We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nadine
St. Gallen, Switzerland

Best stay ever - Beyond words!

Review of The Hotel Maria
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks agovia mobile
Our stay at Hotel Maria in Helsinki was truly the best experience we've ever had. The staff is simply beyond words – incredibly caring and attentive, creating such a warm and welcoming atmosphere. This amazing team always greeted us with big smiles and ensured that every wish was fulfilled.

A special mention goes to Maricor, our delightful waitress at breakfast. Her service was impeccable, adding a lovely touch to our mornings.

A huge thank you to everyone at Hotel Maria. We will definitely be back for sure!
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anniina Pearson, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Maria, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Excursion65157462023,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful review with us. We are so pleased to hear that your experience with us was the best you’ve ever had.

Our team is dedicated to creating a warm and welcoming atmosphere, and it’s incredibly rewarding to know that their caring and attentive service made such a positive impact on your stay. We are especially pleased to hear about your interactions with Maricor. We will certainly pass along your kind words to her; she will be delighted to know that her impeccable service added a lovely touch to your mornings.

We are excited to welcome you back to The Hotel Maria in the future and strive to make your next stay just as memorable.

Warmest regards,
Anniina Pearson
Guest Relations Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£147
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £147
0.6 miles from The Hotel Maria
Free Wifi
Room service
£102
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.0 miles from The Hotel Maria
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£112
  • Booking.com
  • Scandic Hotels
    £112
  • Hotels.com
0.7 miles from The Hotel Maria
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£99
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £99
2.9 miles from The Hotel Maria
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £152
  • Expedia.com
    £171
1.0 miles from The Hotel Maria
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
  • Scandic Hotels
    £145
  • Lol.travel
    £138
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from The Hotel Maria
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £78
  • Algotels
0.3 miles from The Hotel Maria
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £110
  • Official Site
0.7 miles from The Hotel Maria
Free Wifi
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel
    £85
  • Expedia.com
    £90
3.5 miles from The Hotel Maria
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Preferred Hotels
    £93
  • Official Site
0.7 miles from The Hotel Maria
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Helsinki
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
20
0
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
20
0
0
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2024 via mobile

The Hotel Maria was one of the highlights of an amazing visit to Norway and Helsinki. The majority of our trip took place in Norway and ended with two nights in Helsinki at the Maria. What a delight !
Literally every member of the staff was pleasant, genuine, and beyond accommodating.
Flavio at the front desk. Tatiana too.
Sergei at the front door. Yorgos in the bar.
Murat at breakfast greeting us each morning. Carolina and Marcel in the beautiful spa.
It’s a very new hotel but extraordinarily managed and beautiful.
It certainly didn’t hurt that we stayed in an executive suite but our friends told us their room was spacious and comfortable too.
The Hotel Maria enhanced our visit to the vibrant city of Helsinki. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank saintsfan1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anniina Pearson, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2024

Dear saintsfan1951,

Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful review of The Hotel Maria! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that we were one of the highlights of your amazing visit to the Nordics.

It is incredibly gratifying to know that our staff made such a positive impression on you. We are very proud of our team, and your kind words about Flavio, Tatiana, Sergei, Yorgos, Murat, Carolina, and Marcel will surely brighten their day.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our Executive Suites and that your friends also found their room spacious and comfortable. It is our goal to ensure every guest feels at home, no matter their room type.

Your compliments on our management and the beauty of our new hotel are much appreciated. We are dedicated to maintaining the highest standards and are pleased that this commitment enhanced your visit to the vibrant city of Helsinki.

Thank you again for your high recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Maria on your next visit to Helsinki.

Warmest regards,
Anniina Pearson
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2024 via mobile

We had an amazing stay at The Hotel Maria. Everything was above expectations. All of the staff were professional, helpful and nice. We were there three nights and we created a bond with a number of the staff which helped us feel that we are at our home away from home. All the facilities were first class. Fully renovated. Upgraded to a spacious suite. Excellent spa. The best hotel bar. Two restaurants. Delicious breakfast. Well equipped fitness center. The concierges were so helpful. Can’t say enough about the property.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RayS827
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anniina Pearson, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2024

Dear RayS827,

Thank you so much for this fantastic review and for choosing The Hotel Maria! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that your experience exceeded your expectations.

Our team takes great pride in providing exceptional service and it is a pleasure to know that our staff's professionalism and friendliness made you feel at home. Building meaningful connections with our guests is something we strive for.

We’re delighted that you enjoyed the spacious suite, our top-notch facilities, and the various amenities we offer, from our luxurious Maria Spa to the well-equipped fitness center. It’s also wonderful to hear that you had positive experiences at our restaurants, Garden Terrace and Lilja Restaurant our Maria Bar, and that our concierges were able to assist you.

Your high praise means the world to us, and we are grateful for your detailed feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Maria for another exceptional experience.

Warmest regards,
Anniina Pearson
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2024

Since we live in Helsinki we only enjoyed breakfast in the restaurant Lilja. It was a really nice experience. The breakfast was good and service excellent.
We can recommend it to all of you who want a little more than orsinary hotel breakfast

Christer and Anita

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anniina Pearson, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2024

Dear 62christern,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share this fantastic review with us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast at Lilja restaurant.
Providing exceptional service and delicious food is what we strive for, and we're delighted to know that we succeeded in creating a memorable experience.
Your recommendation means the world to us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lilja restaurant or The Hotel Maria in the future.
Warmest regards,
Anniina Pearson
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2024

The Hotel Maria is a brand new, opened in December 2023, 5-star luxury hotel. Clearly aiming, and currently succeeding, to be the best hotel in Helsinki.

What makes The Hotel Maria such a unique and special experience at the moment is the level of service. I am genuinely impressed by how this team is managed. Maria clearly has an ownership or management that prioritizes high-level personal service, something very rare around these parts of the world. I honestly commend them for the effort to staff the hotel at a high density and find and train the talent to execute a great level of service.

The staff is friendly, attentive, courteous, and very professional whilst maintaining a personal connection. During our visit, we had both special requests and a personal celebration, and the staff really went the extra mile to acknowledge and accommodate us. I've seen ultra luxury hotels struggle at less.

The property is built to the highest standard, and even with a basic category room, our room was well-appointed with a separate seating area and a massive bathroom with a bathtub. There are very few rooms per floor so we found it to be very quiet. Construction is still going on during the daytime, and only one of the three buildings with guest rooms are currently open. The location is in central Helsinki but slightly off from the main center in a more quiet but upscale area with some decent restaurants around.

The main amenity of the hotel is the aptly named Maria spa. It’s a luxurious and well-sized hotel spa with a lounge pool, a larger hot-tub, a cold-plunge pool, and both wet and dry saunas. There’s also a striking relax area with a spa-bar built-in under a glass atrium covering the former courtyard.

From my one experience staying here so far, Maria easily outperforms its closest competitors (Kämp or St:George). As such, I’d say it’s a very interesting addition to the Helsinki hotel scene, and I’m excited to see if they can maintain this high level of service and how their competitors will react.

If you’re in Helsinki, the Maria is a must-visit.

For even more details, pictures and information check out my page @mattiasvisitshotels on Instagram.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattiasVisitsHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anniina Pearson, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2024

Dear Aspegrenhotels,

Thank you so much for this glowing review of The Hotel Maria. We are absolutely thrilled to read that your recent experience with us exceeded your expectations.

It is truly heartwarming to receive such high praise for our level of service. We strive to provide personalized and exceptional service to all our guests, and it is rewarding to know that our efforts have left a positive impression on you. We will be sure to share your kind words to our teams on their friendliness, attentiveness and professionalism.

Our spa, Maria Spa, is indeed a highlight of the hotel, and we are glad that you found it luxurious and enjoyable, along with the comfort and tranquility of our well-appointed guest rooms.

We appreciate your excitement about our addition to the Helsinki hotel scene. Rest assured, we are committed to maintaining the high level of service that you experienced and continually striving to exceed expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Maria in the future and providing you with another unforgettable experience.

Warmest regards,
Anniina Pearson
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2024 via mobile

We dined at Hotel Maria Garden Terrace and took a tour of hotel checking some of their rooms. Beautiful old building (officers quarters) renovated to high standard. Service is polite and attentive. Very calm atmosphere. Rooms are different sizes but all high-quality and fine attention to details. Rooms have big beds and toilets (many with bathtub and some with sauna). Downstairs has one fine dining area, bar and. Garden terrace restaurant. They also have nice looking spa. There is an annex of the hotel that is still being built.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JoonasH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anniina Pearson, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Dear JoonasH,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for your kind words about The Hotel Maria. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at our Garden Terrace restaurant and had the opportunity to explore some of our rooms.

Preserving the historical charm of our building while ensuring it meets modern standards is a priority for us, and we are pleased that you appreciated the renovation to a high standard. It is heartening to know that you found our service to be polite and attentive, and that the atmosphere was calm and inviting.

We take great pride in the attention to detail in our rooms and are glad to hear that you found them to be of high quality. It's wonderful to know that our variety of room sizes catered to your needs and that you appreciated the amenities such as big beds, toilets, and the option for a sauna in some rooms.

Thank you for mentioning our dining areas, Bar Maria, Lilja Restaurant, our fine dining restaurant, and of course the Garden Terrace. We are glad you enjoyed the offerings there. Additionally, we're excited about the development of our remaining buildings, which will include our meeting spaces and fitness areas.

Once again, thank you for choosing The Hotel Maria. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable visit.

Warmest regards,
Anniina Pearson
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews