We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helsinki Horror”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Helsinki Horror”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Would check out of here immediately if I hadn't pre-paid for three nights. Thu 16th August our floor was full of drunk and extremely noisy Germans and only got to sleep at 5am. Phoned reception twice only to be met with apathetic disinterest. Asked for room re-allocation and got the same response. German tourists are still here (17 August). Will see what the night brings. Awful breakfast-had to clear previous guests' plates and clean own table. Floors in commom area are filthy. Shoes stick to the floor, especially in the elevator. Mean with towels, aircon hardly works, staff don't care. Extremely disappointing.

Room Tip: Check whether drunk Germans are in town before booking this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vehmas, Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Chris G,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write us a review. I am deeply sorry for the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us.

There was severe problems and harm caused by this one group. Our staff could have been stricter with the group, even though one of the most troublesome person was removed from the hotel. The General Manager and her front desk team have now gone through the service procedures and the actions needed, if similar kind of situation occurs in the future.

I have been told that our front desk manager has met you and discussed about this incident at the hotel. I also understood that she was able to resolve the matter with you. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel management directly (helsinki.hihw@restel.fi) if you have any further questions.

I sincerely hope that you haven't lost your trust in Holiday Inn and hope you would give us another chance in the future to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincelery Yours
Timo Vehmas
Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    246
    97
    17
    10
See reviews for
46
121
54
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The hotel is in Roullahati. You can commute from Airport to taxi. Bus + metro(only if you know the place). Very few people is aware of the location. Near metor station and mcdonald. Food is expensive. Breakfast is good and has vairety. Taxis available for drops. Rooms have all modern facilities. You need to carry all-country compatible charger. Wifi is free but nobody is there to set it up. So I cud not use it. House keeping is fast but very few understands english.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SankhaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This was my 15th stay at the hotel, yet the first time I booked an Executive Class-room for two nights.

Rooms: The Executive Class room had no difference to the Standard Class room that has always been great quality at the Holiday Inn. Compared to several other Helsinki hotels, The rooms are not very roomy but 2 persons will fit in just fine. The furniture is modern and comfortable. Interestingly, I found that the Executive Class room wasn't as clean as Standard Class. This maybe due to the reason Standard rooms are constantly in use (and cleaned) where as the Executive Floor (9th) seemed very empty.

Location: Situated at Ruoholahti, there's a 20 min walk (about 3 km / 2 miles) to the centre. The surroundings seem dull but if you take a short walk you bump into very nice views to the sea. The range of venues in the vincinity of the hotel is adequate: Two very well equipped supermarkets, some smaller shops, a couple of ethnic (asian) restaurants, 1 nice pub. For everything else, you have to walk some or use the public transport.

For the visitors I recommend a 24-/48-/72-hour public transport ticket as the site seems to have become some kind of a mini hub for the Helsinki area public transport: There ticket for several days is relatively cheap and there's a connection to the centre about every 5 minutes by bus (100 m from the hotel), every 7 minutes by subway (200 m from the hotel) and every 10 minutes by tramway (200 m from the hotel).

Breakfast: Breakfast is certainly something I'm always very fond of at a Holiday Inn. This hotel makes no exception. The range of food, coffee and juice is wide, the food is fresh and nicely served. You won't be disappointed.

On the whole, the stay offered no surprises whatsoever. The hotel was (for the 15th time) as good as expected. However, in case I need something to make me feel positively surprised this is not the hotel I will opt for.

Room Tip: Choosing "Executive Class" is of no use. Standard rooms have exactly the some dimensions a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We just had our second weekend holiday at Holiday Inn Ruoholahti and our stay was just as good as first time around on 2010.

The hotel is overall clean and in pretty good condition. Rooms are cleaned well and service both at reception and the restaurant is very good. We had requested a room with double bed and indeed we did get it. They also managed to suprise us at check-in and gave us a room on the 8th floor with an ocean view, extremely nice!

The standard room is not too big, but there's enough room for two people. There's also an armchair and a small desk to get your work done. You can leave your valuables in the free in-room safe.

Breakfast was great, very good selection of food, bacon, eggs, beans, bread, cheeses and hams, cereal etc.

On the downside I have to mention the pillows in our room. They were a bit lumpy allready and should be changed soon. Also parking in the hotel is pretty expensive, 20 euros/day, but you do get a locked and CCTV-monitored inside parking. Also the hotel is easily reachable with car, which is the main reason we like to stay at this hotel while visiting the capital.

The hotel is around 200 m from the nearest Metro-station, which is the end-of-line station Ruoholahti. It's just a few minutes from the central railway station and Kamppi.

Room Tip: There's rooms with double and 2x single beds, make sure to request your preference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjn000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Its a good standard Holiday Inn hotel, nothing special, everything in order.

Excellent breakfast, quite helpfull evening shift staff, unfortunately she did everything by herself

So its a very standart hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregorius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingoer, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Have just spent 2 nights at Holiday Inn in Helsinki. Reading other reviews, I was happy to find that the hotel fully lived up to my expectations. Not quite sure what other visitors expects...

The rooms are spotlessly clean. Yes they are not new (as noted in other reviews) but in no way worn down. Bathroom also nice and clean. There are no luxury articles in the bathroom - only soap and shampoo. The AC worked well and was quiet. The bed was nice and soft with two different types of pillows to chose from.

The mini-gym is quite well equipped and worked fine for me.

The first night I had a meal i the restaurant where I was the only guest. Only downside was that I had to go to the reception to get service - the staff was chatting in the kitchen.... I had a curry dish which was good and at a price of 19,80 EUR reasonably priced.

The location of the hotel is quite bad if you do not have business in this area. However it is only a 3 min walk to the metro - costs 2,20 to get into the city center.

Will certainly be returning next time I have business in this area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank henrik_winther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This hotel was not centrally located and what was around it closed early. Luckily, there was a metro station very close by. Kamppi Square was 2 stops away, perfect for an evening get away. This aside, The staff was helpful and spoke and understood English very well. The breakfast was good and had a lot of choices. The WiFi was powerful and allowed me to connect to a VPN in the states with no issues.

Rooms were small but nice and offered good comfort. Decent food and drink choices for the evening as well.

Room Tip: Rooms on rear of building face the bay. Much nicer than looking at a commercial building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bsnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#19 of 65 in Helsinki
589 reviews
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#20 of 65 in Helsinki
2,131 reviews
Hotel Haaga Central Park
#35 of 65 in Helsinki
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti

Property: Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti
Address: Sulhasenkuja 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#25 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Helsinki West hotel is located in the fast growing business district of Ruoholahti, only few minutes away from the Helsinki city center and only 30 minutes drive from Helsinki Airport. Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti is a high-standard business and leisure hotel offering 256 well equipped rooms. All our rooms are equipped with free highspeed internet (ADSL) and WiFi access, safety deposit box, hospitality tray and ironing equipment. Our hotel offers Executive Rooms on the 9th floor with nice view over Helsinki, the capital of Finland. In Executive rooms there is a free high speed internet and WiFi and also selected items from minibar are free of charge. Restaurant Fokka, located on the ground floor, serves a wide range of Finnish and International cuisine. You can finish the evening with a glass of wine in our cozy lobby bar. 24-hour Business Centre with complimentary internet connection is available for our guest. Hotel guests can also enjoy free fitness facilities and Finnish Sauna! Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti hotel is only a few minutes away from the Tallin cruise ships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, IHG, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City West Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing