorical hoteljugend stylebeautiful roombig roomnice staybars and restaurantsthe heart of the citysingle roomsuperior roommini barexcellent locationbreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
579 - 584 of 1,049 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I stayed in one of the "tower" rooms on the tenth floor. The room was tiny, and the toilet/show separated from the "bedroom" by only a transparent glass partition. The room had a great view of all the major attractions of the town. My room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the towels were fresh. Everything was minimalistic. The front desk staff were helpful. The elevator was slow and small. The lobby was a bit dingy. My curtains weren't quite tight, a problem during the season of all-day light. The roof-top bar was fantastic, and I went up there almost every evening to look around. I would recommend the hotel, if for no other reason than the views; but don't expect luxury.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the tower, facing the city.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tkpkrdvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The Torni is in an historic building which was once the tallest in Helsinki. The rooms are decorated in a variety of historical periods so it is worth asking for what appeals to you most. I had booked a single room online, however it was so tiny I had to upgrade to a double. Breakfast was very nice, but the same every day. I loved the bathroom with a heated red square in the floor. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and I had free wifi to three different devices. The location is very central and convenient to trams, bus and rail and shops. If I returned I might prefer to stay at Glo or Kamp, as they are better for shopping and waterfront. Very cool bar on the rooftop, and cute little affordable restaurant called Kitch nearby.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
Thank Sydneymum09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed here for a weekend after my fiancé was in Helsinki for work. The Torni is actually one of the tallest building in Helsinki and can be seen from many locations throughout the city and while on Baltic sea excursions (helpful to find your way back if you get lost).

The Hotel has some real early 19th century features, from the stairwell elevator to the domed lobby. Note how the theme of the hotel's shape resonates in the light fixtures and columns in the main restaurant.

Our room 423 was large, with a magnificent bed. While the bathroom was an average size, again it was full or period features, including a claw-legged roll-top bath.

The breakfast buffet was amazing. And as others viewers mention, the rooftop bar is worth a trip to take photos alone.

We didn't pay for the hotel ourselves. However, we opted not to stay a third night as we could find accommodation cheaper elsewhere. Although if returning, I'd probably look into staying at the Torni again due to its excellent location and general comfort.

Room Tip: Rooms in the older building seem larger than the others depicted.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadGallivanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Everything at the Hotel was OK. nothing was "great" but then again nothing was "bad".

Room :
- There was no Tea / Coffee facilities in the room, which would've been nice.
- The bed was comfortable, I had no problems sleeping.
- Free wifi was good. Download speeds were quite slow ( for large amounts of data ). If you just want to browse the internet then it's fine.
- The blinds didn't really keep the room dark ( when it's light at 3AM this can be an issue )
- Bathroom was OK, though a little cramped around the sink. There was a socket above the sink, set high enough so you can't splash it, but then this made it difficult to charge a toothbrush.

Food :
There was a good selection at Breakfast : plenty of hot dishes as well as cold. Most of the tables in the restaurant were quite large, so for couples or people travelling alone it often meant sharing.

If I went to Helsinki for a holiday I probably wouldn't choose to stay here, but for a business trip it was ok.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain5Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stayed here for a weekend. The hotel is just 5 min off the main shopiing area and shopping center (Stockman). The rooms are big, clean and had much light (due to big windows/ high ceilings). Some noise from the street on the Saturday (due to some bars on the other side of the road).
The breakfast buffet is good, and the nextdoor bar has a nice garden.
The hotel also has a fantastic roof-bar (though a bit small so come early) with fantastic views of the city and great drinks (a bit pricey); this place can be visited even though you don't stay at the hotel, and is worth a visit on a sunny day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dordi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews