We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Domus Academica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Domus Academica
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights. The hostel location is good and the room we had was very clean. There's a supermarket across the street so it's super convenient. Unfortunately, I think that the price was too high. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank narc0leptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    138
    100
    17
    10
See reviews for
36
105
87
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

I stayed in this hostel two times in summer 2011 because cheaper than other structures in Helsinki (also if the price for a hostel usually is cheaper...!).

I stayed in the new building and also in the older one and didn't have any kind of problem, the quality was the same and the room/bathroom were clean.

The bedroom was essential but clean, the bed was ok, and there was also a small kitchen.
The staff was kind and gave us some maps of the city when we arrived.

The hostel is situated in a good position, not far from the city center and the dock where you can take the ferry to Tallinn.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karhu86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

I stayed here on June 2011. Sorry for writing the review so late.
The location is quite difficult to find for the first time. We walked the wrong way and nearly doubled the time needed to reach there. But in fact, it is in a very convenient location.

The lift didn't provide access to some floors. Unfortunately, we need to walk up stairs for 1 floor. It is quite messy as we are carrying large luggage.

No wifi at room and therefore need to compete with others in the common room for computers. I had to wait a long time for using.

we stayed at private twin room, it's clean and relatively big.

Overall, we enjoy our stay here and will certainly stay here again next time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delicia30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights. It’s nothing special but ok for the price.
The city centre is not far away. We always felt safe walking home even late.
The staff was very helpful and friendly in case of all questions.
The check-in was totally easy.
Our room was mostly clean…
Unfortunately the wireless didn’t work at our room, but we could connect for free being downstairs in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

This is student accommodation which is let out during the vacations. The rooms are all modern with bathrooms, and most have good cooking facilities (including a fridge). The good thing is that you can ask for rooms that have more than two beds - therefore, this place becomes cost effective very quickly if there are two or more of you. The only minor issue was that we had to move rooms on the last day, and we had not been told about this. Other than that, you could do a lot worse for a lot more money in Helsinki.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkevinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

probably the best hostel i have ever been. fair prices (for helsinki), good location, big rooms (witch kitchenette), large bathroom ensuite. just you have to pay a little extra for going to the new building...friendly staff and so on...
the only problem is that this hostel is only open during summer, but if you go to helsinki and it's opern you have to go there! :)

Room Tip: go to the new biolding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TIZI0CAI0SEMPR0NI0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This hostel looks like they have set up a card table in the elevator lobby during summer break and rented out their door rooms for an expensive price. There is no wifi in the building where the hostel is, you can go to the student computer lab but it is in a different building "across" the plaza. It is about 20 minutes walking to the market (main areas of Helsinki) and parking is limited.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nattbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
GLO Hotel Art
#18 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Vironniemi
Eurohostel
Eurohostel
#2 of 26 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hostel Diana Park
Hostel Diana Park
#4 of 26 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Domus Academica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Domus Academica

Property: Hostel Domus Academica
Address: Hietaniemenkatu 14, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Domus Academica 2*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOSTEL DOMUS ACADEMICA is located in the city center! All rooms with private facilities. Morning sauna is free of charge! THE ROOMS have a private toilet, shower and kitchenette with a fridge. Kitchen equipment can be borrowed. Bed linen and towels are included in the room price. There is a possibility for internet connection in the rooms. BREAKFAST is served daily and parking facilities are provided with extra cost. Safety boxes are available in the reception as well as a free luggage room. Free internet available in the common room. LOCATION is central; hostel is situated close to the beautiful Hietaniemi beach, Kamppi shopping mall, restaurants and sightseeing attractions. Tram and bus stops are around the corner, while the metro, train and bus stations are only a short walk away. HOSTEL DOMUS ACADEMICA IS THE HOSTEL OF THE YEAR 2016! Contest was organized by the Finnish Youth Hostel Federation. Read more about us on our website. Hostel Domus Academica welcomes you to stay with us and to enjoy the summer in Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostel Domus Academica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Academica Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing