We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incompetence?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostel Domus Academica
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Rather bad ratio quality of service vs. price.,
for 70 EUR per day I would expect really much more.,
mainly better cleanliness
Moreover they offer services that they are not able to provide,
e.g. early breakfast.
Not recommeded.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Igor253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Hostel was cheap. Location was good. Very close to the city centre. Rooms were big enough. Beds were fine and shower qas working. Corridors in hostel were too warm. Rooms were also quite dirty. Lots of hair in bathroom. Also mini kitchen and floors were not cleaned. If this place would have been cleaner I would have nothing to complain about. Breakfast was good.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank BiriT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I booked a single room. The hostel was in a good location: it was downtown, and you can walk to the railway station. The reception was open 24 hours. The hostel staff were nice. But the room wasn't very clean, especially under the bed. The housekeeping comes only once every 4 days. There was no microwave, iron, or toiletry in the room (except a towel). The room door didn't open when I first tried it, and I had to get hostel staff to open it. Kitchenware could be obtained from the main lobby. Also you had to go to the ground floor to use wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed three nights in June in a two-bed private room with a kitchen. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The location is great and the price is reasonable for Helsinki. Staff were fine at this busy hostel. We were able to equip/customize our room and kitchen with a few bits from the central area. Our basic room was bright, a good size, and quiet -- we were in the main building, on an upper floor.

Room Tip: Our room in the main building on an upper floor had two twin beds, table and two chairs, kitchen and...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank wilmor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Near the centre of Helsinki, this Hostel far 5minutes walking from the main streets of the Finnish capital was very ok.
Clean and large bedroom with a small kitchen with refrigerator and a small kitchen.
Also the sauna was very clean also if was disponible only early in the morning.
Unfortunately I spend only two nights, but the atmosphere was really good.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank nencio89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A hostel in hotel class. The rooms are big, bathrooms nice and linnen were on when we arrived. Should had more parking spots, but it is free to park near the beach which is 15min walk away. The staff was very kind and helpfull. Not the cheapest hostel in Finland, but its likely to have higher price since it's in the capital. No WiFi on rooms, but we dont travel to Finland for surfing the Web either.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed four nights here, used a twin room in building A. The room is good, there was a refrigerator, but nothing else. You can take some kitchen stuff from common room, but I expected that we should have something ready in the room. The desk lamp was not working either.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hung P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Park Helsinki
#26 of 66 in Helsinki
2,067 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hostel Diana Park
Hostel Diana Park
#4 of 29 in Helsinki
273 reviews
CheapSleep Helsinki
#18 of 29 in Helsinki
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Eurohostel
Eurohostel
#2 of 29 in Helsinki
705 reviews
Kampinmalmi
The Yard Concept Hostel
The Yard Concept Hostel
#7 of 29 in Helsinki
48 reviews
Hostel Suomenlinna
#12 of 29 in Helsinki
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Domus Academica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Domus Academica

Address: Hietaniemenkatu 14, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Helsinki
Price Range: £26 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Domus Academica 2*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOSTEL DOMUS ACADEMICA is located in the city center! All rooms with private facilities. Morning sauna is free of charge! ALL ROOMS have a private toilet, shower and kitchenette with a fridge. Kitchen equipment can be borrowed. Bed linen and towels are included in the room price. There is a possibility for internet connection in the rooms. BREAKFAST is served daily and parking facilities are provided with extra cost. Safety boxes are available in the reception as well as a free luggage room. Free internet is available in the common room. LOCATION is central; hostel is situated close to the beautiful Hietaniemi beach, Kamppi shopping mall, restaurants and sightseeing attractions. Tram and bus stops are around the corner, while the metro, train and bus stations are only a short walk away. HOSTEL DOMUS ACADEMICA IS THE HOSTEL OF THE YEAR 2016! Read more about us on our website. Hostel Domus Academica welcomes you to stay with us and to enjoy the summer in Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hostel Domus Academica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Academica Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing