We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”
Review of Hotel Helka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Helka
Ranked #13 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Puerto De La Cruz
1 review
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

"Almost" because of rather dull surrounding (littering, drunken youngsters) and a very "thin" coffee at the breakfast buffet. Without those the rating would have been Perfect. The management had done a good job selecting the staff. One more internet spot could be good and some more alternatives for juices at the breakfast buffet. The traditional carelian pies were just lovely.

Room Tip: The Alvar Aalto image is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Peter H,

Thank you for your review. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka.
We have added a new, stronger blend of coffee to our breakfast menu. In the near future we will provide couple of IPads for our guests at our lobby.

Hopefully you will visit us again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    492
    156
    27
    8
See reviews for
103
291
267
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rovaniemi, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Hotel Helka's kitchen were excellent. Food were tasteful and service deferential. But the room (standard twin) where we stayed the night was poor. There was an odd smell (fragrance) in the room which didn't vanish despite of use of air-conditioner or open window. We doubted first that it was detergents, but it also could be that the smelly fragrance tried to cover something other lame smell. Toilet was that is to say a little bit soiled (mouldy tile seams).
One of the bed mattresses was broken, so it was quite uncomfortable try to sleep in half of bed. At the top of the hotel experience was that there was very loud noisy air-conditioner center in the building. It made intensive beat style voice all night, so it was like there is a nightclub in our neighbour.
Two star for the kitchen where the breakfast is also good. Hotel' s twinrooms was so abhorrent, that it doesn' t deserve any stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leestill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Leestill,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your room was not to
your liking, next time please inform our reception so that we can make you
feel more at home. We are always trying to be better in every aspect. The
kitchen staff was very happy to hear that you enjoyed your dinner and
welcome you to dine at Helka again!

Wishing you a pleasant autumn!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Small but well designed and maintained room, in a newish condition. Nice reception area. The best and most generous breakfast you could wish for.
Strangely, the outside entrance (plus the base of the stairwell) are the only shabby areas. Give a poor impression, which does not represent the rest of the hotel ( it's more often the other way round!)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear David S,

Thank you for your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka. We will make small changes the entrance to the Hotel this winter.

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The hotel had a great location, and was very nicely decorated with scandinavian design furniture. We used the hotel sauna several times (one for women and another for men), it was very clean and most of the time we were the only on there. The rooms were spacious and quiet and had a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was included and was quite good. In some areas of the hotel, like the facade on the outside, you can see that it´s an old hotel that has been refurbished from and old tired look, to a modern low price design hotel. The done a great job redecorating be choosing nice finish design art and furniture. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadineOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear NadineOslo,

Thank you for your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka. Sunny autumn and you are very welcome to visit us again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

nice and stilish room with finnish design furniture. the staff is very friendly and helpful. the breakfast selection and quality is very good. it would be nice to have a selection small dishes at the bar in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank PhilomenaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear PhilomenaB,

Thank you for your kind review. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka.
We have small menu at the bar every day ( 5pm-10pm ). For example Helka´s Burger is very good :)

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
185 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel when we visited Helsinki in July 2012. The room was small, but clean and the bed was very comfortable. It was a very quiet hotel (as in no noise from the other rooms) and the best part was that we had a small balcony where we could sit outside and have a cold drink in the evening.
If we go back to Helsinki, we will definitely go back there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony - not a spectacular view, but it is lovely to sit alone and have a col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Erika v,

Thank you for your review. You are very welcome to visit us again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed one night and loved the modern room and the wonderful breakfast. There's a short walk to the centre of the city and a lot of great restaurants nearby. We travelled by car and that was the main reason we chose Helka as they offer free parking, parking for 10€ a day and if these lots are taken they have a deal with a garage nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zandrahmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Zandrahmaria,

Thank you for your warm review. We look forward to welcoming you here at Helka again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 65 in Helsinki
1,220 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 65 in Helsinki
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 65 in Helsinki
589 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 65 in Helsinki
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helka

Property: Hotel Helka
Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helka 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 metres from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Helkan Keittio Restaurant serves Finnish cuisine based on fresh, locally sourced ingredients such as fish, game, mushrooms and berries. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar, which also features a cigar room. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Helka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing