We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Nearby Hotels
GLO Hotel Art(Helsinki)
US$115
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$132
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$171
US$155
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Haven(Helsinki)
US$296
US$223
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$171
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Scandic Paasi(Helsinki)
US$198
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$178
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$142
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kamp(Helsinki)
US$418
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (978)
Filter reviews
978 results
Traveller rating
312
460
166
35
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
460
166
35
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfinnair busrailway stationcity centregreat locationexecutive roomst petersburgairport stopswithin walking distancethe hotel is cleanshort walkhotel breakfastbeds were comfortablebusiness hotelnice breakfastbusiness tripmini barmarket square
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
443 - 448 of 978 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This Hotel is literally just above the Metro station and Train Station.. So incase if you want to move here and there then this is the best hotel. But its little expensive , like may be they charge you for more on the location.. I stayed in this hotel for 2 times, and the view of both the side is same. Its like on one side its Metro station all you can see is Metros and other side city centre and you can see people running to catch the trains.. There are good eating options available near by like MCD , Subway, Some indian, Chinese also...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abhit011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear tuxman_blr,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. It is nice to know that the service provided was at par with standards. I am sorry however that you found the rates we offered to be a bit steep. We take all feedback negative or positive very seriously and your comments will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

I hope the next time you are in the area you give our hotel another try.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Been there on February 2013, the Finair bus stop 30 meters from the hotel whuich is quite important during the freezing winter time. The recepction staff were very polite & helpful, by joining me to the rewards program they provided me free WIFI which was really top important on a business trip. Rooms are nice & modern as well very clean... The room rate looks a little expensive but in general it is a great hotel to stay at

Room Tip: Location always wins, specially on a cold winter day
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KFIRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Location for this property is sound, but unfortunately that is about it.

The Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre is old and depressing. It is in desperate need of a refurbishment. This is one of those hotels where you try to avoid going back to your room. The walls are paper thin, the carpet is bare, and both the rooms and public areas are tired, dated and require a major upgrade.

Sometimes an old, tired hotel can get away with it a little more as the service makes up for it. Unfortunately not here. The service here from the reception team bordered on rudeness. No smiles, no welcome, and no care factor shown at all.

This was a most dissapointing stay and a property I will certainly be avoiding on my future travels.

Room Tip: Hotel best avoided.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieinCHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vehmas, Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear AussieinCHC
Thank you for leaving a review of your visit at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory.

Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. We apologize for any inconvenience the interior of your guest room and the service have caused. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. In order to target better the improvements, we have also send you a personal message to gain more information of your stay.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance in the future to make your stay as best as it can be.

With best regards
Timo Vehmas, Brand Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Holiday inn standard quality. I appreciated the most it's closeness to the train station.
Nothing amazing, but also, nothing bad with it. I liked the sauna very much.
I reccomend it mostly for short stays or business.
The breakfast is tasty and the rooms are standard.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirela_Cj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

An excellent central hotel with easy access to the trains, buses and shopping centre. Airport buses either Finnair or 615 stop just outside. Very well designed spacious rooms with all modern facilities that are extremely comfortable. Far better than the usual Holiday Inn rooms. Free WiFi codes daily from reception if you ask. Lounge areas all very comfortable but bar prices excessive compared to those nearby. Breakfast was also good but plenty of nearby cheaper options available. Staff really helpful but reception frequently had only one person on and so getting advice was sometimes difficult. Suitable for business or tourism stays and one I will return to.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mikem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews