We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“An awesome surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night at this hotel and we were absolutely delighted. Our plane was delayed and I sent an email to inform reception that we would be arriving on the next day early morning, asking them to have our room ready. I immediately received an email from the hotel telling me that everything would be ready for us. We arrived in Helsinki at 6 am, took the 615 bus (definitely cheaper than a taxi, and hyper convenient at you'll then be 6 minutes walking distance from the hotel, 5 euros per person). The bus trip lasted for 30 minutes and the bus terminus is the Central Train Station. This is where you will take the bus to go back to the airport when you will leave Helsinki city centre. Once you get off, walk straight ahead (the direction the bus would actually take), cross the street and walk until the next intersection (you will see tramway tracks) then turn left and you will see shops like H&M, and Monki, walk straight ahead and the hotel will be 100 meters further to the right side of the street. When we arrived 2 receptionists were on duty. Our receptionist was absolutely amazing, she knew we were tired from a long trip from Asia, she was very nice, and professional, with a great sense of humour, interacting with us, which is quite rare in many hotels. She gave us the room immediately and told us that she took the liberty to inform house keeping to not disturb us so that we could sleep and she offered to allow us to stay in the room until 1pm to rest more, which was extremely nice. We went up to our room and we were very happy. First of all, the design of the room is very Scandinavian, wood and leather and the quietness of the room was immediately noticeable. I remind you that the hotel is located right in the city centre of the city. Great tv, great interior, the bathroom was superb, enormous sink and fantastic tiles on the floor, very spacious. We do travel a lot and we are used to 5 start hotels and we were often disappointed by hotels in Europe and we assure you that this hotel is up there in terms of quality. We slept for a while on very comfy beds, similar to the 'heavenly' beds in westin, fantastic quilts and bed sheets. We went down from breakfast and the choice if items was quite large, cereals, cold cuts, salmon, pastries, fresh fruits. In
Summary we found the breakkie to be yum. Coffee is included but if to want cappuccino or something special you will need to pay. Coffee was great anyway. I asked the waiter and the chef about one of the dishes (a fish that was in a jar, which we found absolutely delicious) and both knew exactly what it was , a fish called 'silli', marinated in salt and vinegar, with a hint (we thought) of blueberries. No other customer, we noticed, had it but it was actually a treat, if you go there, you must try it, looks slightly weird but it is yum! The service at breakfast was very diligent and staff were very helpful and with a smile. They don't bring you coffee, by the way, you will have to get it at the mini bar.
We asked if we could leave our luggage for a bit of sightseeing after check-out and it was some very nicely. The streets around the hotel were superb, lots of trendy shops, people and cafes and this is when we really realised how quiet was our room.
All in all, this hotel experience was extremely good and I would highly recommend the two receptionists (Mari and her colleague) for their professionalism and their high customer service skills. They definitely go the extra
Mile.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skippy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina_Kaikkonen, Johtaja at GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Skippy88,

Thank you so much for your effort to write about your trip in such thorough way. It is very nice to learn how everything was handled and most of all that you had such a wonderful experience with us! What comes to our operations, your comments reflects quite well about our ultimate goal and seeing it concretise is the sweetest thing! Your regards will be passed on to all the staff - this will give us energy for going the extra miles in the future, too. Thank you once again and welcome back at any time!

Sincerely Yours,

Perttu Kykkänen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    713
    151
    44
    9
See reviews for
250
764
196
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Totowa, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Location is excellent within city center. Rooms a little small but totally modern. Buffet breakfast could have been better but it was adequate and a great time saver. We wheeled our luggage from the central station (having arrived here after 3 and a half hours from St Petersburg via Allegro high speed train); it was doable, about four blocks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAG546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very good hotel in central convenient location.Efficient staff. Comfortable room and very good breakfast .Highly recommend for business or couples.We are an Australian couple travelling foe pleasure who enjoyed this hotel

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

If staying in Helsinki this hotel is always my first choice. It is located in the center of the Town, with walking distance to "everywhere", it has super modern rooms, impressive bathrooms and is very clean. The breakfast is not super great but it is ok - do not miss to try the finnish porridge. It is good for you and make you feel great all the day! Reception staff is great - welcoming and friendly and effective. The check in/check out at this hotel is fast and easy and always with a smile.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Contego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina_Kaikkonen, Johtaja at GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Contego,

Thank you for Your feedback! With this kind of comments it is easy to smile and not only in the reception! Looking forward to seeing you back soon!

Sunny Regards,

Perttu Kykkänen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, IL
Level Contributor
112 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The room was very comfortable and had all the necessary amenities. It may have been a touch dark. The bed was very comfortable and there were sufficient blinds to keep the room dark at night in the middle of summer. As with most European hotels, the half partition shower was a bit annoying. The staff were all very friendly. Dining options on site are a bit limited but thankfully there are many very nice restaurants within a 5 minute walk Breakfast buffet was just ok in my opinion but it is easy to walk across the street to Karl Fazer if you want more options. Overall, a fine cost effective option in central Helsinki.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Febo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

This is our first time here in Helsinki, seems everything interesting are around the hotel. GLO has some bicycles for the guests to use free. I made use of it alot where I went into the more quiet and peaceful neighborhoods, went to the waterfront and to local laundry.
We stayed in a corner room with a lot of windows, which is great with the views, the only downside is many curtains need to be pull before bed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverwood0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
269 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed in a "Luxe L" room and it was indeed nice and spacious, yet cozy feeling with wooden floors and a small sitting area as well as a big desk. The bathroom was open but behind a wall, so still private, and the toilet was in a separate room with its own sink. Wifi was free and a very good breakfast was included in the price as well. TV had plenty of international channels and my room on the 4th floor had lots of windows with a nice view onto the pedestrian street below. It was really hot in Helsinki but the air conditioning worked great and kept us cool.

The hotel is located within a short walk from basically everything of interest to a tourist, including tons of shopping, bars/restaurants, waterfront, airport bus, train station etc. It is also only a few minutes walk from the tram stop of the #9 tram that departs from the West Harbor (ferry from Tallinn), so is convenient if you arrive that way as I did. Staff were friendly. We also had drinks at the bar one night, which was nice, although service was extremely slow and prices were expensive (although this seems the case in Helsinki generally).

The bed could have used more pillows and the light switches were too numerous and confusing, but otherwise, it was a great room in a perfect location. Based on other reviews, it's definitely worth getting the bigger room if your budget allows.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inkwave17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Hotel Haven
#8 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki

Property: GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Address: Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo)
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important idea behind the hotel is customizing the stay at the hotel to meet the needs of each individual guest. Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi offers its guests a variety of recreational opportunities including sports, culture, dining, and health services in the hotel itself and outside its walls. The vast collection of services is something never before seen in a hotel in Helsinki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glo Helsinki
Glo Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing