We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun afternoon”
Review of SEA LIFE Helsinki

SEA LIFE Helsinki
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17.78*
and up
SEA LIFE Helsinki Entrance Ticket
More Info
US$54.53*
and up
Helsinki Card
Ranked #37 of 283 things to do in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: SEA LIFE Helsinki is located in Alppila, Helsinki - only 10 minutes by tram from the City centre (trams 3B and 9, Bus 23).SEA LIFE Helsinki transports you into the amazing underwater world! Be wowed by beautiful and fascinating creatures of the deep sea and prepare yourself for astonishingly close views. What is your favourite sea creature?Would you prefer the awesome Sharks, the scary Piranhas or perhaps it is the cute Seahorses that you love themost? Are you a Bonnethead Shark lover? Perhaps it’s the Clownfish or the clever Octopus thatyou like the best. Or maybe you simply can’t decide! Here at SEA LIFE you can make up your mind and see them all - from the curious and the rescued to the rare and the enigmatic. And you’ll be able to get closer to them than ever before.Many of our creatures are on the endangered list, have been rescued and cannot be released into the wild or have been born and bred as part of our conservation projects. All of them are beautiful.Groovy Jellyfish at SEA LIFE in 2012!In the new Jellyfish Discovery exhibition, visitors can find out more about the moon jellyfish found in Finnish waters, as well as more exotic compass jellyfish, lagoon jellyfish and mosaic jellyfish. The groovy beauties of the seas can be admired at Sea Life until the end of the year to the beat of disco music. SEA LIFE takes care of our seasAs well as helping millions of people to discover the marvels of the marine world the SEA LIFE network has an important role to play in helping safeguard our seas and their inhabitants for the future. At SEA LIFE, we have lots of local activities you can support or get involved with!As well as fostering conservation through enhanced awareness, SEA LIFE regularly makes a more direct contribution towards conservation and marine animal welfare. Come and meet them. Let’s explore our creatures!
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Helsinki
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun afternoon”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Kids had a blast, it was a great weekend afternoon outing. I would not recommend visiting without kids though as it is a bit crowded, and there aren't a lot of unique things to see if you've been to any other aquarium.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bbayless3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    94
    54
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Joensuu, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A waste of time and money”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

First off, I am easily impressed when it comes to zoos. I like them, no doubt about it. But Sea Life in Helsinki was not only ridiculously expensive (16€ as a student), but also simply not worth half of the money. The animals you can see are not at all that exotic, apart from one or two exceptions, and after slightly more than half an hour you have seen everything there is, even if you take your time, it is just small. If you have some kind of reduction/free voucher, go, maybe also see the carnival next to it, but you might as well save the money and go somewhere else. Even the children seemed a tad disappointed in the end.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Karhu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mjolby, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sea Life Helsinki february 2014”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

It was a nice wisit to Sea Life, Helsinki in february 2014. Me and my husband were there with our younger Children at age 5 & 7. They enjoyed the visit as much as us. Much to se, beatifully done. Our only Disappointment was that we did not see the squids that were promised in the advertisment.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NillaWahlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun day out for small kids”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My 5 year old loves this place. It's rarely crowded & has some great tanks. There's a lot of interesting information & a quiz for the kids, that's regularly updated & a medal at the end. They have feeding times with comentary & you can go round as many times as you like.I bought an annual pass we go so often & it's the perfect place to go when the weather is bad (which is quite often in Finland). The staff are all very knowledgable, enthusiastic & helpful. My only gripe is the gift shop at the end. As with all these sort of places, it's overpriced & you're forced to walk through it at the end. I'd say it's better than London as you don't get the crowds & the tanks are just as good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great for children as adults we learnt a lot”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We spent few hours here to escape the cold winter day with our boys aged four and six. Excellent displays, a quiz for them to complete as they went around and they collected their medals at the end which they loved. We saw various displays, an underwater walk through tunnel, turtle display, touch pool, article waters display, tropical fish display too much to detail. An unusual santa paid a visit! Take tram number 3 it's a short ride note 3b on their info sheet doesn't exist anymore.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Serendipitylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SEA LIFE Helsinki also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to SEA LIFE Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing