We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful meeting/conference hotel”
Review of Hotel Rantapuisto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rantapuisto
Ranked #30 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I have attended this place 3 times in meetings/conferences, I did not stay here overnight as I live in the city (but many participants did).

The metro is 1,7 km away (people have said here 10-30 minutes well depends how fit you are), a pleasant walk through residential area. On weekdays commuter times you can also travel to Vuosaari metro and take bus for 5 km, then walk only 300 m.

Place used to be a "boarding school" training facility for a bank, now converted to hotel / conference location. Those who are sensitive to indoor air quality sensed symptoms of water damage in some areas. Food was good, service was friendly. And it is really in middle of forest by seaside.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here for one night on business as my customer is located on this side of the city. The hotel is located in its own grounds in a calm sea inlet. It is in a peaceful forest and almost unique in terms of a hotel close to a city. The overriding first impression is that the decor of the hotel is extremely dated (lots of wooden panels, 70s style). The rooms are simple and spacious, no mini-bar or tea/coffee facilities, no ironing facilities, in fact it was extremely basic. Wi-fi was free and very good. I ate in the hotel, food was limited in its choice, expensive in relation to what was served up. Breakfast was average, nothing to write home about. With a full revamp the hotel could be incredible due to its location. I think on balance despite its shortcomings I still prefer it to a faceless bland and even more expensive Scandic type hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilExport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very calm, tidy, large area with trees, small but comfortable beach, good breakfast, not far from metro station and remote enough to be calm. Internet was working even in the room, notwithstanding that it was free only in public areas. All personnel was speaking russian!!! Big free parking. I would come there again for sure.
No airconditioning in the room. Russian channel was in the list but not active on TV.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GGriNdeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed here as part of a conference. The rooms were nice, and the conference facilities perfect for our group (just under 200). The food was also excellent. My only disappointment was trying to fit in a sauna. There are two here; the one by the sea is difficult to schedule, and I could never find the alternative one. I would suggest to the management that they make available a usable map of the facilities, and label clearly the two saunas, the gym (which I never was able to find), and the walking trails. Despite not being able to take full advantage of their amenities, if you are looking for a quiet spot in the countryside, then this place might be perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Queezle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a convention Hotel location in a very nice suburb of Helsinki, away from the city center but with reasonably good connections (metro station is 5-10 minutes walk from the Hotel). The choice of restaurants close to the Hotel is relatively limited.

The Hotel is surrounded by nice pine trees forest, 20 meters from the waterfront. In fact, most rooms have a splendid view of the water. The whole location is remarkably peaceful and relaxing.

The Hotel features a small beachfront and a paddling center that rents kayaks, canoes and bicycles. Paddling in the archipelago waters is a great experience that I strongly recommend.

Overall the Hotel has a typical vintage Nordic decoration, with lots if Alvar Aalto vintage furniture and a very nice architecture. There are several signs of aging and slight decadence, but personally I love this type of ambiance and joyfully tolerate this aging.

Rooms are large, with great views and reasonably equipped. There is free Internet (WiFi and wired) of good quality. Sleep quality was great.

Check-in and checkout were fast, efficient and friendly. The breakfast was OK.

On the bad side:
- staying in a convention Hotel, with lots of empty meeting rooms may be awkward for some.
- breakfast quality was acceptable but bellow average.

For a weekend between meetings this was a great place to stay, but for business this may be too far from the city center.

Room Tip: Ask for an Hotel with view to the waterfront (most of the rooms have it, anyway).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john2008a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

If you are looking for the quite place in the nature but near the big city, this could be a place for you in case you close your nose for the smell (like in the hospital). Hotel is located in an old and long time ago renovated building. It seems that this place is built in the 70ties last century. Clean but you still see that old think even cleaned look worn out.
Otherwise - the sea and forest air is wonderful.
The breakfast was good.
Conclusion - typical old style 3* hotel that is well kept.

Room Tip: The hotel is located in several buildings. In building 5 there is no air conditioning. It could be t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlzeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I spent 2 days there for a business meeting. Clean, quiet, excellent food!!!
I walked around a bit in my free time: everything is green, very nice... in the middle of no-where (no people, no cars, just few houses but no lights or people around)! Perfect if you want to relax and have some sauna (amazing! it's just by the sea, so ideally you can jump into the water when your body is too warm, and then run into the sauna again - before to freeze).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio_best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 66 in Helsinki
632 reviews
Kulttuurikeskus Sofia
#47 of 66 in Helsinki
31 reviews
Hotel Haaga Central Park
#33 of 66 in Helsinki
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,840 reviews
Ava Hotel
#45 of 66 in Helsinki
163 reviews
Hotel Rivoli Jardin
#26 of 66 in Helsinki
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rantapuisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rantapuisto

Address: Furuborginkatu 3, Helsinki 00980, Finland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto)
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: £65 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rantapuisto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rantapuisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokoushotelli Rantapuisto Oy Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing