We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay for budget, might be disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cumulus Kallio Helsinki
Ranked #48 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Okay for budget, might be disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

It was my first trip to Helsinki and honestly I booked everything last moment and decided to spend more on entertainment thus choosing a bugdet place. Generally the staff was friendly, the check-in was fast, there were sufficient choice of tourist brochures in the lobby, but their elevator is thrilling. Activation with your room key is really safe but the construction is weird with the number of doors to lock it and to start it. The room was small but I am not complaining. The walls are really-really thin and I understood it when my neighbours put the TV volume at maximum and left the room earlier to have breakfast) The shower is not convenient with water splashed all over the floor when you get out of it. The breakfast offers good and decent selection of foods. Did not use the Irish restaurant inside - I only noticed it after check-out.

All in all it is an okay place. BIG PLUS is convenient tram stops around. However what scared me most is the surrounding. It was NOT ONCE that I saw bums, beggars and some dirty drunkards around the hotel and the stadium nearby!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    52
    61
    15
    5
See reviews for
16
32
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
307 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Hotel is located in Kallio-area, so there are lot of cheap bars and restaurants nearby. Two trams stop just by the hotel, so getting into city center of Helsinki is easy; tram ride takes 10-15 minutes. Parking places near hotel are quite easy to find.
Rooms are clean and modern and quiet. Staff is friendly and there are plenty of free maps and brochures of Helsinki available in the lobby.
For breakfast you get a lot of choice (from meatballs and sausages to cereals, cake and berries). Breakfast is served until 11 am on Sundays and until 10 am other days.
I will stay here for sure again, when I visit Helsinki.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kuusimaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We would stay again. Hotel staff were helpful, spoke English, and the hotel was located across the street from a tram which provided a short ride to city center, the wharf or wherever. Although the room was small, the TV provided access to a wide variety of channels and the breakfast buffet was excellent. The hotel seemed to be frequented by locals primarily. Hotel Cumulus Olympia was so much less expensive than the other hotels in Helsinki like the Radisson.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, Middlesex
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

This hotel is a long walk from the centre of the city, but good value if like me you love walking. I had a twin room to myself, very comfortable, not a great view but very bright. Breakfast was a little limited, but quite good. What really surprised me was the sauna, great for unwinding after a long day. I had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonmaster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Four days at the Cumulus Olympia, right next to a theatre and a sports complex, good connections to the city through two tram lines, and in walking reach of reasonable eating places. Solid breakfast served by no-nonsense lady who coped well with large crowds everyday. Rather small rooms and even smaller shower, but that was made up by good staff who had ready suggestions for travel, food and other conveniences. Would have loved to have a kettle though. Didn't use the sauna that came with the price. Happy experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sureshplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Next to what was on offer for value, maybe this was the one, the professional pictures made it look like a nice clean hotel. When I arrived I was disencharnted. I know hotels are for just sleeping in, but at night I felt like they had put me in a coffin room!

I was on the 5th floor and the tram could be heard clearly at night, the bed, somewhat confortable wasn't helped by the tiny pillow on it. It was mostly clean, but it looked tatty at the same time. The little room was a yellow and green, a sickly colour scheme. The bathroom had a poxy shower, which was so small it was very hard to work right. There were incect legs and silver fish! Not amazingly clean by any means.

At one point I came back to the hotel to relax for a bit, on one of the days I was there, the maids hadn't even done their job of making the bed! Pathetic if you ask me, the hotel staff didn't seem interested or helpful.

Breakfast was okay when I got use to it, but still, it seemed poor at the same time, the eggs are not that fresh, they arn't cooked properly and just sit there, I tried a little but they tasted horrible. I was getting up early so I could go exploring, that did seem the best time to have breakfast, any later and it was packed, too many people not enough space.

There is a bar area on the other side of the hotel, don't order a coffee there like I did. Just tastes like hot boild mud! I was glad when it came to checking out!

Room Tip: Don't get a single room, best upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Govvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Helsinki hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

It was ok but rooms and bathroom very small. I would like to have kettle, tee and coffee in my room but nothing like that in the hotel. You had to go down in the lobby to get coffee and that costs. The breakfast is very good in this hotel. Transport to city center is good but this is rather out of all traffic. We had to go to Finlandia Hall and that is a 20 minutes walk from the hotel. You dont walk thrue the park in the dark so we had to take the tram.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bergthora Margr... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Ava Hotel
#42 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Cumulus Hakaniemi
#37 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Arthur Hotel
#44 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
#40 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#24 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Cumulus Meilahti
#39 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumulus Kallio Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Kallio Helsinki

Property: Cumulus Kallio Helsinki
Address: Laentinen Brahenkatu 2, Helsinki 00510, Finland (Formerly Cumulus Olympia)
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumulus Kallio Helsinki 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cumulus Kallio Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Olympia Helsinki
Cumulus Olympia Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing