We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great falafel”
Review of Fafa's

Fafa's
Ranked #68 of 1,526 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great falafel”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

One of the cheapest ways to eat through Europe is via falafel. While the price of one at fafa's is a bit more than your street side vendor, you get way you pay for. It was excellent (definitely get the chili sauce) and quick. Perfect to take away to a nearby park and enjoy. There's a few locations around Helsinki so it won't be hard to find.

Helpful?
1 Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    64
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent Falfel's.. great service”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Amazing tasting falfel's and reasonable as well, lot of vegetarian options. Everything can be customized as per you. The staff is very friendly and the place has a very good vibe to it.

Would definitely recommend to everyone and would visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AshishPorwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Falafel!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great falafel, good service and they have outside tables, if you don't mind sharing with the birds. We eat there every time we're in Helsinki.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelling Aussies
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Went back for seconds”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Felafel is a mainstay of our diet. We make our own and we seek out good restaurants that make it. So you could say, we love it. So of course after reading so many good reviews, we had to try Fafa's when we were in Helsinki. WOW! This place was awesome. So awesome that we went back twice within a day for seconds.

We had the felafel pita (one plain and one with haloumi). It was truly delicious and we would recommend you give this place a go. we went to Fafa's Iso Roba on Iso Roobertinkatu.

Staff spoke very good English. On our first visit they were super friendly, but we did notice that on the second visit that the woman on the counter was a bit short with people (she was fine with us). She seemed a bit "over it". But I guess you would be like that too when you have people come and ask you "what is felafel - which kind you recommend" at a felafel joint.

Don't be put off by the loud music or hipsterish vibe, it has great food. It is hard to score a seat, but the customers seem to come in waves, so you do get a chance to sit down if you really want to. Be ready for the death stares of other customers who want your seat though. Just stare back and smile, because you are enjoying such a delicious meal.

We wish we were back in Helsinki now, just so we could go back and get some more!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A take way place”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Ideal for a quick bite. We came back from a trip to the Suomelinna and this was not very far.

We had falafel and the sabich. The falafel was excellent, probably comparable to what I had in Israel. Sabich -- not so much.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chandan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fafa's also viewed

 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Fafa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing