We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scandic Park Helsinki
Ranked #23 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Elimäki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very disapointing”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

On arrival parking entrace was hard to find and parking was expencive.
Also we have to drag our bags few steps to hotel.
Reception was uninformative and service almost rude.
We were using our freguent customer Scandic friend points to pay our stay, but we did not get free newspaper, nor given any directions to lifts, or how to find room, were not told about facilities and all this was done without smile.
Our room was meant to be newly renovated, but had a sofa placed next to bed so that it was blocking the way.
Bedsheets were made up fom two separate sheets, lamps could not be turned off from bed and to turn bathroom light off, keycard needed to be removed from doorway pocket as there was no other way to turn this light off.
Electrical cables were visibly hanging from lamps etc.
...wallpaper was nice.
Only bar was in lobby area and felt like bus station kiosk as they were selling all sorts at the same area.
However the gentleman running this very expencive kiosk was nice and friendly.
Breakfast was poor in many ways, the quality of food was average, tables were not cleaned and far too many people were packed in very small area.
On chek out no smile, no welcome again, no nothing..
I will be avoiding this hotel in future as there is so much nicer hotels for same price in Helsinki.
This hotel should have 2 stars max.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    858
    350
    105
    34
See reviews for
512
409
175
522
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pirkkala, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Customer service lacking in all frontiers.

Reception:
check in:No any explanations where is what etc., especially as the renowation is still ongoing.
check out: no questions were even asked if everything was ok, nor wishing welcome again etc.
Room: Not cleaned properly before or during the 2 nights stay, room needed an urgent renowation.
As many of the things were in average level and got the discounted price, the overall grading is average, otherwise would have been a poor experience.
The location of this hotel is good, so it's hard to understand why on earth the customer service has dropped on each visit during last 3 years of using this hotel and I'm not even super demanding, just that the basic things would work and rooms are clean. Breakfast room was hard to find, breakfast selection was not so versatile.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shampanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Nice and fresh old hotel with a new face but...
Service at the reception was poor and clumsy - everything had to be asked.
When we got to the room it was a mess: many items where missing (tea and coffee, papers from toilet) and there had been no cleaning - dust and large dust bunnys.
Our room change has handled very well and it left a nice feeling and the second room was fresh and generally ok. Breakfest room was hard to find and go to and also the breakfest was very poor.

Alltogether the hotel left a image that says " I'm not finished and I don't care!"

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

It's a nice and cozy hotel within a 20-minute walk from the very city centre. Unfortunately, now its sauna and swimming pool are being repaired, so one cannot use them. The rooms are stylish, however small. Breakfasts are versatile and tasty.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dina_dinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

It would be entirely disingenuous of me to provide a full review of the Scandic Continental given that it is undergoing a major refurbishment at the moment. Having stayed before, I can concur with other reviews that the 70's decor was in desperate need of a refresh and walking into the lobby bar felt like the set of a Columbo episode; however it seems that Scandic are dealing with this feedback and injecting new life into this tired old lady.

It's hard to run any business when you have builders, electricians, plumbers and decorators running amok, however the refurbishment seems to be relatively organised with 'live' areas boarded off from the building site; that said, you may have to walk through undecorated 'staff only' areas to get to your room and it's pot luck whether you get a newly refurbished room or one of the old fleet (as was the case during my stay).

With the main restaurant currently out of action, a makeshift restaurant has been constructed at the back of the building which is a fair hike in what I would assume was once a nightclub. It feels a little odd having breakfast and dinner on a neon lit dancefloor, but all in all they are making a good effort to keep things sane where the circumstances would normally dictate the opposite. I wholeheartedly recommend the Beef Steak with a pepper sauce, and fans of the orange carpet can rest assured that snippets of it still remain in some areas... for the time being at least. One thing I don't understand is why the restaurant is closed for dinner on a Sunday; this seems to be a recurring theme in their Finnish properties?!

All in all I had a very pleasant stay at the Scandic Continental and would recommend it. If you're of a nervous disposition or feel put out by building works, I'd look to phone ahead to see what disruption may occur as you may want to book elsewhere.

Scandic have clearly taken on board feedback about this property, and when finished, it looks like it will eventually be one of the jewels in Scandic's crown.

Room Tip: I chose a Superior room which had not yet been renovated. It was perfectly servicable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazzanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Brand new lobby area is a mix of different styles and colors and have to say, that it is very modern but the atmosphere remains quite cold and not cosy at all. New rooms are OK, motor-beds and overall spacious room as well as free wi-fi are huge plus. Our remote control (of TV) did not work, waited someone to come/repair it for over an hour (so improvements to the number of staff/employees are needed especially when the whole hotel is in use, as it is huge= lots of demands). Breakfast room were really crowded and old-fashioned, but I guess they will be also refurbished during the upcoming months. Central location though in the city and many buses/trams go beside the hotel. Nice Töölö-area is just behind the corner and in this area there are lot of great restaurants and small boutiques.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apprendrelemonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Scandic Continental is very near the main attractions in Helsinki. It is very well connected by Tram line to the central raliway station. The tram station is just in front of the hotel at a walkable distance of less than 100 mtrs. The staff is very courteous and the breakfast spread is also very good. Though the hotel had lot of other facilities like Sauna, due to time constriants I could not make use of the same. The elevators in the hotel have security deature so unless one has a room key one cannot operate the elevator. The rooms are quite spacious and gives one the value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjeev_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#20 of 65 in Helsinki
2,241 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 65 in Helsinki
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 65 in Helsinki
635 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Scandic Marski
Scandic Marski
#32 of 65 in Helsinki
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Park Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Park Helsinki

Property: Scandic Park Helsinki
Address: Mannerheimintie 46, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Scandic Hotel Continental Helsinki)
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Park Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 523
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is situated only a short walk from Helsinki city center and popular sights. Facilities include lobby area and hotel rooms, a restaurant, gym, sauna, indoor pool and excellent conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Park Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing