We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartments would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Tropical Barnsley
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Apartments would stay here again”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Great apartments. Great location: quiet but close to the waterfront. Good little kitchen area (coffee machine, kettle, fridge freezer hob microwave) a toaster would be nice!!! (as no grill either). Clean, and easy to access. About 50 Euros in a taxi from the airport but pretty easy to work out the transport options once you know where it is. Supermarket round the corner.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CompulsoryHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    170
    70
    34
    14
See reviews for
98
132
46
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Really friendly staff, all were very helpful. Comfy clean rooms and good shower. At first we wondered where all the cutlery and plates were, but turned out they were all still in the dishwasher after being recently cleaned!

Would be nice if there were some instructions for the cooker

Would recommend

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mag S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is more an apartment than a hotel. We had a large apartment with sauna in the art nouveau building. The location is ideal, just a few minutes walk from the centre of the city. The room was clean and quiet, but the walls were a bit shabby (which did not disturb us) and sparsely furnished in a typically Nordic manner. The cooking facilities were very limited, but could help avoid the need to eat out all the time. The lift in the old building arrived between floors, which may cause difficulties for some people.

This was a nice place for those looking for an apartment in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed here 4 nights and we were thankful that there was a lot to see in Helsinki even though it rained more often than not. The room we had was definitely not up to standard. The furnishings were old and sparse. The seats were dirty and old. The bathroom was ok except for the smell of sewerage and a leeching water pipe. The bedroom was not big enough to take a queen size bed. There was a small space between the bed and the wall so getting into the bed was rather difficult. Consequently, the bed could not be made properly and it could not be cleaned very well. The mattress needs to be replaced. The kitchen was old and tired.
On a positive note, the hotel was near enough to the Viking Terminal and the city centre. The tram stops were 2 minutes around the corner and the trams came on a regular basis. The receptionist was extremely helpful. We did not know about the free wi-fi until we had contact with her. We arrived on a Sunday when checkins are done from a remote site. To our surprise checking in was easy.
The lift is old but functional but it does stop in between room levels, so we had to negotiate some stairs with our suitcases. It is a shame this part of the hotel is like this as it is in a really well positioned part of Helsinki.
Overall, we would not stay here again, nor would we recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I loved this place! My room was actually a FULL APARTMENT...complete with balcony on the top floor. I was VERY pleased. It's very close to the outdoor market and the bay. The city center is about a 20 minute walk, and, even in the rain, it was a scenic stroll. I loved it. The cost was so low that I can recommend it to anyone. The area is actually one of the more wealthy neighborhoods and not very overcrowded at all. I had no problems at all. I liked it so much that I'm going to Helsinki again, and I'll be staying in the same room!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank adfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dmitrov, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A good choice between standard hotel room and cosy self-catering apartment. We have an apartment with 1 bed-room with a fire-place, kichenette and sauna. The location is great you could walk to the center in 10 mins or use a tram, the proximity to piers is helpfull as you could enjoy a bay cruise or even trip to Stockholm or Tallinn by a ferry. The nearby supermarket is useful for those who wants to prepare own meals. We did enjoy our stay. Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tshwane, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We've stayed at Hellsten earlier and recalled it was a pretty decent, affordable place for a family of 4. Maybe there are more recently remodeled rooms but what we got was shabby (stained walls and worn, outdated furniture) and essentially the bare minimum. It was hot in Helsinki when we arrived and the apartment was so stuffy, actually pretty close to sauna temperature even at 10pm. Only a few windows and the balcony door could be opened, most windows were not possible to open. We had to sleep with the door open in order to survive the heat (no AC) and were woken at 6am by noise from the street and barking dogs staying in the next room. In fact, it seemed half of the dogs in Helsinki were staying at Hellsten (due to dog show that weekend) and the howling and barking commenced at 6pm when the owners left them and went to dinner. The last night we were there, we paid more than $250 for the night because it was the last room and had just become available. What a rip off indeed. I recommended checking Air B&B before resorting to this place unless they reduce the prices or upgrade the rooms. The keys stop working each day and must be "unlocked" meaning you need to call the reception (which is not on site after hours) and get them to unlock the key (no sense to this AT ALL), so be sure to have access to a phone when you are there. Only positive point is the location which is on the tram line and 5 minutes walk from the market.

Room Tip: Maybe building A is better as we stayed there earlier and it was nice. Our apartment in building B w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#20 of 65 in Helsinki
2,240 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#5 of 65 in Helsinki
1,699 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#22 of 65 in Helsinki
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 65 in Helsinki
635 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 65 in Helsinki
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hellsten Helsinki Senate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellsten Helsinki Senate

Property: Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Address: Kauppiaankatu 5, Helsinki 00160, Finland (Formerly StayAt Helsinki Senate)
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hellsten Helsinki Senate 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hellsten Helsinki Senate is located in Katajanokka, one of the most exclusive districts in the heart of Helsinki. It is a promontory surrounded by water, just a stone's throw from the city centre and its attractions. Katajanokka is separated from the mainland by a channel, but it is possible to reach the city area by four bridges. Katajanokka is also the place where ferries from Stockholm and Tallin dock. Helsinki-Vantaa airport is just a 30 minute drive away. All of the major amenities, including shops, cafes, restaurants and cinemas are within walking distance from Hellsten Senate. The hotel has 52 designed one and two bedroom apartments each with a kitchenette, telephone, satellite TV and free internet access. Some of the apartments have their own sauna. A common sauna can be used as well as common laundry facilities. This old renovated building from 1915 has self contained rooms and apartments ranging in sizes from 28 to 160 square meters penthouse suite. All apartments are equipped with kitchenettes for cooking your own food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hellsten Helsinki Senate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellsten Helsinki Senate Hotel Helsinki
Accome Senate Helsinki
Accome Senate Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing