We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent but pricey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jarvenpaa, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent but pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

Hotel has excellent situation in the heart of Helsinki. Short walking distance to anywhere in city centre. We stayed at Superior room. It was simply the best hotel room worldwide I've stayed. It was very clean and spacious. It had double bed, sofa group, worktable, balcony and flat screen TV. Free wlan is available. Room service was ok. They delivered half of ordered goods beforehand and forgot the rest. When notified they delivered the remaining items. The neckless I ordered was not available. I changed it to (long) earrings. They compensated by delivering additional (small) earrings. We had Ritarimenu at restaurant Torni. It was a gourmet dinner. Service was excellent. Small scenic bar at upper floor was full of people. As was the balcony. The Irish bar has good beers on tap. The performing Finnish band playing Irish music wasn't that good. Overall we enjoyed our stay. It was pricey though but we think worth it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verkko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    425
    117
    20
    3
See reviews for
89
350
94
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights, and then a 4th following a train excursion to St. Petersburg. On the first nights I stayed in an "art nouveau" room on a lower floor, and when I returned I had a "contemporary" room in the tower. They were very different but both recommendable in their own ways. My single nouveau room was small, but made good use of the space with a desk (with internet connection) facing onto a courtyard and round tower of an adjoining historic building. There was an ample wardrobe, and the single bed was comfortable. The bathroom had a nice sized shower with good water pressure and reliable hot water. The included buffet breakfast was in a large oddly configured space on the ground floor, but there were good breakfast choices.

The contemporary room in the tower was smaller with inadequate storage space but with commanding views over the rooftops from windows that filled two walls. The bathroom is in a "glass cube" behind the bed, but staying in a single room doesn't really present privacy issues. There is a very modern desk with internet connection and a mounted flat-screen TV. The real drawback of these tower rooms is that they are served by only one small elevator--the same one that carries people to the very popular top-floor bar, so plan for long waits for an available elevator. [Lower floor rooms are also served by the older cage elevator that runs within the main stairwell.]

For decades this was the tallest building in Helsinki, and it is in a very good central location in the older part of town, walking distance to the famous art deco train station and other major points of interest and shopping areas. Desk staff were most friendly and helpful. I got a very good rate via Expedia; otherwise the Torni can be quite pricey.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingmar53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarreguemines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

Beautiful art eco style bedroom with tastefull furniture. The location is great. The bar is great. Breakfast is ok. Not a lot of swxeet stuff because finiish breakfast is very salty but it's nice, the breakfast room is nice.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliesmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
317 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

Our tour of the Baltic states started with Helsinki as our gateway city. I booked the Sokos Torni on a whim not really knowing much about hotel options in Helsinki. Despite staying only one night here, it turned out to be quite a pleasant stay. Built in 1931, the hotel was the tallest structure in all of Finland at the time, and the tallest in Helsinki up until 1987.

The hotel is located within 15 minutes walking radius of the central train station, Kamppi shopping center, and the south harbor. It has a restaurant, two ground floor bars, and one fantastic rooftop bar providing the best views of the city. Free wifi access and baggage room are also offered.

For €99 per night, the double room is surprisingly spacious and bright with modern furnishings typical of Scandinavian style (think Ikea). Other room amenities include oversized windows, tv, phone, hair dryer, iron/board, electronic safe, and a spic-and-span bathroom (very important). Breakfast buffet is also included in the rate. Stay away from the scrambled eggs though, it's not real eggs and it didn't go down too well with me.

Upon completing our Baltic tour, we were back in Helsinki. We liked the hotel so much that despite having booked at another hotel, we were back at the rooftop bar for nightcaps. Aside from the fake eggs and lack of exhaust fan in the bathroom, the Torni is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheAnswer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
130 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2009

My clients raved about the Kämp and it looks impressive indeed. Apart from that, Torni is the best hotel experience I had in Helsinki. Perfect, central yet quiet location, large and well equipped rooms, wonderful huge and comfortable bed, great breakfast and generally good ambience and service. However the hotel can feel a bit crowded as capacity is limited in elevators and dining room. If you stay on a higher floor you can get quite a view of the city too.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mast01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2009

Torni has a long history, being Helsinki's first high-rise building (I hesitate to use the word skyscraper). It was built in the early '30's and was used by the Russians from 1944-1947. According to their literature the most recent refresh/remodel was in 2006.

The hotel has a bit of a cramped feeling, mostly due to it's very stolid architecture. This is very typical for older buildings in Scandinavia. It has touches of the period when it was built, and the reception desk has a very nice, Art Deco feel with a rounded ceiling and curved darkwood paneling.

My room was a single and had a very nice set of built-in cabinets in the entry, in place of a normal dresser. The bed was quite nice, although the two pillows were far too large and far too small--it made sleep a bit difficult because neither was comfortable. The bathoom was small and the shower door opened and closed awkwardly. There was also a flat panel TV, arm chair and writing desk, all very minimal and Scandic in their presentation. Free WiFi was available.

Cleanliness was a bit spotty, as the bathroom looked as though it could stand a really good scrubbing. Otherwise, the floors and other fixtures were very clean.

The breakfast was very nice and very convenient. The price was €11 and the quality and convenience made it well worth it.--you won't find anything comparable in the area. The downstairs American Bar and the top floor Ateljee Bar had nice drinks and the view from Ateljee is really nice. I kept trying to imagine drunken soldiers using the small winding staircases to get down from there and chuckled a bit at the thought.

As for other activities, there are several nice restaurants nearby, although the area is really better for it's daytime shopping (several nice Scandic design shops are within only a few blocks).

Claus K was strongly recommended by a co-worker but was fully booked. I'm quite happy with Torni and the price difference (€140 vs €200 for Claus K) also swings in its favor.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaxSymbol73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

The first time I went to Helsinki, I passed the Hotel Torni on a stroll around town and thought, "if I ever come back here, that's where I'm staying" - just on the basis of its location and history alone. I liked Helsinki enough to return less than a year later (although I liked the city less second time round), and stuck to my plan of staying at the Torni.

Locationwise, it's hard to beat, with the railway station, shopping area and famous 3T tram virtually on the hotel's doorstep; Bulevardi, Esplanadi and the Design District a few minutes' walk away, and the harbour and Senate Square only slightly further.

But the first impression of the hotel inside is disappointing, with dirty red mats in the entrance indicative of a housekeeping team asleep at the wheel, a theme that was reinforced by more than a few hairs in the bathroom, and some noticeable dust on the desk, phone, TV etc. in the room. Throughout our stay the make-up of the room and cleaning of the public areas seemed lackadaisical at best.

Furthermore, I had understood that the hotel had a sauna (and indeed there is a sign in the hotel directing guests to one), but I was told upon enquiring about it that it was in fact merely a 'steam room' - i.e. not the real, full-heat Finnish deal.

It would be a shame to dwell on these negatives, though; overall we were very happy with our stay. Service at the reception was exemplary: friendly, welcoming and efficient. Our restaurant reservation requests were obliged with a minimum of fuss. The room was delightful, with evidence of recent refurbishment in a warm, contemporary colour palette complemented by a presumably original wooden floor. The bed was comfortable, and - a big thumbs up for this - the wi-fi was free. The bathroom was rather small and plain, but perfectly acceptable.

Breakfast was competent, with the usual array of cold and hot food (including the worst scrambled egg in the world, ever) plus some more unusal things like prunes in cinnamon syrup, Finnish rye bread rolls, small pancakes, local cheese and the world's blandest food: Karelian rice pasties. Slightly iffy filter coffee, too, but this isn't unusual in Finland.

Finally, if you've got your heart set on a true Finnish sauna experience then you can walk about five-to-ten minutes away to another Sokos hotel, the Albert (on Albertinkatu), and use theirs for free (bring your own towels, though). There are some bars very nearby that also have their own saunas but you have to book well in advance, and weekends are always busy.

Would I stay here again? I wouldn't be averse to it, although if my love of korvapuusti (Finnish cinnamon buns) happened to compel me to return to Helsinki again, I might be just as inclined to give somewhere else a try as I would to return to the Torni.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Acquiescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solo Sokos Hotel Torni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Sokos Hotel Torni

Property: Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Address: Yrjoenkatu 26, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Solo Sokos Hotel Torni 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokos Hotel Torni is one of the most important landmarks in Helsinki, a classic with staying power in the heart of the city. Quiet location in Helsinki Design District, right next to the shopping and the entertainment area of Helsinki. We welcome you to experience the unique Torni spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Solo Sokos Hotel Torni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing