We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food paired with very friendly and good service”
Review of Pure Bistro - CLOSED

Pure Bistro
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: PureBistro is a modern bistro and bar that prepares uncomplicated but modern bistro food by hand. They guarantee taste and freshness of the raw ingredients
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food paired with very friendly and good service”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My fiancé and I went there on a Friday evening. We both chose the three-course menu and we didn't get disappointed! My lamb kofta was just excellent and my fiancé enjoyed her lobster with cauliflower a lot! As a main course we had the entrecôte (special of the day) and the deer. Both dishes were really tasty. There were only two deserts on the menu so easy choice - small portion but good quality. I can recommend visiting this lovely place. Even if it isn't exactly cheap. But the quality of the food and the service is worth visiting Pure Bistro.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wag74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    27
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“hmmmm.....”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Went for Sunday dinner. We started of with a nice selection of tapas and a glass of cava. After the tapas we moved on to enjoy the 3course menu. The starter lamb kofta was absolutely delicious and the wine pairing worked perfectly. Then cam the biggest disappointment of the evening. We had decided to have deer with dashi, dried tuna, parsnip and lingonberries. The main course was was very tiny, the deer was overcooked and tasted like liver and the meat was a bit tough, the wine pairing was not satisfactory as it crumbled under the the livery flavor of the overcooked meat. It is sad to say that the best part of the main course was the parsnip. The dessert however lifted the menu I had the Almond, Almond, Almond which looked plain but was packed with flavor, and the nicely selected not so sweet tokaji complimented the almonds perfectly. The service was friendly enough but could have been better. The Bistro laked in atmosphere since the waiters refused to smile and there was no music playing during the evening. Paying 45€ for 3 courses plus 24€ for the wines you should be able to expect a bit more than we got. Overall a slight disappointment.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YarrSheBlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We went fir dinner on a sunday night when very little is open in Helsinki
It was full with locals and the mood was lively and warm
The food though was not satisfactory. The selections were too few and too weird, the portions tiny and the risotto with pumpkin and the bread were extremely salty

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely bistro, great food & service!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I booked a table in this restaurant for 14 persons to celebrate my partner's 30th birthday. Only one of us had been there before, so it was a new experience for almost all of us. I'm very happy to say we all liked it a lot; everyone said their dishes were extremely good, and we all felt the service was efforless, professional and relaxed. I myself had the confit pulpo & ink mayo for starters, the daily special (Charolais beef) for mains and chocolate-beetroot cake for dessert. A few of us had mains from the list (pumpkin risotto and Iberico pork cheek) and apparently these were quite good, too. Highly recommend visiting this small bistro, we definitely got our money's worth with the 3 course menu at 45 €.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinsoyfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food in relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Nice small bistro type restaurant with excellent food made from well chosen fresh ingredients. A short menu might make you stay away but if you go for one of the dishes you won't be disappointed, very good quality!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank family_corsblad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pure Bistro also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing