We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The room was very comfortable and had all the necessary amenities. It may have been a touch dark. The bed was very comfortable and there were sufficient blinds to keep the room dark at night in the middle of summer. As with most European hotels, the half partition shower was a bit annoying. The staff were all very friendly. Dining options on site are a bit limited but thankfully there are many very nice restaurants within a 5 minute walk Breakfast buffet was just ok in my opinion but it is easy to walk across the street to Karl Fazer if you want more options. Overall, a fine cost effective option in central Helsinki.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Febo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 2,054 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

This is our first time here in Helsinki, seems everything interesting are around the hotel. GLO has some bicycles for the guests to use free. I made use of it alot where I went into the more quiet and peaceful neighborhoods, went to the waterfront and to local laundry.
We stayed in a corner room with a lot of windows, which is great with the views, the only downside is many curtains need to be pull before bed.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Silverwood0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed in a "Luxe L" room and it was indeed nice and spacious, yet cozy feeling with wooden floors and a small sitting area as well as a big desk. The bathroom was open but behind a wall, so still private, and the toilet was in a separate room with its own sink. Wifi was free and a very good breakfast was included in the price as well. TV had plenty of international channels and my room on the 4th floor had lots of windows with a nice view onto the pedestrian street below. It was really hot in Helsinki but the air conditioning worked great and kept us cool.

The hotel is located within a short walk from basically everything of interest to a tourist, including tons of shopping, bars/restaurants, waterfront, airport bus, train station etc. It is also only a few minutes walk from the tram stop of the #9 tram that departs from the West Harbor (ferry from Tallinn), so is convenient if you arrive that way as I did. Staff were friendly. We also had drinks at the bar one night, which was nice, although service was extremely slow and prices were expensive (although this seems the case in Helsinki generally).

The bed could have used more pillows and the light switches were too numerous and confusing, but otherwise, it was a great room in a perfect location. Based on other reviews, it's definitely worth getting the bigger room if your budget allows.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank inkwave17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hotel Glo, Kluuvi is in a very central location in the center of Helsinki. All the shoppin and pedestrian areas surround the hotel and many attratctions are just a short walk away. The hotel has a nice drink / lobby bar downstairs. The rooms are design hotel style and very cosy. The basic ones are a bit on a small side, on the other hand the business rooms are quite big. Breakfast is superb and well know in the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merxell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is in a very cool position. And it looks very nice. The workers are nice. But my room was incredible tight, small and my windows, even at the 5th floor was looking at a terrace with a skylight blinding the natural light.
The bathroom with the smallest sink I've ever seen with to no place even to put the toothbrush or a butycase. Maybe they gave me that room only because I was booking with booking.it? But the price was not so fair for such a room. For one night plus an hamburger, chips and a beer and two bottle of water 167 euro. And unfortunately I had some stomach problem during the night. Just bad luck? I hope so but I suggest a different one . Better to spend more for a nicer room. Or less saving money for dinner in other place.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Massimo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel deserves a hurrah for the value they provide. For the price we paid, I was very pleasantly surprised at what we got. The rooms was great; very comfortable with a big bed, had a fantastic entertainment system on the TV, and a good layout in the closet. The bath even had a proper shower (I've never understood that half glass door thing in many European showers). ;-)

The staff were very helpful, if at times a bit reserved. Anything we needed, they were more than ready to get us.

The free bikes on loan were great! We took a two hour ride around the waterfront and loved it.

The restaurant is good too. As we found in all of Finland, food and drink are not a bargain. However, it's was all very good. In fact, the hamburger was one of the best I've had in a while.

The location is just about perfect. It's close to everything you'd need for a visit to Helsinki. We walked most places, and when we needed to go further afield, the tram runs just beside the hotel. Also, if you like chocolate, Karl Fazer is directly across the street!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GayTravelGuyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is truly superb. The breakfast is some of the best we have eaten anywhere in the world! Staff are very helpful. Will definitely stay here again! Our upgraded room is super. The electric bed is fun to play with! The double shower makes for fun also!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Flaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,220 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#5 of 66 in Helsinki
1,466 reviews
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#23 of 66 in Helsinki
2,438 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#16 of 66 in Helsinki
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki

Address: Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo)
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: £99 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important idea behind the hotel is customizing the stay at the hotel to meet the needs of each individual guest. Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi offers its guests a variety of recreational opportunities including sports, culture, dining, and health services in the hotel itself and outside its walls. The vast collection of services is something never before seen in a hotel in Helsinki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glo Helsinki
Glo Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing