We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
The best authentic Finnish sauna

A thoroughly authentic sauna offering - very different to the tourist experience offered by Allas... read more

Reviewed 5 December 2023
Matthew J
Very Warm, in More Ways Than One

I had a wonderful experience visiting this sauna. As a solo American stopping by, I wasn't sure... read more

Reviewed 5 July 2023
freutmich
,
Kansas City
Read all 137 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Helsinki
from £130.76
More Info
from £95.08
More Info
from £41.87
More Info
from £179.69
More Info
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
99
29
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
99
29
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shower area full body bucket list lockers culture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Kotiharjun is one of the local gems that hasn't been overrun by tourists. Sauna culture is huge in Finland, and you'll see lots of locals coming there to hang out with their friends, or enjoy some quiet time alone.

This claims to be the only wood-fired sauna in Finland, and the smell of burned wood in the hot room is really something special. The facilities are old ('rustic' may be a good term to use), but still clean and well looked-after. There are three main sections: the hot room itself, the shower/massage room, and the changing/chillout room where you can sit down with a drink and chat with your friends or read a magazine in between trips to the sauna.

A few cultural points to consider:
- You need to shower before going into the sauna
- The saunas are nude, but don't worry - men and women are separated into different saunas. Some cultures *coughBritishcough* can get very embarrassed about going naked in public, but the atmosphere here is very relaxed, no one will stare at you, and it's generally a very asexual and body-positive experience.

A few tips:
- Bring your own towel, otherwise you'll need to pay $3 to rent one
- Bring your own beer, but enjoy it in the common room - you can't bring drinks into the sauna itself.
- Don't stay too long in the hot room - about 10-15 mins is recommended for beginners. Make sure to cool down between trips to the hot room either by having a cold shower, or sitting in the common room.
- Drink plenty of water to keep yourself hydrated.

So do it like the Finns and give yourself a real authentic experience!

Date of experience: April 2017
7  Thank olgakO7206NK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Kotiharjun Sauna is a traditional Finnish sauna which gave us a super nice start of our Saturday evening in Helsinki. We really liked the traditional feel, the nice people to chat with, and the very warm and lively atmosphere! Go there!

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank joakimb705
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

I went to the sauna on the first day arriving in Helsinki. It is rather old and the locker doesn't really work but that doesn't really matter. The atmosphere counts the most, there is a good mixture of people, young and old, with people signing and rap, chatting in the changing room or outside the sauna on the street with a beer.
This wood heat sauna is much hotter than other electric heated sauna I tried in Finland, and is way better.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank 526fultonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2017

I went here on my first trip to Helsinki and it was pretty fun. For an American, it feels like a very exotic and authentic Finnish sauna experience.
The sauna itself is wood burning and more in the traditional Finnish style. Locals come after work and often socialize outside with beers or soda.

Pro tip: Bring your own cold beverage. I'm partial to a chilled sparkling water with my sauna.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank geoffbund
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

I love to take my foreign guests to Kotiharjun sauna. It is a traditional Finnish public sauna, a rare breed in these days.

Bring some beer with you and put it in the freezer while entering the sauna, pay for a locker (and a towel, if you didn't bring your own), and enjoy the experience.

Do not be intimidated by the practically nude men sitting on the bench in the front of the doorway. They are just chilling outside, and will be glad to help if you need assistance.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank pwaltari
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews