We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice”
Review of Hotel Helka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Helka
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at Hleka for two nights while passing through Helsinki. We found our room a decent size with good WIFI and bathroom. The downside was that whilst we loved our two massive windows the curtains were tiny and did a very poor job at cutting out the light (travelled in June when the daylight went from 4am til 11pm). The positives were that it's in a good location where you can easily walk to most attractions as well as to the bus station to catch a bus to the airport. It's also close to the big Kamppi shopping centre which we found convenient for the supermarket etc.
One of the nicest things was that we had to check out early in the morning, before breakfast, so they packed a takeaway breakfast for us to eat later. I would happily stay here again on another trip.

Room Tip: Room 216 has tiny curtains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojosh6970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 388 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Whilst holidaying in Scandavia, visited Finland and spent 2 days there before visiting Tallinn and then off to see bears in the wild. I stayed at Hotel Helka in Helsinki and found it very good. The staff were very helpful, the location good; you are close to No. 9 tram that takes you to the port for the Tallink ferry to Tallin, and it takes ~10 min of walking before you are in the centre of town. For us Australians the shower was a trifle enclosed, otherwise a money for value hotel in Helsinki.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJA56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This time I tried the standard single room. Room was quite tiny, as I was informed while I booked it, but compact and suitable for me this time. (I stayed only for one night but if I stayed a longer time, I would consider the premium room.) The bathroom seemed a pretty new one. The room was very clean. The bed was somewhat too soft for me but still got a good night sleep. The room was really peaceful, facing the inner courtyard. The room had a wall-to-wall carpet, which still looked nice but in the years to come might be a bit challenging.

The young woman at the front desk was really nice and welcoming and everything went really smoothly during the check-in and the check-out.

Breakfast was okay, nothing to complain about but nothing to praise about either. Rooms are really pricey in Finland nowadays (and seem to go higher) and I wish that hotels really invested in great breakfasts. (This is not just about Helka but about every hotel.)

To summarize my stay: still like the hotel a lot, will visit again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pillow2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Helsinki city centre hotels are generally pretty expensive but this one is very good value. The reception staff were extremely helpful. I needed to check in early - without warning them - and was given a room I could access immediately if I wanted. Service was professional and friendly. The room was clean, practical and quiet - not bad at all for a central, busy location. The curtains blocked out light well - believe me in midsummer in Finland that can be an issue!

Breakfast was the best spread I have seen from a Finnish hotel - I have had many!

I recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked this hotel through British Airways along with our flights and the rate was really cheap! The hotel is really well located, 5-10mins walking from the railway station and 5mins from Temppeliaukio Kirkko (Rock Church). Our double room was quite nice, decent size, bed quite comfortable and with the cool feature of a big photo in the ceiling, not something you see everywhere. If there's something negative I can say would be the shower size but not really a deal-breaker. Breakfast was decent, a few different options and more than enough for you to have a decent morning meal. Wifi connection was also stable and fast. There is also a sauna in the 6th floor that we didn't use but it's available.
All in all, I would have no doubts in staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Pedro F,

Thank you for your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka.

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We wre staying only one night. Room was very comfortable with pine photo ceiling lamp. Breakfast very good with some Finnish specialities. Whole hotel was very clean. Personnell was very friendly. If You are coming with a car there is a garage in basement and some free parking places in the yard. Route to yard is very narrow. The situatoin is excellent for strolling around in the city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ari-ja-Krisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Ari-ja-Krisse,

Thank you for your kind review. You are very welcome to visit us again!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

When travelling on solo, Hotel Helka offers lower rates than the other hotels in Helsinki city centre. Simply because they have smaller rooms with sinlge beds and not just double rooms with single occupancy. My brother had stayed at Helka in 2012 and as he said it was good value for money I didn't hesitate to book a night at this hotel. I was actually on a business trip and had booked another hotel for my stay but I decided to arrive to Helsinki a day earlier than planned. The other hotel was already sold out so I came to Helka.
The design of the hotel is very Finnish and it was spotlessly clean anywhere. Not a change I could have forgotten I'm in my home country and I really enjoyed it for a change. The service was neutral, efficient but friendly.
The location of the hotel is excellent both sightseeing, shopping, dining and nightlife. I took a nap, planning to go out in the evening. But I slept too well and woke up at 3.30 am. Basically all clubs in Finland close at 4 am at the latest. However, right next to Helka there is a club that holds afterparties at 5.00 - 12.00 am during the weekends so I went there. I've been told that the crowd at this place is suspicious but the dance floor was good and I did not notice anything strange. It is worth noting that Helsinki is very safe.
I didn't have breakfast as I slept too late and left the hotel in a hurry. I could not find my passport. In the next hotel I unpacked and still could not find my passport. I called Helka to enquire if it had been found. The receptionist said that the housekeeping had not reported any passports but she promised to what she could and call me back later. However, I was so anxious I went back to the hotel and asked for permission to go and search the room once again as I was told that it was unoccupied at the moment. The friendly receptionist gave me a key card to the room. The passport was found under the New Testament... We laughed together at my weird idea to hide my passport there (without remebering anything about it).
It is not a five star hotel but I give five stars for my general experience, and the athmosphere of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TroubledAditi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Hotel Helka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear TroubledAditi,

Thank you for your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Helka.
Hope to see you again at Helka!

Best regards
Hotel Helka
Chris Kruusvee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#22 of 66 in Helsinki
2,406 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,835 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 66 in Helsinki
632 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
715 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helka

Address: Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: £73 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helka 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual Elegance inspired by Finnish Design and Nature! Only 250 meters from Kamppi Metro Station, privately owned Hotel Helka offers 150 functional rooms, fine dining and a cozy street bar. All the rooms have design furniture and a strong sense of Finnish nature. All of the rooms have air-cooling system, minibars and flat-screen TVs. Breakfast buffet, use of Sauna and WiFi connection are complimentary for all guests. Hotel Helka is housed in a refurbished 1920s building. The bright rooms feature decor by Artek and other well-known Finnish design brands and designers. Guests can enjoy drinks and snacks in Helka’s trendy Lobby Bar. Helka’s central location provides easy access to shopping, dining and culture. Helsinki Central Station is 10 minute walk away. Welcome to the Heart of Helsinki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Helka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helka Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing