We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre sushi by global standards”
Review of Miyako Mama's Sushi Bar - CLOSED

Miyako Mama's Sushi Bar
Cuisines: Japanese
Description: Www.mamasfood.fi
Restaurant details
Description: Www.mamasfood.fi
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mediocre sushi by global standards”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Not eaten sushi anywhere else in Helsinki, so this may be good by Helsinki standards as other reviewers mention. However, by global/NYC standards, this was mediocre. Fish was generally fresh, but mostly bland. Many of the rolls have cream cheese in them which we found off-putting. Would not return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick-in-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Tempura in town so far”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

You can see that there are more sushi bars in Helsinki than ever before. However, the quality of what you get is not always what it should be. There was a rumour among my friends that Miyako in Helsinki City is great. Today we tried it out, my wife an I, and the food was, ah, so good. We had a lot of stuff, and I recommend the Tempuras. Miyako is my japanese choise in my home town this summer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomas Tumppi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of the best sushi restaurant in Helsinki”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

After many tries, finally a sushi place with guts. I've found tons of great sushi places across the planet but i've always been disappointed with my home base.
But this place is awesome. Lots of nice rolls, especially. The nigiri are good, nothing outstanding, just good. The rolls are great.
Get a roll.
:)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

First time eating sushi, we went alongside our three children. We took a set and everything was so fresh! Owner advised us on what to take for the kids, which they really liked. We will definitely visit again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandineHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect sushi!”
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

This restaurant serve very fresh and delicious sushi. The location is also very convenient. We are definately going to eat there again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ContentGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miyako Mama's Sushi Bar also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing