We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend in Helsinki, 21-23/03/2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Helka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Helka
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Weekend in Helsinki, 21-23/03/2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

As always good service, nice rooms, excellent breakfast....very central, close to everything...some scandinavian design details makes it very cool............walking distance to esplanade...ability to book a shuttle taxi to the airport, better price ....

Room Tip: Choose frond view, not back yard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antonios p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear antonios p,

Thank you for your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka.
Hope to see you again at Helka!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    481
    156
    26
    8
See reviews for
102
289
261
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salo, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Friendly service, quiet location near all the attractions and the city centre. Rooms were spacious but a bit dated. Breakfast was decent, but the area was very worn out and dingy. Private parking place was small, but we manage to get a space for free :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zintsarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear zintsarella,

Thank you for your review and welcome again to Helka!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahti, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Very friendly service. Not too big and yet, big enough. I enjoyed beautiful Finnish design. Meeting with friends,in a lobby, felt like spending some time in a living room. And kitchen offered many tasteful, pleasant surprises.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pirjo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Pirjo A,

Thank you for your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka.
Tervetuloa uudestaan!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed here overnight while taking in the sights of Helsinki - rooms are nice and spacious, food in the restaurant is very good and reasonably priced, bar has a nice atmosphere. The staff are amazing at this hotel - even provided us with a take away breakfast as we had an early flight - will stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Linda M,

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to try our restaurant as well! I will tell your greetings to our restaurant.
Hope to see you again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mira de Aire, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Excelent location for business trips (near central railwaystation, bus, metro, Kampi).
Superfriendly and helpful staff. Clean roam, excelent breakfast and restaurant.
Third time I book this hotel and will always be my first choice for booking an hotel in Helsinki.
Kiisto, Helka staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Custodio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Custodio M,

Thank you for your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka.
Hope to see you again at Helka!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
646 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

There is something about this hotel which says 'family'. I have stayed here for a total of 82 nights so I know it through and through.

They recently tarted up the rooms ('my' room is 504) and I think they over did it but never mind its the same place. There is a sauna on the top floor.

To the left of the reception is a bar/cafe which I used to retreat to after seeing clients.

Yes there are problems with the adjacent night club scene which goes on until 3am Fridays and Saturdays. Afterwards you hear people shouting when they are finding taxis and so on.

You are 10 min walk from the main station and 3 min walk from the subway. You are a few minutes away from museums and art galleries and the Sibelius Centre (frequent concerts).
Don't bother to hire a car while in Helsinki.Public transport is good.. There is an amazing system for calling cabs so they are at your door by the time you put the phone down (well almost). Clockwork town it is.

By the way there are regular buses from the airport to the main station so even if you have luggage, walking up to the hotel is no hardship.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room by the lifts i.e. one at the end of the corridor is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian-Snellgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Brian-Snellgrove,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We look forward to welcoming you here at Helka again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our stay at the Helka Hotel was short but perfect. The rooms look new and the ceiling with the Pictures are nice. there is a flatscreen-tv in the rooms and a Minibar. It's Close to the railwaystation and in the citycenter. Try the Falafel Restaurant right next to it. Our room was too cold since we weren't able to turn off the fan. We complained and they said we could Change rooms into a Junior Suite with our own Sauna without paying anything more. Perfect Hotel for a decent Price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Amasev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear 661Severino,

Thank you for your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka and our junior suite. I hope you tried your private sauna in the room :)
Welcome again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#18 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helka

Property: Hotel Helka
Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helka 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 metres from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Helkan Keittio Restaurant serves Finnish cuisine based on fresh, locally sourced ingredients such as fish, game, mushrooms and berries. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar, which also features a cigar room. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Helka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing