We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, nicely located”
Review of Hotel Helka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Helka
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked this hotel through British Airways along with our flights and the rate was really cheap! The hotel is really well located, 5-10mins walking from the railway station and 5mins from Temppeliaukio Kirkko (Rock Church). Our double room was quite nice, decent size, bed quite comfortable and with the cool feature of a big photo in the ceiling, not something you see everywhere. If there's something negative I can say would be the shower size but not really a deal-breaker. Breakfast was decent, a few different options and more than enough for you to have a decent morning meal. Wifi connection was also stable and fast. There is also a sauna in the 6th floor that we didn't use but it's available.
All in all, I would have no doubts in staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Pedro F,

Thank you for your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka.

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We wre staying only one night. Room was very comfortable with pine photo ceiling lamp. Breakfast very good with some Finnish specialities. Whole hotel was very clean. Personnell was very friendly. If You are coming with a car there is a garage in basement and some free parking places in the yard. Route to yard is very narrow. The situatoin is excellent for strolling around in the city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ari-ja-Krisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Ari-ja-Krisse,

Thank you for your kind review. You are very welcome to visit us again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

When travelling on solo, Hotel Helka offers lower rates than the other hotels in Helsinki city centre. Simply because they have smaller rooms with sinlge beds and not just double rooms with single occupancy. My brother had stayed at Helka in 2012 and as he said it was good value for money I didn't hesitate to book a night at this hotel. I was actually on a business trip and had booked another hotel for my stay but I decided to arrive to Helsinki a day earlier than planned. The other hotel was already sold out so I came to Helka.
The design of the hotel is very Finnish and it was spotlessly clean anywhere. Not a change I could have forgotten I'm in my home country and I really enjoyed it for a change. The service was neutral, efficient but friendly.
The location of the hotel is excellent both sightseeing, shopping, dining and nightlife. I took a nap, planning to go out in the evening. But I slept too well and woke up at 3.30 am. Basically all clubs in Finland close at 4 am at the latest. However, right next to Helka there is a club that holds afterparties at 5.00 - 12.00 am during the weekends so I went there. I've been told that the crowd at this place is suspicious but the dance floor was good and I did not notice anything strange. It is worth noting that Helsinki is very safe.
I didn't have breakfast as I slept too late and left the hotel in a hurry. I could not find my passport. In the next hotel I unpacked and still could not find my passport. I called Helka to enquire if it had been found. The receptionist said that the housekeeping had not reported any passports but she promised to what she could and call me back later. However, I was so anxious I went back to the hotel and asked for permission to go and search the room once again as I was told that it was unoccupied at the moment. The friendly receptionist gave me a key card to the room. The passport was found under the New Testament... We laughed together at my weird idea to hide my passport there (without remebering anything about it).
It is not a five star hotel but I give five stars for my general experience, and the athmosphere of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TroubledAditi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear TroubledAditi,

Thank you for your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka.
Hope to see you again at Helka!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was staying at Helka for couple of nights and it's a great hotel for the money.

It has the business class hotel atmosphere, but is much cozier than the big business hotel chains.
Breakfast was tasty and the hotel location is very central with easy access to a good running track at Töölönlahti. They have a very good sauna on the 6th floor and the only downside of my stay was that the sauna showers had only cold water and therefore forced me to save plenty of water and shower quickly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElmoEnsio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear ElmoEnsio,

Thank you for your kind review and welcome again. Showers in the sauna are working now :)

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I was there for a 5 day semianar in the hotel. The hotel building is from the 60, 70 years but renovated. I had a single room on the 5th floor, verl small but ok. The breakfast was ok, but no variation for 5 days. Lunch was in buffet form, many buisness peopole are comming from outside for lunch. I had one time a dinner, with a vegetarien risotto, who was very tasty.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurent_Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Laurent_L,

Thank you for your review and welcome again to Helka!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in Helka. Hotel decoration is awesome and everything is clean. Staff was very helpful and we got also late checkout. Try the suite with steam sauna, it was cool! Suite also has nice sights, because it is in the corner of building. We will definitely visit Helka again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lauski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Lauski1,

Thank you for your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka.

Welcome again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed there only one night, but it felt like a really cosy place. Comfortable rooms, good breakfast. Plus city centre location is an additional advantage. Worth trying for shorter or longer stays in the city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agatrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear agatrips,

Thank you for your kind review and welcome again to Helka!

Have a nice summer!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#20 of 66 in Helsinki
2,552 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,963 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
GLO Hotel Art
#24 of 66 in Helsinki
1,706 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#23 of 66 in Helsinki
642 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helka

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: £72 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helka 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 meters from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Helka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing