We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old prison and so much fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Katajanokka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Katajanokka
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old prison and so much fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

What to say about a hotel that is a former prison? And I've got to tell you that this is a very confortable prision. Best Western Katajanokka definitely worth the experience. The clerks are all dressed in prison outfits. No guards, no violence, no darkness. Only friendly staff, confortable and clean rooms, very good breakfast and an unforgetable experience. Being in Helsink is an amazing experience by itself. Staying at Katajanoka helps you to enhance this experience. If you ask me about the location, my answer would be: PERFECT!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcelo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    573
    79
    18
    7
See reviews for
232
686
107
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed in the hotel for a weekend in the beginning of November 2013. Former city jail offers a unique hotel experience. Only ten minutes of walking distance to the city center and tram stop right outside the hotel this is a very good choice while staying in the capital of Finland. Hotel breakfast buffet offers wide selection of food - cereals, omelletes, fried eggs, herrings, very tasty oatmeal porridge, and many more. We had a early check-out and we got nice packed breakfast to go :-) Very good service, good bed and three different pillows.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 132MartinOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

A former prison, converted into a very comfortable hotel, very modern and spacious rooms. Very clean and big bathroom.
Good restaurant and with a very atmospheric decoration.
Very close to the city centre and easy to find.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecilia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Booked it on the strength of the prison conversion. Uniforms on staff are a little bit twee but the service is great. Has everything you could want and only a short walk from the city centre :) Not much of a fan of the breakfast though

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank DirtyWeeHallion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I have stayed here on two different trips and I love the hotel, its restaurant, its location. The only negative is the virtual lack of parking, but i was able to find a place nearby. This former prison is nicely adapted. It retains characteristics of its notorious past but with a level of comfort.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tombrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 2 year old daughter. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming and our ground floor room was spacious, comfortable and very quiet. We had a bathroom with bath tub and shower. We appreciated the minibar fridge and the tea/coffee making facilities.

The hotel still retained many of the features of its former prison life including the metal staircases but managed to be luxurious without losing its character. We liked the life-size black and white photos of prison life and the solitary cell at the back of the restaurant is worth a visit.

We were travelling by car and parked in the courtyard outside the hotel for 20 euros per 24 hours (still cheaper than street parking). There was a small hiccup when we received a parking fine because our car registration details hadn't been added to the database but this was resolved promptly. It is worth checking the staff have logged your car details if using the hotel parking. We found it an easy 10-15 minute walk to the centre of Helsinki but the hotel is on a tram route if required.

Buffet breakfast was very good and there are mugs available if you don't wish to drink out of metal cups but we didn't find them until the second day. The playroom just off the restaurant was enjoyed by our daughter.

The only two quibbles were: the sauna had very restricted opening times when it was free to hotel guests; and the hotel restaurant, while excellent, was quite formal. We would have liked the option of something akin to a bar meal without having to go out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Katajanokka is a unique building, very different from the other modern block-like hotels which have sprung up in Helsinki in the last few decades. There are very well-trained, multilingual staff at the front desk, who were very helpful to us during our recent stay. The rooms are as quiet as the "Chapel of Silence", and the food at the breakfast buffet is very good. Right outside the gate of the old prison is a stop for Tram #4, which was always there within a few minutes and took us into the city in very little time. The restaurant serves very good dinners too. We would stay at Katajanokka again!

Room Tip: Our room, 218, was on the same floor as the front desk and main entry, so we never had to use the el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#19 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Katajanokka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Katajanokka

Property: Hotel Katajanokka
Address: Merikasarminkatu 1a, Helsinki 00160, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Katajanokka 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Katajanokka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helsinki
Helsinki Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing