We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front desk staff were great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kirkland, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Front desk staff were great!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The breakfast buffet was amazing (and the view from the dining room was gorgeous). I have stayed twice and both rooms were very nice, the hotel is clean and the train station is right across the street. I didn't have a car the first trip and was surprised at how easy it was to walk everywhere from this hotel. It was super convenient to have a Sokos attached for those last minute travel essentials that I completely forgot to bring - easy to pick up with a door to the store from the lobby of the hotel! Wifi was great for video chat back home. Amenities in the room were as expected. I sampled the pool and sauna and they were nice too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 269SarahT269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaakuna, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review! It is always nice to hear that we have succeeded in making our guests happy. Sokos department store really is easy to enjoy because it is under the same roof as our hotel and the views from the hotel are superb in my opinion too! Our guest saunas are warm in the morning and evening, but I'm afraid there is no pool. I will let the front desk staff know about your warm comments about them, thank you so much!

Wishing you a nice week and hope to see you here at Vaakuna again!

Best regards,
Hilkka Järvelä
Hotel manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    985
    360
    69
    18
See reviews for
396
458
229
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed here for a week before Christmas and a week after Christmas. Fantastic rooms that are spacious and the views are great. This is my third visit to Helsinki and each time I always stay at Sokos Vaakuna - the location is fabulous, the staff are amazing, the wifi is reliable and the breakfast is fabulous. Thanks for always making my stay fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bvont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaakuna, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review! I am very glad to hear that you like our hotel and seem to always enjoy your stay with us!

Have a nice week and I hope to see you again here at Vaakuna when next travelling to Helsinki!

Best regards,
Hilkka Järvelä
Hotel manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We only used this hotel during the day, because we had our little dog with us and needed accommodation for her (and us too). The hotel is right across from the train station in central Helsinki, i.e. excellent location. The lobby is impressive, but our room was everything but. We got a room for disabled people, which was really basic, but quiet. We paid 110 euros for the room + another 10 for the dog, but then we got the dog present (again), which was nice! A very expensive room for a few hours and if I would have gotten this room for a "normal" over night stay I would have changed rooms. This is yet another Sokos chain hotel that I have happened to stay in, but I don't think I want to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingFinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaakuna, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review!

We have all kind of room types available for travellers with pets, also superior rooms and suites. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the room you had but I hope to see you again, so we can let you see other room types too.

Have a nice week!

Best regards,
Hilkka Järvelä
Hotel manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kangasala, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Nice hotel, good location, excellent breakfast, nice staff. Good hotel but a little bit outdated as to all kind of services compared to newer hotels. Location in the middle of Helsinki is also a bit noisy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arto009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaakuna, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review!

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel was built in 1952 for the Olympic Games and our hotel is protected by the National Board of Antiquities. There is a certain atmosphere at the hotel for example the high chairs in the lobby - they are original and they are being renovated as are the old wooden panels on the walls too. At certain periods the rooms are always renovated and new rooms are being planned too.

Wishing you a happy New Year and hope to see you again here at Vaakuna!

Best regards,
Hilkka Järvelä
Hotel manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I had the opportunity of staying at this on 2 different occasions within the same week in December ! The first time was for 3 nights and the other time only for the day. And that is why... I have experienced the BEST and the very ORDINARY !

The first time around, I was booked into the 901, a corner room with a fabulous balcony (mind you, they have only 10-12 such rooms) and the most amazing view of the city. The decor of the room etc., are very impressive and its a pleasure to stay there.

However, the second time around, I was offered a room on the 7th Floor, which was 1/2 the size for the same money that I paid and to my horror it is just a small cramped room; no decor, sick interiors, very very small and very um-impressive. I had to just spend 4-5 hrs. with it and so I managed, but i am sure, no one can appreciate such a room.

Overall, the hotel is very professional with everything else and is perhaps the best location, one could ask for ! Just opposite the bus/train station. There cannot be a better address !

But if you ask me to go back to this hotel, I will certainly insist on the particular room and only then will I book it.

Sorry but this is the absolutely TRUTH about this place !

Room Tip: 901 or similar ! Be very careful with the other rooms ! A balcony room is a must. Everything else is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visualiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaakuna, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review! I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We have over 40 rooms with balcony and it really is nice to look at the city from your own terrace in my opionion too. Our smallest rooms are single standard rooms and biggest are suites with over 80 sq. meters so the sizes do differ depending on the room type. I'm sorry to hear that your second stay wasn't as successful as the first one but I hope to see you back with us at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Helsinki!

Wishing you a happy New Year!

Best regards,
Hilkka Järvelä
Hotel manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

A nice hotel in the middle of Helsinki.

I have spent two nights in the suite with a sauna. It also has a large balcony with views to Töölönlahti and Lasipalatsi. The suite is also very reasonably priced for a hotel in a city center: It is about 230 euros per night.

Room Tip: Try the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTSS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaakuna, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in the sauna suite!

Wishing you merry Christmas and hope to see you again here at Vaakuna!

Best regards,
Hilkka Järvelä
Hotel manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Oltime fashion and modetn.stule. Brdt location next to railway station. Professional staff, good rooms and fantastic breakfast. Evening sauna is a dot over i. I liked again gome here. I recommend if you want more of your stay at Heösinki.

Helpful?
Thank Jari A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vaakuna, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review! It was really nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. I wish you merry Christmas and hope to see you again here at Vaakuna!

Best regards,
Hilkka Järvelä
Hotel manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 65 in Helsinki
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#35 of 65 in Helsinki
600 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Address: Asema-aukio 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful functionalist Sokos Hotel Vaakuna is located on the best spot in town, in the centre of everything, with all of central Helsinki within easy reach. The hotel comprises 270 rooms for non-smokers with sound-insulated windows and individual room cooling system. From the balconies of the rooms on floor 9, you see Helsinki in all its glory. The hotel also has 6 comfortable meeting rooms. The present ambiance of the hotel, completed in 1952, is a splendid show of Finnish design traditions. The hotel is protected by the National Board of Antiquities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing