We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prison camp mentality”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rantapuisto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rantapuisto
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Prison camp mentality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Customer service here is completely unacceptable. A group of about 15 of us were keen to watch the first World Cup match on the TV in the common reception area at 11pm. We were told that this was not possible. Guests were not allowed in the common areas after 11pm. We had to leave and would need to stay in our rooms until the following morning. The hotel's policy is apparently to set the alarms in the common areas at 11pm, and leave the guests in an unattended hotel. We were threatened with "financial penalties" because the security services would be called automatically. Given the special event of the evening, we asked if we could negotiate an extension with the Manager. We were told by the receptionist on duty that the manager was asleep and could not be disturbed until the following morning. She then called the security services, who treated us like the East German Stasi! This was unbelievable. In the end, the 10 of us had to resort to a resident's room to watch the match. I hate to think what the impact was on the guests in neighbouring rooms.

More worrying, what sort of hotel leaves its guests so vulnerable at night? If any one of us had forgotten our key code, who would have let us in (given that the manager was not to be disturbed in the small hours)? This is a Best Western hotel, an independently owned hotel where customer service can be ideosyncratic - either good or bad. My advice is to avoid this one at all costs. The customer clearly doesn't come first here. There are plenty of other hotels in Helsinki. In this one, you are confined to your room after 11pm - not the way this reviewer expects to be treated.

Room Tip: Walls between rooms are thin and noise travels easily between them. Better to stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardLi0nHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    87
    29
    8
    9
See reviews for
38
82
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Old, 60-ties style hotel. Unfriendly approach at reception. No food or drinks available after 22.30 ... Suggestion of the reception: go to the vendung machine. Which was broken, not working by the way. Will never ever come here again, what a joke.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I have attended this place 3 times in meetings/conferences, I did not stay here overnight as I live in the city (but many participants did).

The metro is 1,7 km away (people have said here 10-30 minutes well depends how fit you are), a pleasant walk through residential area. On weekdays commuter times you can also travel to Vuosaari metro and take bus for 5 km, then walk only 300 m.

Place used to be a "boarding school" training facility for a bank, now converted to hotel / conference location. Those who are sensitive to indoor air quality sensed symptoms of water damage in some areas. Food was good, service was friendly. And it is really in middle of forest by seaside.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here for one night on business as my customer is located on this side of the city. The hotel is located in its own grounds in a calm sea inlet. It is in a peaceful forest and almost unique in terms of a hotel close to a city. The overriding first impression is that the decor of the hotel is extremely dated (lots of wooden panels, 70s style). The rooms are simple and spacious, no mini-bar or tea/coffee facilities, no ironing facilities, in fact it was extremely basic. Wi-fi was free and very good. I ate in the hotel, food was limited in its choice, expensive in relation to what was served up. Breakfast was average, nothing to write home about. With a full revamp the hotel could be incredible due to its location. I think on balance despite its shortcomings I still prefer it to a faceless bland and even more expensive Scandic type hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilExport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Belait, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very calm, tidy, large area with trees, small but comfortable beach, good breakfast, not far from metro station and remote enough to be calm. Internet was working even in the room, notwithstanding that it was free only in public areas. All personnel was speaking russian!!! Big free parking. I would come there again for sure.
No airconditioning in the room. Russian channel was in the list but not active on TV.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGriNdeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed here as part of a conference. The rooms were nice, and the conference facilities perfect for our group (just under 200). The food was also excellent. My only disappointment was trying to fit in a sauna. There are two here; the one by the sea is difficult to schedule, and I could never find the alternative one. I would suggest to the management that they make available a usable map of the facilities, and label clearly the two saunas, the gym (which I never was able to find), and the walking trails. Despite not being able to take full advantage of their amenities, if you are looking for a quiet spot in the countryside, then this place might be perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Queezle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vigo
Level Contributor
141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a convention Hotel location in a very nice suburb of Helsinki, away from the city center but with reasonably good connections (metro station is 5-10 minutes walk from the Hotel). The choice of restaurants close to the Hotel is relatively limited.

The Hotel is surrounded by nice pine trees forest, 20 meters from the waterfront. In fact, most rooms have a splendid view of the water. The whole location is remarkably peaceful and relaxing.

The Hotel features a small beachfront and a paddling center that rents kayaks, canoes and bicycles. Paddling in the archipelago waters is a great experience that I strongly recommend.

Overall the Hotel has a typical vintage Nordic decoration, with lots if Alvar Aalto vintage furniture and a very nice architecture. There are several signs of aging and slight decadence, but personally I love this type of ambiance and joyfully tolerate this aging.

Rooms are large, with great views and reasonably equipped. There is free Internet (WiFi and wired) of good quality. Sleep quality was great.

Check-in and checkout were fast, efficient and friendly. The breakfast was OK.

On the bad side:
- staying in a convention Hotel, with lots of empty meeting rooms may be awkward for some.
- breakfast quality was acceptable but bellow average.

For a weekend between meetings this was a great place to stay, but for business this may be too far from the city center.

Room Tip: Ask for an Hotel with view to the waterfront (most of the rooms have it, anyway).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john2008a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kulttuurikeskus Sofia
#47 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#23 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Ava Hotel
#43 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#19 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rantapuisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rantapuisto

Property: Hotel Rantapuisto
Address: Furuborginkatu 3, Helsinki 00980, Finland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto)
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rantapuisto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Rantapuisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokoushotelli Rantapuisto Oy Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing