We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, but cramped.”
Review of Hotelli Finn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotelli Finn
Ranked #22 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stylish, but cramped.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is centrally located in Helsinki, and the price was definitely right for my wife and I. The room was stylish, youthful, but small: just big enough for two single beds with a little space between them. There was no closet, desk or chair. The washroom is also small but modern. That said, the floor of the shower should have been slightly lower, or, perhaps, sloped towards the drain because the water got everywhere and almost out the bathroom door. A squeegee would've been appreciated in order to dry things up faster and keep it all clean. There was some street noise that came in through the 6th floor windows, but there's not much that can be done about that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank academia_nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauriker, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Hotelli Finn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear academia_nut,
Thank you for your review.

We have recently divided our twin rooms into two different categories. This allows our guests to choose between cheaper and a bit smaller and bigger and a bit more expensive rooms according to their wishes. Bigger ones do have a closet, a desk and a chair, for example.

A squeegee is a very good idea, thank you! We’ll go and get those right away.

Best regards,
Lauri / Hotel Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    286
    125
    28
    8
See reviews for
69
179
132
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The location can't be beat---half a block from the main street and within walking distance of the port, the bus station, trams and a large shopping center and the famous Stockman's Department Store. The staff at the reception desk were wonderful; incredibly knowledgeable and helpful and friendly. However, I would not stay here again. The hotel is on the 5th and 6th floors of a commercial building. There is a reception desk on the 5th floor but no lobby. They have hot water, and you can make your own tea bag for tea, but no coffee in the reception area. There is no breakfast, but they will give you a coupon for a 7 euro breakfast at a nearby restaurant. There is no English TV, no phone in the room, you have to ask for a hairdryer at the desk, you have to put a sign on the door to get maid service, and the lighting in my bathroom was so bad I couldn't see to put my makeup on

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsEnergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauriker, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Hotelli Finn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear MsEnergy,

Thank you for your review.

We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel’s location and customer service.
Our hotel is a small, family-owned, inner city hotel and our aim is to provide our guests with reasonably priced no-frills accommodation with excellent location and warmest possible service.

We’ll however take your wishes seriously, and consider getting some international channels into our tvs and making free coffee available for your guests as well. We have nowadays request-only maid service in order to respect the privacy of our guests and the environment.

Would you please contact us directly, we would like to know the room in which you stayed and see, what we could do for the bathroom lighting.

Best regards
Lauri /Hotel Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Good value for my money. Nothing too special but nice place to sleep and take a rest in very central location of Helsinki. Staff was also helpful!! Only minus that the room was wayyy too cold and I felt like I was freezing some parts of The night.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Piia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauriker, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Hotelli Finn, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

We apologize that you felt cold at the night and we're currently updating our windows in order to guarantee comfort even during the coldest nights of Finnish winter.

Welcome to Hotel Finn again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel Finn is a great value and a close walk to everything. I traveled solo this trip, so finding something close to action was important, and as an added bonus it was quiet. The people at the desk were knowledgeable and helpful as well. The breakfast they offer at a local restaurant is also worth the 7 Euros. If you are looking to save a bit of money and still be near the heart of Helsinki, Hotel Finn is for you.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauriker, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Hotelli Finn, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words!
You're warmly welcome back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Very clean and well maintained. Comfortable beds. Nice bathroom with plenty of hot water. Strong wifi, even in the room. Nice view of the street below. Short walk from the central bus/train station. Very close to the main street, therefore nice short walk to the 2 cathedrals and the wharf, from where I caught a ferry to Suomelina. Maybe a bit pricey for what it was, but Helsinki was expensive! No proper reception or lounge area. But the guy at the reception was very helpful - went out of his way to check me in before the normal time. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katowice, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

we have spent one night and everything was perfect, the guys at the reception were simply perfect!! they provided us information to reach a Sauna on festivity day, they gave us the chance to leave the luggage there all day after till evening, offered us tea, free wifi, always smiling and providing all the information people need. The best example of Customer Service!! The position is very central and comfortable, the rooms are ok, just maybe toilette a bit small.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MastroCiliegia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I see the photos here are quite nice and inviting, our room however was not comfortable, there was no fancy art or cool showercurtain. The bathroom with glasswall reminded me of a prison shower. It was dirty. We were two no nuff said when i say we never used the toilet in this room when there was just a low showerdoor between toilet and the rest of the room.
Price for this and a Scandic hotel close by is not that big difference. I see what we paied for was the location.
Goo dthing was that there was good tea fascilites in the reception.

Room Tip: If your not alone the one with the glasswall bath might not be a good choice. Definately not if your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TiinaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauriker, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Hotelli Finn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear TiinaG,

Thank you for your review. We’re unhappy to hear that your stay in our hotel did not meet your expectations. After your review, we have paid special attention to bathrooms’ cleaniness with our housekeeping company.

That room which has a bathroom with glass walls was a single experiment. Due to customer feedback, our other rooms have different and more traditional bathrooms. We’ll also rebuild the bathroom of this room as soon as we can.

We have now divided our twin rooms into two different categories, so that our guests can easily choose between smaller and more simply decorated rooms and bigger and fancier ones, depending to their wishes and needs.

We hope that you would give us another chance next time you’ll visit Helsinki.

Best regards
Lauri / Hotel Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#5 of 65 in Helsinki
1,701 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 65 in Helsinki
1,275 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#18 of 65 in Helsinki
1,591 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 65 in Helsinki
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotelli Finn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelli Finn

Property: Hotelli Finn
Address: Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#25 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotelli Finn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotelli Finn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Finn Helsinki
Hotelli Finn Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing