We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended hotel in a classy neighbourhood”
Review of Hotel Katajanokka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Katajanokka
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I stayed here on a recent visit to Helsinki and I was exceptionally pleased with my choice. The hotel is full of character and is well-located. The rooms are clean, modern and furnished to a high standard with great bathrooms. Breakfast was a Scandinavian style buffet which was more than adequate. I arrived in Helsinki by air and took the Finnair bus to the bus terminus beside the Central Railway Station for €6.20. From there it was a five minute walk to the tram stop outside the Stockmann department store [stop Ylioppilastalo, direction Katajanokka] from where I took tram number 4 [every 10 minutes] for the short ride to the hotel. Tram stop Vyökatu is right outside the hotel. To save time and money you can buy your 24/48 hour travel card from the tourist office on the top floor of Stockmann while you are waiting for the tram.

The hotel is situated in one of the nicest areas of Helsinki, the upmarket Katajanokka neighbourhood, and is surrounded by some wonderful art nouveau and Jugenstil buildings. It felt very safe, even late at night. There is a great little local bar, the Poseidon, about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and there is a small supermarket at the end of the road. One of Marshall Mannerheim’s favourite restaurants, ‘Bellevue‘, is located about a 10 minute walk from the hotel on the right hand side of the road that leads up to the wonderful Uspenski Cathedral. ‘Bellevue’ is one of the best places in Helsinki to try Mannerheim’s favourite meal, Vorschmack.

I’d highly recommend this hotel to any one visiting Helsinki. It’s a great value, superbly located hotel with friendly staff. Definitely consider it if you’re visiting the Finnish capital.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank logrundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 968 of 1,911 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

We liked this hotel for our 2 night stay in Helsinki! The room was comfortable and the price a good value. The staff members were helpful and kind. We felt silly that we didn't realize until our last day there that the tram stop was just outside the hotel. The hotel's location is outside the city center but even the walk isn't too bad. The breakfast was o.k. but not spectacular. The tin plates and cups to carry out the jail theme was creative. There aren't many options for dining nearby but the hotel has a restaurant which we didn't try. We liked the Nepalese restaurant "Everest" in the neighborhood for something different from a traditional Finnish meal. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This hotel is outstanding. Best choice ever made for a hotel. A group of us (11 friends) stayed there for two nights. I chose this hotel for the group after some days of research comparing hotels around Helsinki for location, price, offerings (free breakfast and free wifi). No doubt this hotel was the BEST choice we made. Not just for the convenience of price and location, but for what it is. A former jail that's turned into a hotel - who can turn down this opportunity?! Such a unique experience. The hotel is so clean. Staff and service are amazing and friendly. The rooms are cozy and very contemporary with flat screen TVs, a desk, VERY comfy bed. The rooms aren't that big - but you're in Europe so you know . The shower is awesome. The accommodations get a 10 out of 10 for sure. The hotel facilities are so unique - lovely to walk down the hall and it looks like a jail. The door to the room are kind of short - you think you're walking into a cell. Internet is SUPER fast. Because of the thick walls (of the jail), they gave me an ethernet cable to use since the wireless is weak due to the thick walls. However, the wifi is great if you're out in the hall and the seating area. The breakfast buffet is delicious with a wide variety of breakfast foods and local items. They bake the breads and croissant fresh, and bring them out on a cart and then into the baskets for serving. So fresh! The flatware is all jail-style: stainless steel plates and tins for drinks! So awesome. The style of the restaurant is catchy with nice, dim lighting.

The location of the hotel couldn't be better. A five minute walk to the market. Watch out for seagulls at the port where the market is set up. They're truly annoying. Selection of Finnish food at the market was outstanding -- bear, reindeer, wild pork, and mousse sausages; in addition to salmon and all sort of other stuff. Right across the market, there is the Esplanade - shopping and restaurant area, so also it's very close to the hotel.

Right outside of the hotel, you can catch the #4 Tram, which takes you to the city center. After all the city center is such a close walking distance to the hotel. There is also a grocery store a few block down the street from the hotel with everything you need or toiletries you might have forgotten to pack.

Overall, it's so worth it. Highly recommended. If I visit Helsinki again, this will be the place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in a twin room that is a bit larger than the standard queen rooms. Hotel location is good, right buy the tram stop for tram number 4 that takes you to the city center and the olympic stadium if you would be here for some sport event. Its also close walking distance to the Viking Line ferry terminal for ferries to Sweden. Its not that far to walk downtown either takes aprox 20 minutes. The building is an old prison with thick brick walls. They have a bar, restaurant down in the cellar. Room wasnt big even if it was larger than the queen rooms. Clean, modern. Flat screen TV with good international choice. They have free wifi but it doesnt work properly in the rooms due to the thickness of them. Instead you can get a cable from the concierge to get internet connection. There is a safety deposit box in the room. Beds were good. Bathroom with small bath tub and a shower. The room has facilities for making coffee or tea. Breakfast was a buffet served in the cellar. It was really bad and not as plentiful one would expect from a hotel in this price class. The omelette was ok. A funny detail is that they have tin cups for your juice to give the image of being in a prison. Its mainly due to the breakfast that I only give a 4. The rest is really good value for your money. Hotels othewise are sensationally expensive in Helsinki. Another good thing is that if you have an early check out they can arrange a breakfast box that you pick up at the concierge.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swedish_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed four nights total at various times in June, 2012. Twice we had a standard room and twice we had a superior room. Both types of rooms are nice. Strangely, though, all four rooms did not have air-conditioning. There was a thermostat on the wall in each room but all were non-functional. The rooms were quite hot. Once I called the desk to inquire about how to turn on the A/C and they had someone deliver us a fan. If you get a room facing west during June, when the sun shines 18 hours a day, I can assure you that the room gets quite hot indeed. In addition, the windows do not open (it is, after all, a former prison) so the rooms get hot and stay hot. The hotel lobby and hotel restaurant are air-conditioned. The hotel rooms are not air-conditioned. So when this hotel advertises that it is air-conditioned it is telling the truth...
but not the entire truth.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BD3856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Great hotel, lovely rooms. excelent breakfast!
The location is not center of the city, but is walking distance from everywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itinere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This hotel is built in a former prison which gives is a special character. We had a superior room which is probably worth the money given that the rooms are quite small due to them being former prison cells. Very friendly and helpful staff, rooms are cosy, quiet and have all amenities you need. Generous breakfast buffet including a choise of Finnish specialties. Convenient location - city is within walking distance and there is a tram station right outside the prison gate.
The only downside was that the windows don't open and you cannot turn off the AC which was very cold.
All in all a very convenient hotel for a city trip, would go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelina_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,228 reviews
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#21 of 66 in Helsinki
2,505 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel F6
#1 of 66 in Helsinki
551 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 66 in Helsinki
1,404 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 66 in Helsinki
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Katajanokka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Katajanokka

Address: Merikasarminkatu 1a, Helsinki 00160, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: £86 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Katajanokka 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Katajanokka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helsinki
Helsinki Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing