We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #28 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel did not meet our expectations. Whilst staff were great, the room was very strange. Our actual room was well equipped and the beds were very comfy but the bathroom was something you'd expect to find in a Greek self catering apartment. It was very basic with black mildew in the grout of the tiles and the bath was scratched with some brown staining. This is not what we'd expect in a 4 star hotel. Breakfast wasn't great and lacked the options we'd found at other hotels during our trip round Scandinavia. There's some nice bars and restaurants in the area but I wouldn't return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meltyourheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear user meltyourheart,

Thank you for reviewing the Radisson Blu Seaside hotel. We are delighted to hear you were happy with the service and the room equipment. I would like to apologize that the bathroom was lacking in cleanliness. The housekeeping management is reading these reviews as well so they will take appropriate actions concerning the cleaning.

On behalf of the entire staff, I would like to thank you for choosing Seaside hotel for your stay and hope you had a good time during your Helsinki visit. Have a great summer!

With best regards,
Mari Suhonen
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    753
    399
    112
    44
See reviews for
301
496
156
509
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Good breakfast and nice location, but there was some uncomfortable smell in the room ( as well as in many other rooms as we found out later). No air conditioning). Not all rooms have windows that can be opened. We tried to take bikes but we were told to check if there's a key in a bike, because they don't know where it is. It also turned out that only first three hours of bike rent were free. Room furniture is old and everything has lots of scratches. The room is far from being cozy. And Viola restaurant deserves a special mention. Salmon soup was ok, although nothing special, but the seaside pizza was as terrible as it could be, it was absolutely impossible to eat.

Helpful?
Thank Жанна С
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Recepti0n, Serivice Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear user Жанна С,

Thank you for your feedback. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and liked the location of the hotel. However I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay and apologize for the inconveniences faced. The time limit of 3 hours for the bikes has been set to ensure that as many guests as possible who are interested in borrowing the bikes could enjoy this service.

I hope you enjoyed your visit in Helsinki and that we would get the chance of welcoming back you also to Radisson Blu Seaside in the future. Have a lovely summer time!

Sincerely,
Mari Suhonen
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Checked in today (08.07.2014). After checking in found Hotel do not have Air-conditioning. Room temperature very high and was unbearable. Requested for fan and was told by front desk staff that they can provide only one fan. When confronted as we were having separate child bed were provided with two fans.

Room safe not working and was informed that cannot be repaired as no staff available. Was asked to keep valuables in locker near reception.

Found toilet flush not working. Complained no one attended. The worst hotel I have stayed in Europe.

Avoid booking and staying in the hotel. Better options are available in Helsinki. Third rated hotel with third rated staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiplabSaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear user BiplabSaha,

Thank you for giving us feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not go well at all and we did not succeed in attending to your needs. The issues mentioned have been brought to our management’s attention and the front desk personnel have been notified about your feedback as well.

I sincerely apologize on behalf of our entire staff for all the unpleasantness you faced. I would like to wish you and your family a lovely summer time!

With kind regards,
Mari Suhonen
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Nice comfortable business / tourist hotel overlooking the harbour and around 5 minutes via tram to the centre or 14 minute walk.

Helpful staff and good breakfast - very clean and whilst my room was a little on the small side it was all very comfortable and convenient - wi fi included as well - Would recommend it

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ichdien000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Antony100,

a good feedback is always the best reward for the job well done, especially when we get it from an experienced traveller like you! So on behalf of our whole staff I would like to thank you and also wish you a very nice summer!

I hope we'll see you here again, when your travels bring you back to Helsinki!

Best Regards

Jani Liljavirta
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We booked this back in january as a standard room and then I received an Email saying book business class and save 20% so duly upgraded for a few Euros per night. This was so worth it as the room was at the very front overlooking the harbour and had a separate bedroom and living area. The mattresses and sleep quality were good.

We arrived from the Silja ferry at about 11am on the Tuesday and were rather hoping we could leave our bags - even better the room was ready so we moved straight in. The hotel is conveniently located for the number 6 tram that takes you into town in a few minutes (and on to Arabia if you like their designs and want to get things at outlet prices!) - we purchased a 3 day tram pass for 16 Euros which was great value rather than buying the Helsinki card as we prefer to do our own thing and a visit couple of attractions well rather than rush to get value from a card such as the Helsinki card.

We ate in the restaurant and on the first night this was very good but on the second night it was a bit slow and the food a bit cool. Unlike many hotel restaurants this place does have a bit of atmosphere and does get busy.

Breakfast is in another room - a large buffet which was well topped up but no special order items such as fried eggs or omelettes which is a shame but the room does handle a lot of people very well.

Overall the staff were lovely and the hotel was great for the price - it does get very busy in the summer with tours so it pays to book in advance.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear user NigelG2000,

We appreciate you taking the time and writing us such a nice and extensive review. Thank you for the top ratings too!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were happy with your Business Class room along with the service at the hotel. Great that you also visited our Restaurant Viola and enjoyed the food, however I apologize for the second night’s mishaps. Viola has some nice hustle and bustle especially now as we have our renewed Helsinki inspired menu and one of the sunniest terraces of the city.

There are many alternatives for the Helsinki visitors to explore the city and I am happy to see you had found the best option for you and taken advantage of the 3-day tram pass.

We hope to get to see you again here at the Radisson Blu Seaside hotel when your travels bring you to the area. Have a lovely summer time!

With kind regards,
Mari Suhonen
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. As a result of a snafu with my reservation via booking.com, I was upgraded from a family to a superior room at no extra charge. Breakfast was excellent.

While it may seem a bit out of the way, the no. 6 tram stops in front of the hotel, and it takes less than 5 minutes to reach the center. Walking will take 15 minutes at a leisurely pace.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dberis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear dberis,

I would like to thank you for your kind and valuable review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and that your stay with us was pleasant. I am also glad that we were able to solve the misunderstanding with your reservation by upgrading you in to our Superior class.

I would like to wish you a lovely summer and I hope that we'll see you here again, when your travels bring you back to Helsinki.

Best Regards

Jani Liljavirta
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here by myself at the end of June for 3 nights.
I had booked a standard room, but when I arrived, they had overbooked and there were no standard rooms left. Although this was annoying, it worked to my advantage as I got an upgrade to a superior room, for a very reasonable price.
The room was clean, big, had a French balcony and was very quiet.
It was on the 5th floor.
The staff that checked me in (I think her name was Annika) was very pleasant, friendly and helpful.
The hotel itself is about a 15minute walk from the city centre (it's a nice walk), or you can catch the number 6 tram that is directly outside the hotel and takes you about 5minutes to get to the city Central station.
Breakfast was really good! It's available from 6am - 11am, and there's a very big selection.
I also had dinner in the hotel restaurant and the food was pretty good, although a little expensive.
The hotel also has a sauna, which is pretty cool - however, I didn't really have the time to use it and it opens from 5pm.
There's also a supermarket literally around the corner from the hotel.
Overall, I really enjoyed my stay here.
The price is amazing for the service and quality you get!
It's about a 30minute drive from the airport to the hotel.
You can get an airport taxi from the airport to the hotel for a flat rate of 29.50 euro, which is pretty good considering if you were to get a normal taxi from the airport it would cost you around 40 - 50 euro.
Helsinki is a beautiful city!
Thanks for the pleasant stay, Seaside hotel!
I'll definitely be staying here again when I'm ever in Helsinki again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lanananaetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear user Lanananaetc,

thank you for your kind review. I am happy that you enjoyed our Superior room, Super Breakfast and that your stay overall was pleasant and enjoyable. Also, it is always nice to hear good feedback about our staff and I will forward your greetings to Annika too!

We are looking forward to have you here again, when you return to Helsinki. Have a nice summer!

Best Regards

Jani Liljavirta
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
#35 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#19 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#18 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki

Property: Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
Address: Ruoholahdenranta 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#27 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing