We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with character” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel with character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely Art Deco hotel in a good location. I stayed as part of a conference only for one night but wished it was longer. Amazing rooftop cocktail bar with beautiful views over Helsinki, particularly during the white nights. Breakfast great with lots of choice. I have also stayed at the original sokos and would say this hotel was nicer if you like character. They also had tea and coffee in room whereas the other hotel did not.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jomcvitie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torni-Management, Hotel Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Solo Sokos Hotel Torni! We appreciate the great comments about the room, breakfast and our Ateljee Bar.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Marjut Söderlund
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    425
    117
    20
    3
See reviews for
89
350
94
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed at his hotel for 1 night on Business in Helsinki.
The hotel is about 45-50 mintues taxi ride from Helsinki airport.
This is a small hotel, but the service is great! The room are spacious very modern, and the clean.
The bed was SO COMFY, with a massive flat screen TV.
I did have a little go on the mini bar too which was full of delights.
There was a rooftop bar with viewing area.
The location was right in the centre, with 5 minute walking distance to cafes, bars, trams and shops.
I would definately stay in this hotel again, was a little far from the airport but I guess to get into the centre it was worth the distance for sure.
I had breakfast and lunch in this hotel, which were both very nice, the Chicken Salad was huge :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NATALIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torni-Management, Hotel Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

That was a very thoughful review of your recent stay. Thank you for highlighting the service, room, breakfast and restaurant. We can't wait to welcome you back again!

Kind Regards,
Marjut Söderlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed here for one night, I wanted a central location and a design experience, so I paid much more than what I usually spend for a hotel. had a solo supreme king room. Room had beautiful Finnish design and was nice, but it was on the side of a street with a noisy bar which kept me up until 2.30 am. When I checked out I was told by the receptionist that this was 'normal' on that side of the road, which didn't make me happy.
Otherwise no complaints, great service, the roof top bar has amazing views, the restaurant in the cellar serves delicious lobster soup (but is not cheap).
If I came back I would go for one of the rooms in the tower, the 'solo up rooms' which are smaller in size but offer amazing views and are probably far enough from the bar noise

Room Tip: Don't go for 433 or other rooms next to it if you want to avoid noisy bar at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torni-Management, Hotel Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am sorry to hear about the noise. I contacted the restaurant nearby about that night and we do our best in the future that all our rooms are quiet. For us there is nothing more important but to make sure every guest leaves happy. Like you mentioned, we have "solo up"-rooms in the higher floors, please try room with a view next time. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Marjut Söderlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Great walking location (one way streets make navigating to it in a car challenging), and super convenient for exploring Helsinki. We stayed on 11th floor. Amazing view! All white room, with glass bathroom. Exposed toilet a bit odd, prefer a little more privacy, even with spouse. Glass shower fine, you can take in the view while washing. Breakfast selection excellent. Staff helpful, but didn't do more than say sorry when ceiling light cover fell and hit my partner on the head. No injury, but a complimentary beverage would have been a nice touch. Still, I would stay there again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 00Jill00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torni-Management, Hotel Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the recent stay with us and sharing your positive experience! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Marjut Söderlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
136 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

As others have said this hotel is very convenient to most of the sights of Helsinki, a short walk from the train station and convenient to shops and the port. Breakfast is quite expansive although the young bus boys and bus girls should be better trained since if you dare to put your fork to your mouth there's a good chance the plate will be whisked away from under you. The place is clean although our room was given only a cursory touchup on days two and three. As a matter of fact day three found us returning from a full day of pounding the pavement in a heat wave to an unmade room. A real downer! Rooms are not air conditioned but we found the supplied electric fan was comfortable enough. Thanks to previous reviews we made sure to get a ground floor room to avoid the teeny elevator which is clearly not sufficient to handle the needs of the hotel's guests. Some things are strange: i.e. the toilet paper is far removed from the toilet! Sounds strange but it is impossible to reach the toilet paper from a perch on the seat! And there's a total lack of amenities such as soap, shampoo, etc. Those horrid squeeze dispensers are in the shower and they are it! Lastly it is completely impossible to avoid drenching the bathroom floor if you have a stall shower room as we did. Forget saving the environment and reusing towels. You need the towels to mop the floor.

Room Tip: ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rojersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torni-Management, Hotel Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that your stay was not perfect. I will certainly address the issues you addressed with the team for continous improvement.
If you would like, please reach out to me with further comments, at marjut.soderlund@sok.fi
Thank you.

Kind Regards,
Marjut Söderlund
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seinajoki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We found a good offer and booked a Supreme Solo King room for one night for a short trip to Helsinki. The room was very nice, had enough pillows for us for once, was quite roomy and had a nice decor. The reception staff were very friendly. The weather was hot but A/C worked well enough so even I could sleep.

So, everything was very nice except for the wifi. It was free, but rather slow and the connection kept dropping easily. Other than that, I can recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suomimies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torni-Management, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Mr,

We’re happy to hear your visit in Torni was smooth. Glad that you could sleep despite the unusual heat wave in Finland. However, sorry to hear that the wifi connection wasn’t up to speed. I hope you managed to use it anyway.

Hope to see you again in Torni and thank you for writing a review!


Best Regards,

Christina Skog
Solo Supervisor
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had big expectations for this hotel when we arrived. We had a room from 4th floor. When we entered the room it was like a sauna. No idea what the temperature was, but it was hot. It seemed that the air conditioning wasn't working at all and there was no air flow from ventilation system. We went back to reception to ask about it and we were told that there is no actual air conditioning in hotel. It had been really hot for 3 weeks and ventilation system doesn't do the job properly. Staff was friendly to solving this out and we weren't the only ones complaining about the heat. Although we got a fan from the reception heat was unbearable. You couldn't sleep with window open because of the noise from street and bars. With windows closed there was no sound at all.
We got another room past midnight at the ground floor. This was suite and temperature in the room was many degrees lower so we could sleep.
Breakfast was so and so. Many articles were missing (bread, cheese for example). Even the dark roast of coffee was out.
Hotel has potential but needs to upgrade some things - you won't get along if you rely just on the history of house and good location. I don't know where the SOLO-label for Torni has come. We felt really disappointed after the visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torni-Management, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Mr,

Thank you for your feedback.

As you probably have noticed it hasn’t been a usual summer for us Finns and we aren’t used to these long periods of heat. So in a way it has been great to have this warm weather in Helsinki, yet on the other hand it’s quite uncomfortable, especially for so many weeks. It has been a challenge this summer, since the building is old and we don’t have air-conditioning. Therefore I’m sorry the first room was too warm for you, in some case a fan has been enough to help the situation. I’m glad the receptionist was able to change the room and you found the Jugend room better and cooler to sleep in.

I also want to apologize for the lack of products at breakfast. Your valuable feedback will be forwarded to our breakfast staff.

We do hope you will come for another visit and give Torni another chance!


Best Regards,

Christina Skog
Solo Supervisor
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Torni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Property: Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Address: Yrjoenkatu 26, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Torni 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokos Hotel Torni is one of the most important landmarks in Helsinki, a classic with staying power in the heart of the city. Quiet location in Helsinki Design District, right next to the shopping and the entertainment area of Helsinki. We welcome you to experience the unique Torni spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Torni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing