We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in the centre of the city, excellent quality breakfast”
Review of Klaus K Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Klaus K Hotel
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in the centre of the city, excellent quality breakfast”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed here in January 2014 with my boyfriend after a visit to Lapland. We were most impressed with the welcome we received after arriving at 8am to drop our luggage (we arrived on an early flight), we were allowed to check in and have breakfast. We really appreciated this given that we were pretty tired and checked out early the next day and would have otherwise missed the fabulous breakfast on offer!

The hotel is well designed and our room at least was really spacious, with good information about the city, nice toiletries, robes, etc. There is also a small shop and some artwork on display in the lobby.

The only negatives were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and my boyfriend said the music from a bar woke him up in the early hours (I slept through it though!).

The location of the hotel is great, a 10 minute walk from the train station, right in the restaurant district and just a few minutes from the design shops / cafes. The Italian restaurant next to the hotel looked lovely - we would have eaten there, but wanted to go somewhere serving Finnish food on our last night.

Finally, just to mention again the breakfast - everything was really fresh (smoked trout, rare roast beef, ham, a selection of cheeses and breads, brownies / cheesecake were my favourites - it looked so good i had to try a small amount of each!)

I'd definitely stay here again if returning to Helsinki.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lfclou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeroThynell, Manager at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Lfclou,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to read that you and your boyfriend did enjoy your (short) visit to Klaus K. With regards to coffee/tea facilities. We do have those available, but not placed in the rooms. It's a shame that you did not ask for those. We could have made your stay even better. I wish that we can welcome you back. Helsinki is a great city during summer months. Full of life and energy! Long, light nights and normally beautiful weather.

Kind regards,
Tero Thynell, Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    558
    161
    49
    19
See reviews for
99
492
128
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

stayed here last week, service is superb and bedroom furnished really well. Its a really cool chic place and full or vibe and energy. Just a few things - breakfast in the morning was a bit disorientating, you one to tell you where to sit, what food is on offer and how to get the food, just needs some direct in the morning. There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room which is a shame and I got a cheaper rate by booking on otels even though the website says it guarantees best rate. However overall I would stay here again definitely. Helsinki is a really expensive place so keep this in mind, also bowl of soup in the hotel is 11 euro so this gives you an idea of how expensive the city is.

Room Tip: try the 3rd party website to get a cheaper rate than the hotels website, also no spare duvets in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeroThynell, Manager at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Noel77,
thank you very much for taking the time and posting a review. I am sorry to hear that we have confused you with our breakfast arrangement. We have learned that our guests rather choose their own seating at breakfast times, that's why our team members are not pointing the seats. There is a breakfast menus on the tables, but it seems that for some reason you were not presented with one. Regarding the rates we really do offer best rates through our own website. I will need to investigate how it has been possible to book at the lower rate through a third party site. In the future, if you find a lower rate somewhere else than our own website, please let us know and we will at least match that.
I wish that I can welcome you back soon.
Sincerely,
Tero Thynell, Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Central location.
Beautifully designed hotel with lots of fine details.
Sparkling wine during entry to the reception.
Nice but small single room.
Breakfast with beautiful choices of dishes especially berries.
Nice italian restaurant which is open until late in the evening.
Lively club- bar in the basement of the hotel during weekends.
Free wireless internet conncection.
Small but appropriate 24h open gym.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISMETCENGIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeroThynell, Manager at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very happy to read that you had a most enjoyable stay at Klaus K Hotel. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon!
Kind regards,
Tero Thynell, Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

1 Perfect location
2 Greate staff
3 Nice Brekfast
4 Greate rooms
5 Nice atmosphere

The only minus was that its a little bit crowded at night near a greate club so a pair of earplugs would of been nice. (They have it though in the reception) but didnt know until afterwards.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Samir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeroThynell, Manager at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you Samir H for your comments.
I am sorry to hear that you had suffered from the noise coming from Club Ahjo.
Hopefully we can welcome you back to Klaus K Hotel in not too distant future.
Best regards,
Tero Thynell, Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Had a brief business strip to Helsinki and stayed here. Absolutely no complaints. Wifi worked well, my room was not noisy (321), the staff was friendly, the breakfast buffet plentiful and a nice location for walking around. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 321 was quiet. It doesn't have a view (back of the hotel) but that helped with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonTravellingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed for 5 nights for business. Really good rooms, compact, but smart constructed. Very good location, close to railway station and to the shore. Many restaurants around. Welcoming staff.
One thing amazed me - sauna. You have to go out the hotel and take next door, downstairs to basement :) People at the street looked at me astonished when i moved in slippers and white robe :)

Room Tip: Better to choose room looking to any side except tram lines. Very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evgeny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have stayed at Klaus K for few times while visiting Helsinki. For the price I have been able to book the rooms, it has been a bargain. Spacious rooms, good house wine, nice restaurant, night club under the hotel, easy to park, nice designs and not so traditional breakfast. Everything works.

Going again this week!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomppa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
443 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 65 in Helsinki
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Haven
#8 of 65 in Helsinki
1,003 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 65 in Helsinki
1,346 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klaus K Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klaus K Hotel

Property: Klaus K Hotel
Address: Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Klaus K Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 171 rooms including 30 Skylofts (of which 3 suites), 3 art rooms are provided with state-of-the-art equipment ranging from custom made beds and mattresses to laptop size safe to oversized robe and towels to LED television to free wireless high speed internet. Room categories playfully range from Mystical to Passion to Desire to Envy to Sky Lofts, all describing the emotions that are depicted from the mythical Finnish literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Klaus K Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klaus k Helsinki
Hotel Klaus k

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing