We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place downtown Helsinki” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Klaus K Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Klaus K Hotel
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
munich
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place downtown Helsinki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I had the pleasure to stay in this hotel this time I went to Helsinki for business. Much nicer than the other Helsinki hotels I stayed at before. Nice modern room with comfortable large bed, quiet (I had a room to the backyard). Breakfast was really good, they even served smoothies. Lot's of retaurants and shops nearby. Next time I'm back for business I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keklenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    526
    151
    44
    16
See reviews for
90
459
118
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

After a week of business travel it was so nice to experience such a relaxing and comfortable hotel. The location to all attractions in downtown Helsinki was perfect. I wasn't sure what to expect as I booked on line, but this facility beat all expectations.

The hotel is chic and very modern, the staff are very helpful and friendly. The room was nice, spacious and bright, large windows for lots of natural light. The bed and pillows were comfy and the shower was strong and refreshing.

For dining I highly recommend Toscanini trattoria. The food is wonderful...a little taste of Italy in the heart of Helsinki.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside of the hotel are quieter for a more restful sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

I enjoyed my stay in Klaus K. Firstly, it has perfect location in the middle of the city. The decor of the hotel is different to basic chain hotels. Our room Envy King on the fifth floor, was a good size room with windows facing the Boulevard street. However, sounds from the street did not bother us. I slept extremely well. The Unikulma pillow was amazing.
I have nothing bad to say about the breakfast. I enjoyed it very much! Fresh and delicious organic food, yummy.
The staff worked well, they were helpful and nice.
If the hotel management would like to give the hotel a small face lift, I would suggest to paint the walls and change the doors, they are quite worn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We truly loved this hotel. It is just a short walk from the main train station in Helsinki and conveniently very close to shops, museums, restaurants and bars.
The staff are absolutely lovely and welcoming! Our room was spacious, modern, very well appointed and quiet. We did not hear any noise from the very busy Italian restaurant on the ground floor.
We also enjoyed our breakfast every morning and, differently from the review we have just read, we thought it was perfect: the right combination of continental and cooked breakfast! When back in Helsinki, we shall stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
237 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed here, luckily, for one night only. The staff is not particularly helpful or welcoming. The receptionist hardly looked at me, the bartender in The Living Room was obviously new and was thinking that being cool is more important than tending to customers.

The gym is, honestly, ridiculous for a hotel of this size (136 rooms I belief). Only 4 cardio machines! (and a few for weights) Cardio not to be used by persons taller than 1m85, the ceiling is very low, or if you are claustrophobic. The hotel has no free sauna for guests, makes it special in Finland!
The mini room is very small but OK for a night, the mattress is very good (pillows less so). The plinths are too angular for such confined space, hurt my ankles twice. WiFi OK.

But the worst part was the breakfast: unacceptable. I realize it must be the busiest time at Saturday morning at 9:45, but I never encountered a mess like this. No cutlery, no jam, no cups, and long lines everywhere of disgruntled people: there was no place to actually sit! When I managed to get a plate with a slice of bread after 10 minutes of queuing, there was no chair or sofa available, and like me there were other people desperately looking for a place to sit. There was a real big table available for 6 persons but it had signs on it that it was reserved. Several people asked if they could sit there anyway, but were rebuked by the overstressed staff. And then this loud lounge music... I decided to leave, and went around the corner of the street to a quiet coffee place to escape the madness. Can't belief I had to pay this much money for such experience!

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraGenevaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear BarbaraNairobi, I am so very sorry for the experience you had last weekend. I was made aware by my team that we made several mistakes and were not able to meet the demand that we faced. It was higher demand than what we expected. I am not making excuses and I take full responsibility for what happened. I would appreciate it if you could contact me so I could make some reconciliation. I truly apologize. We are normally executing our breakfast very well as you may see in previous TA submittals. Sincerely, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Have had great success with other Leading Design Hotels elsewhere in the world and wasn't disappointed by my experience with the Klaus K in Helsinki. Great staff that was very helpful with locations and put up with my bad attempts to speak Finnish by just speaking perfect English. Stayed in the Envy Plus located in the front (A rooms) and although the tram and street were below, was very quite quiet for a city center location. Breakfast was good but very crowded (had to eat in the bar) but was a good launching pad for exploring the city. The location, however, was perfect in the design district with multiple restaurant and bar options around the corner. Compared to the hotels around the train station, the restaurant and bar options in the design district area are a much better deal, small boutique restaurants with good food and non-chain selections. Overall all a solid experience and one I hope to come back too again soon, would definitively recommend.

Room Tip: Light is better in the A rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 757WindyCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Nicely designed boutique hotel well located in the center of Helsinki's design district. We walked everywhere using the hotel as our base.

Staff was helpful and responsive. Room was slightly on the small side.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuitNflipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Hotel Haven
#7 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klaus K Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klaus K Hotel

Property: Klaus K Hotel
Address: Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Klaus K Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 171 rooms including 30 Skylofts (of which 3 suites), 3 art rooms are provided with state-of-the-art equipment ranging from custom made beds and mattresses to laptop size safe to oversized robe and towels to LED television to free wireless high speed internet. Room categories playfully range from Mystical to Passion to Desire to Envy to Sky Lofts, all describing the emotions that are depicted from the mythical Finnish literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotelopia and Agoda so you can book your Klaus K Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klaus k Helsinki
Hotel Klaus k

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing