We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expenive, but very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Regensburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very expenive, but very nice”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The hotel is situated in 5 min walk from the city centre, in a very quiet neighbourhood. It has no reception and therefore even no possibility to buy breakfast on the place. Before arriving you should know the code to open the front door. The girl, who may give you the key comes at only 9 am, so if you arrive at night, you would wait for until she comes. The apartments have two rooms, one living room with tv, armchairs, table and chairs, another room is a sleeping one with quite comfortable beds and a bathroom. There's also a kitchen with all the dishes, microwave, fridge, everything you need. The very apt. is very nice and comfortable.
They also have sauna, which you can book for you (couple) only by writing down the number of your room in the table on its door. Then it would be ready for you by the hour you stated.
The only minus of the hotel is that it's too expensive for such kind of service. In Sept. 2011 we paid 130 eur/room/night, but Helsinki isn't cheap at all in general...
All in all we liked our stay and would love to return to this place again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank kreecher81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    170
    70
    34
    14
See reviews for
98
132
46
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

The Senate is unmanned & access codes for the apartment are emailed prior to arrival. A phone line direct to Staff at another manned Hotel is in the lobby for assistance if required - this all worked well for us. We had the Penthouse - top apartment in building A on the 6th floor. The rattling old lift only goes to the 5th floor & their are another 30 steps to the 6th floor - a bit difficult with heavy cases. The apartment had cable internet & worked well. There is no air-conditioner in the apartment & humidity is high in August. We were able to open both doors & windows on both sides of our apartment to allow cross flow of air to cool our apartment down. We enjoyed watching the arrival & departure of international ferries from the apartment windows - the tourist highlight of our stay. The Kitchen & bathroom were large. The apartment has a washing machine & they provided a drying rack for clothes. The towels were small & thin & bed linen was poor quality with holes. The underground car park for our car was secure, reasonably priced & excellent. The location is excellent & only 100m to the No4 tram to the city. The ferry terminal is also only a short walk. A Penthouse is often associated with luxury, but this apartment is not luxurious although it is very large, clean & has plenty of space & has a Penthouse view.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelPlanner2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We have been staying in many different types of accomodation all around the world for the last eleven months, and decided to visit Helsinski as a closure for our 2nd. round the world trip. We chose the Hellsten Helsinski Senate because of it’s ideal location to explore the city, it’s proximity to the Viking Line ferries terminal, and that it had apartments with kitchenettes so that we can prepare meals ourselves. We booked studioapartments on separate periods during our stay in Helsinski.
As mentioned in earlier reviews, Hellsten Senate comprises two blocks – an older one, Block A, and an ajoining second one, Block B, which is a new add-on extension. They have separate entrances, and laundry (unlimited use, free) and waste disposal are in Block B. The older block has a smaller 3-person, old-style grill-type lift, that gently creaks upwards, while Block B has an efficiently stainless steel lift.
We stayed in Block A both times, and we had 2 different experiences of our stay there. On our first stay period, we were pleased with the studioapartment we got, even though it was on the 2nd. floor. The apartment was spotlessly clean on arrival. The kitchette was equipped with necessary utensils and pots and pans, a reasonably sized fridge freezer, a microwave, and a two-hob stove,(no oven). There was dishwashing liquid with dishcloth and towel. The bathroom was clean and spacious with separate shower / toilet, with hand and bath towels. The location of the apartment was very good. Walking distance to the pier, and to the citycenter. There was a supermarket around the corner (K-Market), with extended opening hours all days. The apartment had internet access, through an ethernet cable.
On our 2nd.stay period we got a similar apartment, but on the 5th.floor. This time we were not too pleased as the apartment had only one window, with little opportunity for cross-ventilation. This is necessary as it was very warm when we were there, and the apartment did not have air conditioning. Also the heater in the bathroom was impossible to screw off so it was like an oven there. The handshower by the toilet leaked everytime we used the sink, so the floor was constantly wet. The frying pan in the kitchenette was all scratched and dented and there was no spatula so it was impossible even to fry eggs! Besides, the main ceiling lamp wasn’t working. We rang the Helsinski Parliament reception, and they promised to take care of our complaints, but that did not happen until late afternoon the next day, and after 3 more calls!
Once this was sorted out, we had no further difficulties. It is just something for guests to be aware of, in advance.
The place is clean, generally well-maintained, and the reception staff by phone, and housekeeping were very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TomandTina2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This could have been a decent hotel, if they would just fix a few simple points. The bathroom floor gets a bit flooded when you take a shower, since there is no border between the shower and the rest of the bathroom. The floor had some noticeable scuff marks and walls were dirty. The place basically looked old with worn out wood saddles in the doorways. Living here basically felt like I was hiding out from the Nazis in a world war 2 apartment building. The place didn't smell exactly clean. All they had to do is mop the floor with pine sole or some disinfectant. Also the TV is not in the bedroom but the small room adjacent to it. It would be nice if the internet connection was also in the bedroom. Is that really difficult to have an internet outlet in the bedroom. By the way bring a wire just in case, since there is no Wi Fi. This could have been a nice hotel in a great location. If they just spent a little money on renovations (even $200 per room) and cleaned it better.We didn't get the overall feeling that the place was exactly clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevedas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Head, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

First the positives:
--the Senate has a great central location from which to explore Helsinki on foot--yet it is in a (mostly) quiet and a most interesting and rich architectural section of this wonderful city. (We are not sure we would have enjoyed the Hellsten Parliament setting as well.)
--the Senate is actually an apartment hotel with a great kitchen setup, a large bath, a sitting room, and a separate bedroom; there is no front desk--no one on site except a cleaning person.
--the young woman who answered our call on Friday morning was most pleasant and accommodating, but what would have happened if we had arrived on a Saturday or Sunday when their "office" was closed?

Now the negatives:
--there was no WiFi--an absolutely essential need in today's world of IPhones and IPads and Blackberries; the ethernet connections are just not anywhere adequate to today's technology; and to suggest that one could try to catch the WiFi signal from the penthouse apartment is silly, futile, and almost insulting.
--our room (#213 on the first floor)--while nice inside--was like a prison! On a most (unusually?) hot June weekend only one window could be opened--plus the opening for a non-existent air conditioner. The tiny cell-like windows on the street were locked and we had to call in the morning and ask for a crank to open them after a most uncomfortable night. The two opening windows in the sitting area were right next to a banging and squeaking gate with people walking in and out at all hours only a meter away. To have any sense of privacy, we had to keep the drapes closed which again cut down on the needed ventilation. Even when we requested a crank and could open the street windows, we needed to draw the drapes when we were in the bed. In short, this apartment should only be rented at a steep discount with plenty of advanced warnings as to its location and drawbacks. Perhaps it could could be marketed it as a summer sauna for uninhibited nudists! There is also another apartment on this first floor (ground floor) which faces the street--and it has even smaller windows on the street!
--there were no instructions about using the telephone--not every country and phone system has phones that operate the same way!
--perhaps a small point--but the shower enclosure had a major drawback: a large (4 cm?) gap under the door where the water floods out on the bathroom floor. We had to request extra towels just to keep the water at bay.

In short, we would have given the Senate a most positive review if we had been given an airy apartment not on the street with WiFi.

Room Tip: Demand rooms not on street level
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKBD04859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 4 days. Neighborhood is quiet, but only 7-10 minutes walk to the center. Rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel has no reception desk, but accommodation was easy with the code that we received when booking. Check-out was also easy - just dropp the key in the mailbox. Underground garage of the hotel, however, is expensive - 20 Euro / day, but it is more advantageous than parking on the street. Just the lift needs improvement. It has a double door and when someone forgets to close the grid you will need to go upstairs.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kriss_Topalov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed in the Helsinki Senate for 4 nights while exploring Helsinki. The location is superbe, it is close to the Southern harbor of the city and the centre. You are fast in the city but also on one of the ferrys to wherever you wish to go. The apartment was nice and friendly but not spectacular, rather functional. The kitchen was well equipped. The only minor complaint for us was that there were only 1 1/2 rolls of toilet paper for 4 nights. Supermarkt is close by though so no real problem. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiraneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#20 of 65 in Helsinki
2,240 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#5 of 65 in Helsinki
1,701 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#22 of 65 in Helsinki
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 65 in Helsinki
635 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 65 in Helsinki
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hellsten Helsinki Senate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellsten Helsinki Senate

Property: Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Address: Kauppiaankatu 5, Helsinki 00160, Finland (Formerly StayAt Helsinki Senate)
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hellsten Helsinki Senate 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hellsten Helsinki Senate is located in Katajanokka, one of the most exclusive districts in the heart of Helsinki. It is a promontory surrounded by water, just a stone's throw from the city centre and its attractions. Katajanokka is separated from the mainland by a channel, but it is possible to reach the city area by four bridges. Katajanokka is also the place where ferries from Stockholm and Tallin dock. Helsinki-Vantaa airport is just a 30 minute drive away. All of the major amenities, including shops, cafes, restaurants and cinemas are within walking distance from Hellsten Senate. The hotel has 52 designed one and two bedroom apartments each with a kitchenette, telephone, satellite TV and free internet access. Some of the apartments have their own sauna. A common sauna can be used as well as common laundry facilities. This old renovated building from 1915 has self contained rooms and apartments ranging in sizes from 28 to 160 square meters penthouse suite. All apartments are equipped with kitchenettes for cooking your own food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hellsten Helsinki Senate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellsten Helsinki Senate Hotel Helsinki
Accome Senate Helsinki
Accome Senate Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing