We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all in all it was a nice stay, though we were disappointed by some things”
Review of Hotelli Finn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotelli Finn
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Reviewed 15 February 2011

the first and the biggest disappointment - an absence of the breakfast! when we were booking the room - it was a certain priority for us and it was written everywhere that this hotel provides with breakfast, but when we arrived it appeared that this service doesn't exist at all.
also, they don't have and it is not possible to make 1 big bed, so that if you're family - you have to sleep separetly anyway. the level of cleaning the room was also bad(( - they didn't seem to care too much about changing our bed linen during 4 nights or simply washing the glasses- these isn't good.
well, 3 really good things about this hotel - it's perfect position (right in the centre of everything in Helsinki and near the Railway Station), free wi-fi internet was perfect(!) and , well, it's price - pretty cheap. but the service could have been better, to be honest, so that the staff won't try to charge you for accommodation twice on check-in and on check-out - just because somebody forgot to save the information about the payment.
I will agree with all the comments above - if you need just to spend 1 night in Helsinki - that's probably the best variant, but not longer, as all these inconveniences make your visit less pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NadushaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFinn, Owner at Hotelli Finn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2011

Hello,

Thank you for your review.

We have supplied the information about breakfast not being available at the moment (we should have a new kitchen up and going soon!) to all the different websites on which the hotel is on sale. Unfortunately it seems that some pages do not update their versions in different languages often enough, so this information must have not come through to you, I am terribly sorry about that.

I have supplied this review to our cleaning staff and we have changed some policies in that department.

We have just updated pretty much every single electronic system in the reception, and that must have caused the mix-up with your payment. Now the staff have gotten used to all the new software and we can serve you faster, better and more accurately then before =)

Best Regards,

Tio Tikka
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2011

I waited too long to book room from my regular place in Helsinki and it was full. I tried to find another matching one, but prices raised above 200eur with same location. Then I decided to try this cheap hotel with apparently excellent location. Even with modest facilities, the price and location are absolutely perfect.

The wibe is almost like on the ferries between Finland and Sweden, which might be a good or bad thing if you are familiar with the ferries. Anyway for business traveller under 30 years and only requirement is a bed - this is absolutely the best place i've stayed in HEL.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFinn, Owner at Hotelli Finn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2011

Hello,

Thanks for the kind words. The cheap prices of course sometimes attract younger, more outgoing visitors and this does from time to time cause some of that "ferry-effect" you mentioned. We are currently experimenting and planning to start a full-time 24-hour reception and that should really calm things now.

At the moment we do have a security-company patrolling the premises during nights, keeping things calm and looking after the visitors.

Hope to see you again soon in Hotel Finn!

Best Regards,

Tio Tikka
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

This is a no-frills accommodation in the city center. The hotel is tiny, and takes up two floors in a large building. One of the hotel floors is only accessible via a staircase, which could be inconvenient.
The room was cute, with appealing curtains and linens.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VStraneChudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFinn, Owner at Hotelli Finn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2010

Hello,

Thank you for your for your review.

We have addressed the issue with the fifth floor and now it is accessible with a lift as well!

Best Regards,

Tio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Helsinki is an expensive city. It is harder to find a hotel there for under $100 than in Manhattan. Hotelli Finn is probably the best place to stay for travelers that don't want to stay in a hostel. The catch is, that Hotelli Finn gives off a hostel vibe.
The service was good and it was worth the price in an expensive city. The absolute best thing this hotel has is a prime location. It is right in the center and is in walking distant to pretty much everything you don't need a boat to get to.
If I could offer any advice, it is to go into this hotel not expecting much. If all you need is a place to stay for short while in Central Helsinki, this is it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBus2Prague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFinn, Owner at Hotelli Finn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2010

Hello,

Thank you for your review.

We have already renovated the whole lobby-area of the hotel and are now completely renovating the rooms one by one! Ps. The hotel is getting even cheaper all the time :)

Best Regards,

Tio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Good location. 5 minutes from the Railway Central Station
The big plus - plenty of shopping centres and restaurants around.
But unfortunately, the room looked a bit old and the bathroom was very small with a very deep tub. It was difficult taking a shower standing up.
Moreover, the wifi signal was very weak in our room but worked normal in the hallways)
Expected a bit more for that price.
So, not sure that if I would be in Helsinki again I would stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergey_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFinn, Manager at Hotelli Finn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2010

Hello,

Thank you for the review.

We have addressed the issue with the tubs, and we are going to remove all of them. All the rooms will be equipped with regular showers in the future.

We have also rebuilt the whole Wi-Fi network, attached it to a high-speed internet connection and it now works perfectly and really fast in every single room.

Best Regards,

Tio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights, we found the staff very friendly, approachable and accomodating no matter what time of day or night. Comfortable room with clean bedding, although not changed throughout our stay. It was warm and the en-suite bathroom was ample for shower/bath with constant hot water. The hotel is situated in the heart of Helsinki with every amenity within walking distance. Would recommend to anyone. After reading previous posts on here we were dubious of the hotel but would not think twice about staying in Hotelli Finn again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppy050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFinn, Owner at Hotelli Finn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2010

Hello,

Thank you for your kind words, hope to see you again in the future :)

Best Regards,

Tio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2008

Took the lift to the 6th floor, nobody on reception when I arrived, eventually somebody appeared and grunted at me when I told him I had a reservation. I was given the single room right next to the reception desk, only a paper-thin partition between me and the noise of the desk, the phones and the lift!! The room was narrow and dingy with a scrap of fabric for a curtain, a non-functioning phone and a wall TV with only Finnish channels. The bathroom was OK. I have to say however that the location was perfect - close to the main railway station and just off the main street, Männerheimtje. 75 euros for a single room (breakfast 7 euros extra) is a rip-off, but as I was only staying one night - not the end of the world.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McPauli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFinn, Owner at Hotelli Finn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2010

Hello,

Thank you for the review.

I am sincerely sorry that you have received so bad service at the hotel. The hotel is under new management and ownership now and we will guarantee that such thing will not happen in the future. The room you are mentioning is no longer in use and the entire staff has also changed from the time that you have written the review.

Even with your bad experiences, I sincerely hope that you will grant us another chance to give you a memorable (and cheap) stay in Helsinki.

Best Regards,

Tio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#23 of 66 in Helsinki
2,440 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,870 reviews
Hotel Helka
#14 of 66 in Helsinki
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 66 in Helsinki
1,378 reviews
Hotel Rantapuisto
#30 of 66 in Helsinki
252 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotelli Finn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelli Finn

Address: Kalevankatu 3 B, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#25 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: £65 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotelli Finn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotelli Finn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotelli Finn Helsinki
Hotelli Finn Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing