We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This Holiday Inn hotel is located right next to the main train station and the bus station and the airport bus stops right outside the door. It is easy to walk to shops and restaurants and the main sights such as the harbour. There is an ironing board and iron and tea and coffee making facilities. They even had sachets of decaf coffee to my delight. The staff were friendly and helpful. On the down side the rooms really need a refurbishment. The furniture is old and tired and the wooden floors badly scratched from the chairs. The shower is one of those corner units and there was no seal, so that the water leaked all over the floor. They also had those awful shampoo dispensers. They provided you with a Discover Helsinki book, but mine was the 2012 edition. There is no security safe in the room and you have to use the antiquated system of leaving your valuables in a safety deposit box in the luggage room.

Be careful if you decide on room service. I was not told there was a 10 euro charge for this when I rang to place an order. When I checked to see if it was written anywhere, I found it on page 3 of the menu in tiny font in amongst the explanation of which foods were gluten and lactose free. This is sneaky. If you are going to charge, then be upfront about it and state it clearly at the top
of the Room Service menu.

I made 4 bookings at this hotel over a 6 week period. One night breakfast was included , but none of the others were. The nightly rate also varied enormously from $140 to $217 for a standard room with no breakfast. I would advise you to book as far in advance as possible and to include a Friday or Saturday night in your plans. My rate at the weekend was $77 less per night than during the week,

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelbugVietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear TravelbugVietnam,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was unfortunate to see your dissatisfaction with the value of the accommodations. We do appreciate the high marks for Location and Sleep Quality. We strive to be the best at what we do and your feedback is an invaluable part of that process. The reviews that we receive enable us to see where we might improve so that your future stay will be the best ever.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again and if there's anything we can do to make your next stay more pleasant please don't hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Adrian D.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

I've stayed at the Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel in Helsinki a few times now and am well pleased with it. Pity they did not recognize me in the system as a returning guest though... Rooms are decent though not huge. Clean with good beds. Breakfast nothing special but acceptable. Very convenient parking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wecoyoteNescio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

It is a well-located hotel. It is next to train station and main bus terminal. Airport bus is just in front of the hotel. It is also located in city centre and within walking distance from port and various tourist spots.
Hotel staff was very nice.
This hotel also offers rich breakfast.

Room Tip: more suitable for business traveller
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KF_Hongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed here for one night because I had to catch an early train in the next morning. I chose here as it is located right next to Helsinki central railway station. The location was perfect as one can walk to the city area easily. Shops and malls were nearby.

I went there before check in time, so they allowed me to keep my luggage in the storage room.

Room was rather simple. No slippers provided. There were no toiletries prepared in the bathroom, if you need them, you have to call the receptionist and ask for it, which I think it was not convenient. Most of the thing was fine except the free wifi service. Only priority club members can enjoy the free wifi service. The receptionist told me that I can use free Internet in the room by connecting my laptop to the cable provided. But too bad, I was using smartphone at that time, so I was a little disappointed.

If you are not particular about the location, can try other hotels that are nearby too!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lululohxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This is a very nice hotel near restaurants, the train station, and the casino. And the price much lower than nearby chain hotels. They've made several minor upgrades since my last visit, all of which I appreciated: a 120v plug in the bathroom for a razor meaning I don't have to use my one power converter to charge my razor, wireless keycards so no messing around with tempermental door locks, and a small bar of soap in the bathroom (somewhat rare in the European hotels I've stayed at - all use liquid soap). Despite the bus terminal being right outside, the noise isn't bad. And their breakfast buffet, included for all guests, is excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larryd6578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Right next to the train station and tram stops, so very convenient. But soulless and no character. Great for business trips and families perhaps. Wireless is not free, but sign up for the rewards program and it is - even then, the reception is not that good; I had to go out into the corridor to get a signal.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsquirrel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Dear travelsquirrel9,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed our location. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for the challenges you encountered with the internet service. We are working hard to improve our product and would love for you to give us an opportunity to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This Hotel is literally just above the Metro station and Train Station.. So incase if you want to move here and there then this is the best hotel. But its little expensive , like may be they charge you for more on the location.. I stayed in this hotel for 2 times, and the view of both the side is same. Its like on one side its Metro station all you can see is Metros and other side city centre and you can see people running to catch the trains.. There are good eating options available near by like MCD , Subway, Some indian, Chinese also...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abhit011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear tuxman_blr,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. It is nice to know that the service provided was at par with standards. I am sorry however that you found the rates we offered to be a bit steep. We take all feedback negative or positive very seriously and your comments will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

I hope the next time you are in the area you give our hotel another try.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,230 reviews
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: £89 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Helsinki at the refurbished Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Enjoy excellent location & transport links at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Check in to your refreshed, Scandinavian-style guest room, overlooking Finlandia Hall or bustling Eliel Square. Our stylish & comfortable open lobby invites you to linger - a completely new area where you can relax & really make yourself at home during your stay with us. Connect your laptop to free Wi-Fi or use our E-Bar & catch up with your friends or meet your colleagues at the lounge. Eating, drinking, socialising - there are so many ways you can use the space day & night. Convenient Finnair shuttle service runs to & from Helsinki Airport next to the Central Railway Station. The Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Centre is just five minutes away by train & the new Helsinki Music Centre and a verdant Töölönlahti Bay is just a short walk from the hotel. The shops, stores - including the iconic Stockmann and sights of Helsinki are also within strolling distance. Start your day with our fantastic breakfast buffet with a range of delicious options. The all-day dining menu packed with much-loved favorites, you can enjoy anywhere & anytime. Our To Go Café serves Segafredo coffee plus snacks 24-hours seven days a week. And of course in this family-friendly Helsinki hotel, kids eat free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing