We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chef & Sommelier

Chef & Sommelier
Ranked #56 of 1,470 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
israel
Level Contributor
123 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“one of the best meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

well looks like the chef really loves his work and creations.
food was good but combination with the Atmosphere , service yes you really feel he cooks only for you.
i would recomend it if you want somethning different, but have a look at the menu before as it has only few offers.
pefect and thanks the chef

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ofirzommer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    28
    8
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
233 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Everything you read about this small, intimate, restaurant is truly accurate. There were 8 courses available and we choose 4. When the staff presented the courses they explained what they were and what they contained. The ingredients were fresh (organic) and some of the vegetables were picked by the owner at local farms. The dining experience lasted almost 3 hours and when we walked away we were definitely not hungry. Truly unique and special about this restaurant is that the owner visits each table and talks with the guests. We even had a tour of the very small kitchen. If you are looking for a truly unique dining experience, this is the place to eat. Reservations are a must and should be made weeks before arriving.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenM1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Destination Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is the restaurant that I booked my trip to Helsinki around.
From the moment we walked it, all expectations were met and exceeded.
Handwritten wine list full of amazing small batch wonders. The Sommelier offered excellent guidance and antidotes on his favorite wineries.
Chef Laukkonen came to talk with us and served us vegetables that had been picked from one of his gardens that morning. He told us the inspiration for his carrot dish and the sauce from the carrot greens. I was inspired by his passion and skill with raw ingredients.
Every course and glass of wine were in harmony. The dessert to coffee were the perfect endings to a memorable evening. This meal continues to be my top choice and an inspiration.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoireeChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing food, delicious surprises, friendly and very capable service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had a four course dinner here with my husband and loved it. Chef & Sommelier serves delicious food set beautifully. The taste mix in each portion was pure and offered us nice surprises here and there. They really love food and making it and it shows. You can feel how they know their ingredients and know how to honor each of them. It's just the right amount of fine dining without being pretentious or too much of everything.

The service is even better than the food, if possible. The whole staff is so friendly and capable. They really know their stuff. You can get service at least in Finnish, Swedish and English.

My favorite foods were root vegetables with different mushrooms (with a few cranberries, yum!), turnip with salvia butter (stole that from the husband :-) ) and black currant sorbet that was served as extra. I ended my meal with a nice talk about tea - the sommelier knows not only wines but teas as well.

I'm going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What can we say that hasn't been said already?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Everything we read about the restaurant was justified. We contacted them prior to leaving Australia and they managed to find a date that suited us both. The restaurant is very small and although we were arriving late from Stockholm, they were happy to accommodate us. We relied on the recommendations made by the staff for both food and wine. What was particularly impressive was the quality of the cooking and service despite the Chef being absent at a promotion in Tallin. We were given the menus and the waiter went through every dish in detail so there were no surprises. Their dishes are all organic and the vegetables are grown by the restaurant. Upon delivering the food, the waiter then went through the dish while it is in front of you and explained everything on the plate. As we are interested in wine, a similar process was followed by the Sommelier.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rex06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chef & Sommelier also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Chef & Sommelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing