We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“central, easy to reach from Central Station” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cumulus Kaisaniemi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
Ranked #40 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“central, easy to reach from Central Station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

great hotel in the city centre
easy to reach from the Central Railway station, the Central Bus station at Kamppi and the Finnair Airport bus.
bus stop & tram station straight in front of the hotel
walking distance (about 5 minutes) to the main harbour
city centre even closer
nice, cosy & functional rooms
for a short city stay a good hotel to stay at!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TobiasPolarBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    120
    104
    21
    5
See reviews for
32
83
50
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Conveniently located, several blocks from the train station. It is also a short walk to the harbor and other attractions. The rooms are small, but are comfortable, clean, and quiet. The breakfast buffet is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumulus-Kaisaniemi, Manager at Cumulus Kaisaniemi, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Ruth N,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks again for staying with us and we certainly hope to see you soon again in Cumulus Kaisaniemi Helsinki.

Best regards, Kari-Petri Hovi / Hotel Manager / Cumulus Kaisaniemi Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed for one night. The room is small and the bathroom is tiny. The place can get pretty hectic if a group arrives and there is sometimes a long line for the list. The room is basic, small and I don't think I have had such a tiny bathroom before. The toilet, shower and sink and basically all in together. The bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was OK - reasonable choice. The best thing is that it is in the city centre and you can walk to all the sights easily. Service was OK - check in was quite quick and you can buy food/items at the reception.

Room Tip: All seem OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jejeel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumulus-Kaisaniemi, Manager at Cumulus Kaisaniemi, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear jejeel3,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were quite satisfied with your stay. I do hope we will have the honor to have you as our guest again in Cumulus Kaisaniemi Helsinki.

Sincerely, Kari-Petri Hovi / Hotel Manager / Cumulus Kaisaniemi Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Certainly this is not a hotel where you will want to stay with a decent budget. The rooms are overpriced (120 EUR / night /person) with an ugly view from the window. The decoration was not satisfactory : no minibar, very cheap table. The heating system was not working properly, and it was cold inside. The television had some problem and the screen was bright after turning off : could not sleep properly. The bathroom was very small, and no curtain to separate shower area, so it was flooded after I took shower.
The receptionist (a guy with an earring) was very cold, did not let me enter my room, sharp before 2.00 pm, and was not in a welcoming mood. Only breakfast and location is more or less satisfactory. But if are willing to pay around 100 EUR, go to some other hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prasenjit1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumulus-Kaisaniemi, Manager at Cumulus Kaisaniemi, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear prasenjit1988,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to write us a review. We apologize that you were not satisfied with price level and that you did not receive service with a smile.
Our hotel is proud of the friendly service and quality of its products and for this reason your comments will certainly be looked into and the technical issues in the room have already been forwarded to our maintenence department. During peak season rates can vary daily and also we are not able to to be as flexible with the check in time as we normally would.
Your comments are very important to us and allow us to improve our performance continually. We all hope that should your travel plans bring you back to our area, you will give our hotel another try.
Best regards, Kari-Petri Hovi / Hotel Manager / Cumulus Kaisaniemi Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seinajoki, Finland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Small, nice peaceful and good location. That´s enough to one night stay. If like to there is also rooms without window. During winter time in Finland the window is not needed, because there is anyway dark outside.

Our room was spacious, clean and nice (and without window). Nothing bad to say of room or hotel. Breakfast is standard of Cumulus hotels. You may have to note that parking is bit of expensive (30 euros/day), if you are coming by your own car. I also understood that there is no restaurant in this hotel (lobby bar serves hot dogs night time). But there is good variety of restaurants in the neighborhood, you are in the middle of the Helsinki!

I would choose this hotel another time for a short stay. From the hotel there is only short walk to city center. You can also choose tram, bus or metro to get to the centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anssil958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We visited Helsinki over 3 days, hotel very good and staff most helpful. Breakfast was good and enough to choose from. Hotel very close to train station and the inner city. Good restaurants also very close by. Must say the Bed was the most comfortable of our whole trip. Also the staff found out we had our 43 wedding anniversary so when we came back from full day out, we found two small bottles of Champaign in our room on ice. A very big thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christadinohoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

It is a OK hotel. Spacious enough. Our room seemed to be dated.
The lobby is a bit small and non-stylish.
Nice breakfast.
Good location. Walking distance to almost all city spots. We even walked to the Rock Church.
Staff were friendly enough.
We could keep our luggage there inside a locked room before room's ready and after check-out.
Dogs were allowed in the hotel.
To sum-up, it's a hotel that gave me a 'don't expect too much' feeling as you get what you've paid for.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Best Western Hotel Carlton
Best Western Hotel Carlton
#45 of 63 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#32 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Arthur Hotel
#43 of 63 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumulus Kaisaniemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Kaisaniemi

Property: Cumulus Kaisaniemi
Address: Kaisaniemenkatu 7, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cumulus Kaisaniemi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel at home at the newly renovated Cumulus Kaisaniemi Helsinki Hotel, with its modern and cosy atmosphere in Helsinki city centre. The hotel's location in the very centre of Helsinki only two blocks from the main railway station and across the street from a metro station makes it easy to reach the Cumulus Kaisaniemi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cumulus Kaisaniemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Kaisaniemi Hotel Helsinki
Cumulus Kaisaniemi Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing