We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prison transformed into luxury hotel”
Review of Hotel Katajanokka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Katajanokka
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Prison transformed into luxury hotel”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 2 year old daughter. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming and our ground floor room was spacious, comfortable and very quiet. We had a bathroom with bath tub and shower. We appreciated the minibar fridge and the tea/coffee making facilities.

The hotel still retained many of the features of its former prison life including the metal staircases but managed to be luxurious without losing its character. We liked the life-size black and white photos of prison life and the solitary cell at the back of the restaurant is worth a visit.

We were travelling by car and parked in the courtyard outside the hotel for 20 euros per 24 hours (still cheaper than street parking). There was a small hiccup when we received a parking fine because our car registration details hadn't been added to the database but this was resolved promptly. It is worth checking the staff have logged your car details if using the hotel parking. We found it an easy 10-15 minute walk to the centre of Helsinki but the hotel is on a tram route if required.

Buffet breakfast was very good and there are mugs available if you don't wish to drink out of metal cups but we didn't find them until the second day. The playroom just off the restaurant was enjoyed by our daughter.

The only two quibbles were: the sauna had very restricted opening times when it was free to hotel guests; and the hotel restaurant, while excellent, was quite formal. We would have liked the option of something akin to a bar meal without having to go out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    596
    80
    18
    7
See reviews for
247
728
115
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Katajanokka is a unique building, very different from the other modern block-like hotels which have sprung up in Helsinki in the last few decades. There are very well-trained, multilingual staff at the front desk, who were very helpful to us during our recent stay. The rooms are as quiet as the "Chapel of Silence", and the food at the breakfast buffet is very good. Right outside the gate of the old prison is a stop for Tram #4, which was always there within a few minutes and took us into the city in very little time. The restaurant serves very good dinners too. We would stay at Katajanokka again!

Room Tip: Our room, 218, was on the same floor as the front desk and main entry, so we never had to use the el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

this is a converted prison in Helsinki and a fun place to stay. Good value particularly for Helsinki, we booked the cheapest room, plenty of space and good bathroom with shower. As it is a converted prison the walls are thick and there was no noise when we stayed. Breakfast is a good buffet.
Next to a tram stop, however it is a fifteen minute walk into the centre on the flat, very easy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dundeepenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Hotel Katajanokka is one of the best hotels in Helsinki. The atmosphere is unique due to the history of the place and the renovation has been extremely successful. The restaurant is also surprisingly good and has a large play room for kids. Very good value for the money!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mapeso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, a Capital town
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is definitely a funky restoration, but it works. We loved the solid walls and high ceilings. The restaurant was excellent and reasonably-priced. The place is slightly off the main part of central Helsinki, but everything is an easy walk away, and the tram stops just in front of the hotel. It's convenient to the old market and ferries.

Room Tip: The premier rooms were excellent value when we stayed there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wi-FiNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The best and most charming hotel we stayed at during our tour of St. Petersburg, Helsinki and Stockholm. The location was perfect for us, in a quiet residential neighbourhood at Katajanokka/
Skatudden, only 10 min walk from the Market Square, 5 min walk from the Viking Line terminal and with tram line nr. 4 stopping right outside the entrance. The conversion is well done, conserving a lot of the "qualities" and character of the former prison, We stayed in rooms in the former administration wing with large, comfortable rooms, but I regret not staying in the cell block for more of the jail atmosphere. The breakfast was outstanding, and there is a nice back yard, perfect for drinks in the afternoon in summer.

Room Tip: The standard, cell block rooms have small windows and more character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iverh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itu-SP
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Very interesting place to stay. The accomodations are confortable, large room, the reception is excellent, good breakfast, quiet neighborhood, short distance to downtown and there is abundance of public transportation. I strongly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuizItu_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 65 in Helsinki
1,216 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 65 in Helsinki
1,118 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 65 in Helsinki
561 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 65 in Helsinki
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Katajanokka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Katajanokka

Property: Hotel Katajanokka
Address: Merikasarminkatu 1a, Helsinki 00160, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Katajanokka 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Katajanokka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helsinki
Helsinki Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing