We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 14:00 - 20:00
Review Highlights
The best authentic Finnish sauna

A thoroughly authentic sauna offering - very different to the tourist experience offered by Allas... read more

Reviewed 5 December 2023
Matthew J
Very Warm, in More Ways Than One

I had a wonderful experience visiting this sauna. As a solo American stopping by, I wasn't sure... read more

Reviewed 5 July 2023
freutmich
,
Kansas City
Read all 137 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Helsinki
from £130.76
More Info
from £95.08
More Info
from £41.87
More Info
from £179.69
More Info
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
99
29
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
99
29
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shower area full body bucket list lockers culture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Awesome vibe - went on a cold, rainy night. Sitting in the sauna, then throwing on (just) a towel to drink some beers on the street with the locals was almost surreal (def more lax nudity and public drinking laws than Canada!!!) Would definitely recommend to anyone.

*bring your own beers - they even have a fridge you can keep them in till you want them! However, if you forget you can buy them there.

Date of experience: July 2016
2  Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Had a great afternoon here while waiting for an incoming flight. Quick trip by metro from Helsinki Central Station, and was very pleasantly surprised. I'll definitely be returning.

Date of experience: June 2016
2  Thank Bilyxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

As a member of Finnish Sauna Society I highly recommend this particular sauna. Great place for none Finnish speakers too.

Date of experience: June 2016
2  Thank HenriH627
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 June 2016

If you are hesitant because of the pictures of half-naked people drinking beer outside, don't. Kotiharjun sauna is a very simple and no non-sense facility. Although I find the heat inside the sauna to be too much to enjoy, the experience is unforgettable.

The Finns are friendly and you will sure find someone who can help answer your question (if any). I'm not sure if beer mixes well with the hot sauna (particularly when the weather outside is not very cold), so didn't give it a try. But if I had a chance to go back, would probably buy a bottle to sip outside while waiting to go back to the room.

Inside the sauna, people were quite chatty as if they knew one another (no peace, just fun). I would recommend that you bring a small towel (in addition to the big one) to sit on while seated. The bench can be pretty warm, and you should do your bum a favour.

Date of experience: May 2016
3  Thank MontfortOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2016

It was nice to visit typical sauna, meet local people with real , not fake tourist oriented emotions. Friendly woman in reception will offer you towel and drinks (not alcohol).
Not far from city center , easy to reach with metro or bus.

Date of experience: June 2016
3  Thank klpdietis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews