We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Helsinki business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stayed 3 nights on business. Good room, very good sound insulation, decent bathroom. Breakfast a nice buffet also. Decent small gym in the basement. The key card system has finally been upgraded to a proximity swipe type one, works similarly in the lifts too. Well done for that improvement. Very convenient location by the main Helsinki railway station.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeenaSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

I loved the location of this hotel. It was steps from the Finnair bus stop to and from the airport, which was great for us. We stayed in Helsinki a night and then flew to Ivalo the next day. Then two days later we came back to Helsinki for a night before flying home. So in 4 days we made 4 trips to and from the airport. Being right at the bus stop was nice. We were so tired that even an extra block would have been too much.

Check-in was easy. Customer service was excellent. The Wi-Fi was nice and quick. The room was comfy and was a good size. We had a front room on both stays and the noise didn't bother us at all.

The only mistake was I paid in advance for the discount and paid for breakfast the two mornings we were there and then we didn't actually get breakfast. One morning we left before the breakfast started and the other day we slept in to catch up on our sleep. So lesson learned for me not to pay in advance for breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveshak22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Arrived here from St. Petersburg by Allegro train at 830am, literally one-minute from the train station. And 30 seconds walk to Airport Bus Stop. 3-minute walk to the mall and 10-minute walk to the quay. Great location.

Reasoned with the staff that I will be checking out by 530am next day, and showed my IHG Platinum card, was told to store bags for 1 hour, and granted early-check in at 930am. Free glass of house wine and chips at the bar is standard for IHG Platinum guests. Good service.

The rooms were nicely decorated and clean but the heating was not strong, and the room got quite chilly in the middle of the night. Also the firm pillows felt the same as the soft pillows. Not quite sure how long the firm pillows have been used.

Staff noticed my rate excluded breakfast and tried to sell me the buffet breakfast, I reminded her again I will be checking out by 530am. Maybe she is busy and has too many things on her mind.

One concern: Luggage room is pretty much self-service by remote unlock, and I am not sure if other tourists could have helped themselves to my bags.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Absolutely zero surprises here, everything as expected. Being situated almost in the central railway and bus station, the location is as central as you can get it. You can get to most Helsinki points of interest by foot. Noise insulation was good, so no worries losing sleep. Rooms clean, nice and large enough. Staff friendly (not that we were demanding anything special). Good value for our weekend stay. Breakfast was reasonably extra, one notch above average.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights at the start of December.

I had booked an executive room as they looked great on the website. The one I got looking nothing like it did on the website. The website pictures make the room look light and airy with Scandinavian black furniture and light curtains. The one I got had brown polished furniture and dark curtains.

The staff on reception were friendly enough and there was a great guy on the bar who was helpful, chatty and provided a good tip on trying the Christmas beer (which was great). I tried the restaurant one night and was very impressed. Some great food and nice staff.

The only annoying thing is the bar opening hours. It doesn't open til 4.30pm and then shuts just after 10pm. Worse still, it's not even open on Sundays! I thought that all Holiday Inn hotels were supposed to be full service - this one isn't. If you want a drink on Sunday, you either have to raid the mini-bar or go out in the freezing cold and get yourself to a bar.

It's an ok hotel. The location is great but I'd consider staying at the Crowne Plaza next time - it's about a ten minute walk away.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear traveller198526,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. I am particularly appreciative that you found our staff great and hotel location convenient for your activities. I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered with the schedule of our hotel bar during your travel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and hope that you give our hotel another chance when you stop back through Helsinki.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

One of the most centrally located hotels in Helsinki. Hotel is located on the main railway station and next to the central bus stop where you can take the shuttle to the airport. Walking distance from most of the attractions and night spots. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Buffet breakfast is also good with a wide variety, but is repeated everyday. Notwithstanding, there are many eating joints around the hotel and as such food is not a problem. Staff are helpful. I was in a corner room on the 7th floor and it had reasonable good view of downtown. Most of the big department stores are less than 500 mts walk from the hotel. Highly recommended for stay in Helsinki,

Room Tip: Take the corner rooms, which are bigger and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AChitnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Position was great because we came by train and had to hurry to theatre! Taxis at the frontdoor was nice, and busstation also! Luggageroom served us well too! Breakfast was good and there certainly was something to everyone!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Liisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
1,193 reviews
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#5 of 64 in Helsinki
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: £101 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Helsinki at the refurbished Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Enjoy excellent location & transport links at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Check in to your refreshed, Scandinavian-style guest room, overlooking Finlandia Hall or bustling Eliel Square. Our stylish & comfortable open lobby invites you to linger - a completely new area where you can relax & really make yourself at home during your stay with us. Connect your laptop to free Wi-Fi or use our E-Bar & catch up with your friends or meet your colleagues at the lounge. Eating, drinking, socialising - there are so many ways you can use the space day & night. Convenient Finnair shuttle service runs to & from Helsinki Airport next to the Central Railway Station. The Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Centre is just five minutes away by train & the new Helsinki Music Centre and a verdant Töölönlahti Bay is just a short walk from the hotel. The shops, stores - including the iconic Stockmann and sights of Helsinki are also within strolling distance. Start your day with our fantastic breakfast buffet with a range of delicious options. The all-day dining menu packed with much-loved favorites, you can enjoy anywhere & anytime. Our To Go Café serves Segafredo coffee plus snacks 24-hours seven days a week. And of course in this family-friendly Helsinki hotel, kids eat free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing