We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town”
Review of Chef & Sommelier

Chef & Sommelier
Ranked #59 of 1,526 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best in town”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Humble staff.
Fresh produce.
Tradition & Innovation.
Fish! Cheese! Wine!

Basically, this tiny and cozy place, is the little home to the Chef & Sommelier that delight the few that fit, with the best they have.

Best restaurant in Helsinki, forget the stars.

Book in advance!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanMT84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    30
    8
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exquisite northern treats”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Real ingredients and transparent sourcing of them from the team and inspiring leading chef, a superb voyage in the local Finnish tastes. Great point of view that ends in an esthetical presentation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrunoBeaugrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Full of creativity and taste!!!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

The best restaurant where I have been during my 2 weeks stay in Helsinki. A lot of creativity in this cuisine which is made with their home grown vegetables!!! Staff welcomes you warmly and gives a wonderful description of each meal. Highly recommended!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dissapointment”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We were heading to this place due to good reviews. But it was a total dissapointment! Food was tasteless and some of it even not eatable. We felt cheated and definately won't come back!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Reisenderinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectaculary great experience”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had to luck to get a table at this petite restaurant (only seats 22 persons at a time) even though we were late bookers. The dishes was prepared perfectly, service was impeccable and the atmosphere couldn't be better. The chefs' and servantes' guides you in finnish, swedish and english through the menues of today. Wine selection and the expertice of the sommelier is absolutely fantastic.

This is in the top 5 food experiences for both me and my wife. We would recommend it to everyone! Priceworthy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gustaf-Tove D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chef & Sommelier also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Chef & Sommelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing