We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 1950's relic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
147 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A 1950's relic”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The dingy entrance to this hotel sets the scene. Ambiance reminds one of the old Eastern Bloc state-run hotels. Huge foyer with red cushioned seats. Staff were polite and efficient. The room was OK, but no coffee maker. Stuffy air in the room with no possibility of opening a window. Breakfast on the top floor restaurant was adequate. Choose this hotel if you need to be close to the railway station. Otherwise try somewhere else.

Room Tip: I have no idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AplusK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    921
    337
    64
    17
See reviews for
362
430
203
503
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Perfect location, close to public transportion, sites worth seeing, and shopping. Airport bus drops you across the street at the Central Train Station, no need to take a cab. Very helpful and courteous staff at the desk, free wi-fi, extraordinarily comfortable beds and pillows and spotlessly clean and pleasant room. Nice view of the bustling center of Helsinki from the window of my room. Hotel shares a building with one of the nicest department stores I have ever seen. Show your card and get a 10% discount!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeretzBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

We were here one night. The location is superb! Only mere meters to the central train station, taxi station and the city center. Nice rooms for a reasonable price. The breakfast could be better, but then again i am very picky when it comes to food.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesanthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

A two day leisure visit. For convenience, Vaakuna Helsinki is near perfection, close to all the links - although other hotels may have better settings getting further afield is mainly by taxi. Front desk was helpful, polite and thorough throughout visit. Room was absolutely fine but one or two glitches of admittedly low importance, indicated a lack of care. Beds not made up in the evening but perhaps that's a trend? Hotel restaurant on the 10th floorhad quite an eclectic menu and pleasant staff but was PRICEY - especially when diners had to shuffle through a box of knives and forks for cutlery. We would go back but would also try elsewhere to see if malaise is general

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Back again to Vaakuna, stayed 2 nights its a good hotel in central Helsinki, very close to train station.
Rooms are on small size, but everything is there and free WIFI, breakfast on 10 floor is great, with good selection of basic food.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndonClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Have just stayed for 2 nights here and was very dissappointed with this hotel.
Location - this was good, very central to bus & train stations, and 1 tube ride from the ferry port.
Rooms - our was small, extremely basic just a square box with no added features. Only 1 bed side table. We booked a double but got 2 single beds pushed together with a double sheet over the top which didn't even reach both sides of the beds. I know this is quite common in some hotels but the room couldn't possibly become a twin. The parquet floor was noisy especially as our neighbour wore high heels and seemed to be constantly walking up & down, even at 7.30am.
The window didn't open at all, apparently this was due to the fire regulations, but some fresh air would have been nice.
The corridor to the rooms were very boring and had no clear signs to the rooms numbers or the lifts.
Breakfast - very poor selection, with poor quality of food. On the first morning they ran out of bread so we just had to go without. The glasses for the juices were all scratched and looked awful.
The overall look of the breakfast / dining room and general look of the hotel was old, dirty and everything was brown.
Price - over priced for the quality and service.
If I was to return to Helsinki I would not choose this chain of hotel ever again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJLSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The restaurant on the top floor has views. The hotel has the vintage 50's decor nicely intact. Cool design features all over. Some rooms have a balcony, but if it has been snowing a lot, the doors won't open onto the balcony due to the piles of snow. I am not a smoker so no big deal there really despite the extra charge for the room with balcony.. Very impressive was that having forgotten my phone charger they mailed it to me at their cost, though I had said I would pay for the mailing. Thank you!

Room Tip: The corner suites have a grand view towards the parliament building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trauha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
900 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#32 of 64 in Helsinki
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Address: Asema-aukio 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful functionalist Sokos Hotel Vaakuna is located on the best spot in town, in the centre of everything, with all of central Helsinki within easy reach. The hotel comprises 270 rooms for non-smokers with sound-insulated windows and individual room cooling system. From the balconies of the rooms on floor 9, you see Helsinki in all its glory. The hotel also has 6 comfortable meeting rooms. The present ambiance of the hotel, completed in 1952, is a splendid show of Finnish design traditions. The hotel is protected by the National Board of Antiquities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing