We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostel Domus Academica
Reviewed 3 July 2013

If you want to enjoy Helsinki nightlife, but don't live in the capital area, one night in Academica is perhaps cheaper than a taxi back home. Ok, this was at least my idea when booking a room there. Academica is not a fancy place to stay in, but a simple, clean and reasonably priced hostel in the heart of the city with a friendly service. Ok, I agree that there perhaps should be shower gel or soap in the bathroom, but you can't get everything. My room was a newly renovated double room with two beds etc. Very basic, but enough for me that time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAJORI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

Sufficiently close to the Central Station. Friendly staff. Not very clean in the shower. No soap and shower gel. If there is a shower and toilet in the room is not put there soap and shower gel - it zhlobstvo. Very unpleasant surprise when checking in to the room late at night and did not find there soap and shower gel. The room has a kitchen but no utensils.
Free Wi-Fi only in the lobby. The rooms paid internet via cable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerkav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

A not so careful booking done through a portal resulted in me landing at this hotel. Approx one kilometre away from the main bus stand at Helsinki. Very reasonably priced and rather clean. I used a double room. Two separate beds, kitchen with stove, oven, feezer and microwave. Towels provided, but no soap or shampoo.

May be a suitable place for big groups / students on a cost conscious trip. For me the place was not a good experience.

Breakfast was not a good experience. Even the orange juice served could get better.

Total price for a double room and breakfast for one person was approx 82 Euros. And they charge 1 Euro to order a taxi for you.

If you are on a business trip, recommend other options.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnoopPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

It is the home of the students during the school time and a hostel during their vacations.
Positive points: free wifi and internet computers in the lobby room, very friendly staff, quiet hostel and neighborhood, close to train station( 10 min by foot). There is a bathroom , a refrigerator and a stove in the room. The room seems more like a little apartment. Reasonable price for Helsinki.
Negative points: there is only wired internet in the rooms, so is necessary to bring an Ethernet cable.
In general is an excellent place to stay in Helsinki, with good cost-benefit relation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gbrm2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Helsinki is a very expensive city so in my opinion the best way to save money is to book a place where you have your own kitchen. Hostel Academica is the right place to do that. It is cheap, you can cook your meals and enjoy the city without going broke. They have kitchenware in the common room that you can take and use it while you are in the Hostel. The hostel is very close to downtown (only 10 minutes walking to the train station, 15 minutes to the Port). and there are several supermarkets (Supermarkets are expensive in Helsinki, I found a cheap one in the underground level next to the Kamppi Metro station over Runeberginkatu street). The staff is very friendly and helpful, My stay in this hostel was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beto79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Hostel location is good, with most places being a 20 minute walk or 10 minute tram ride away. Rooms are light and spacious, and have kitchens and clean showers (in a wet room) for very good rates if booked in advance. Staff are young, friendly and multi-lingual, willing to recommend places to eat and things to do. Sauna available in the mornings for free as well.
Just a few minor disadvantages: rather small communal area for the size of the hostel; more of a basic hotel than a backpackers' hostel, so not the place if you want to meet loads of people to go drinking with.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 444Tailyour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I came to Helsinki for a meeting but also had 2-3 extra days to spend as a tourist, so the experience I am reporting comprises both situations.

The structure was quite nice and comfortable.

The most notable positive aspects were that the staff was very kind and helpful and that the room was comfortable and rather silent even overnight, which I really appreciated considering that this is a hostel. The room was also quite large and well furnished, with a kitchen (but you had to find kitchenware elsewhere), a sink, and a fridge, but there were no hangers inside the wardrobe. Also, an Ethernet cable was required to have in-room Internet connection: Wi-Fi coverage was only available in the lobby.
The position is fairly good, because many relevant areas of the city (including the train station) are within walking distance.

There were a few downsides. The room cleaning service only passed once per week, which meant that I had to keep for most of my stay the sole large towel I was given. Breakfast selection was quite good: there were 3 qualities of bread, cheese, ham, cucumber, tomatoes, salad, jam, cereals, hard-boiled eggs, fruit juice, milk, coffee and tea, and I was told that there have been croissants from time to time but I could never find them. However, some variations over the days would have been welcome. Last and, possibly, most annoying, is that the reception staff was a bit scarce with respect to the inflow of customers: queues often formed, and this sometimes slowed down the operations of leaving or getting back the room key, which the staff explicitly asks the guests to accomplish whenever leaving or returning to the hostel.

Overall, these downsides had a minor impact on my stay and, especially considering the average prices, I consider this Hostel as having a good price-to-quality ratio.

Room Tip: I was assigned room C619. You may want to consider that it is right next to the stairs, so there cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxonthenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel Rantapuisto
#30 of 66 in Helsinki
251 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 66 in Helsinki
632 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Eurohostel
Eurohostel
#2 of 29 in Helsinki
691 reviews
CheapSleep Helsinki
#18 of 29 in Helsinki
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Domus Academica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Domus Academica

Address: Hietaniemenkatu 14, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Helsinki
Price Range: £26 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Domus Academica 2*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOSTEL DOMUS ACADEMICA is located in the city center! All rooms with private facilities. Morning sauna is free of charge! ALL ROOMS have a private toilet, shower and kitchenette with a fridge. Kitchen equipment can be borrowed. Bed linen and towels are included in the room price. There is a possibility for internet connection in the rooms. BREAKFAST is served daily and parking facilities are provided with extra cost. Safety boxes are available in the reception as well as a free luggage room. Free internet is available in the common room. LOCATION is central; hostel is situated close to the beautiful Hietaniemi beach, Kamppi shopping mall, restaurants and sightseeing attractions. Tram and bus stops are around the corner, while the metro, train and bus stations are only a short walk away. HOSTEL DOMUS ACADEMICA IS THE HOSTEL OF THE YEAR 2016! Read more about us on our website. Hostel Domus Academica welcomes you to stay with us and to enjoy the summer in Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostel Domus Academica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Academica Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing