We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ex-tempore dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ragu

Ragu
Ranked #4 of 1,453 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$28
Cuisines: European, Central European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ragu portraits the combination of our inspiration from clean and innovative Scandinavian Kitchen and our passion for italian culinary heritage. Expect something new, something old, customer-orientated and interesting.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great ex-tempore dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Not many fine dining restaurants in Helsinki are open on a July Monday, but Ragu was. I called in for a last minute reservation and was glad to get a free table for two.

We ate the four course Menu Ragu with accompanying wine recommendations. Food was great strarting right from the assortment of breads (with a selection of delicious spreads) and kept getting better and better with the each dish they served. Wine selections were spot on, especially the quirky white wine served with the broiled whitefish starter. Husband was mesmerized by the lamb main course and kept on raving about it well into the night.

I often find desserts in set menus lacking imagination or just plain lazy attepts to take the easy way out. But Ragu kept their cool to the end; the strawberries served with maple syrup cake and yoghurt offered simple but intriguing tastes and textures. A perfect end to an excellent dinner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MeiraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    129
    32
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“amazing food in a nice environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We went to this restaurant at the recommendation of another restaurant that was too full to accommodate us, and it was a great find! The food was gourmet, with options for a menu or separate entrees, including vegetarian options. The soup was simply amazing, and everything tasted really good. We also enjoyed their before-dinner cocktail of the day.

Our server was very friendly and helped us a lot with the ordering, and then they explained everything to us as it came out. The atmosphere was nice and the food was absolutely divine. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply superb! Kiitos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We were only in Helsinki for a couple of days and sought TripAdvisor's help to find somewhere to eat. Ragu made our short list and we were happy to find they had a table available. I doubt though that short-notice bookings will be available for much longer. This newly opened restaurant deserves to go from strength to strength and surely will soon have a waiting list for a table.
But our luck was good and improved further on deciding to choose the 5-course taster menu of the chef's choice based on fresh, local ingredients. The short al carte menu had plenty to tempt us but we were really glad we had chosen to be surprised. The first offering was five freshly baked breads with brown butter, goats cheese, rhubarb spread and a tomato tapenade - all inventive and delicious. Next was a starter of veal cruda, Ragu's cottage cheese and cherries - this was melt-in-the-mouth delicious. This was followed by the most amazing dish of cauliflower spuma, quite how the chef managed to concentrate such a fantastic rich, creamy taste of cauliflower into this dish I'll never know. This really was the knock-out course, who'd have thought cauliflower could be so tasty?!
The next course of salmon with fresh vegetables and a soft-poached egg was probably the least flavoursome with the salmon being a bit bland (the crunchy, asparagus was the star of this dish) but as a non-egg eater (lightly cooked egg yolk gives me an asthma reaction) I was very pleasantly surprised when the chef personally delivered my dish with the explanation that he had made an egg-free olive oil hollandaise to replace the egg. My dish looked identical to my husband's so a very clever substitution.
The main course was braised oxtail served on a spring vegetable risotto in a smoked Kilner jar. Maybe a clichéd presentation but a wonderful display of technical cooking. The dessert of strawberries with ice cream and strawberry meringue sounds a little dull in my poor description but was a further triumph of brilliant cooking skills; a mastery of flavours and textures.
The restaurant is new, it has only been open for 10weeks but the staff already works as a well-oiled and happy team. This must be a credit to the environment that the chef-owner wishes to create.
We've eaten in a number of Michelin-starred restaurants in the UK and I can honestly say that the food here is on a par with that level of cooking. What you don't get here is prentious service - just good, happy waiting staff and amazing food.
In other meals we had found eating out in Finland to be a bit expensive compared to eating in the UK. This was the opposite: our bill of 164€ for two, including a 49€ bottle of Prosecco was fantastically good value.
Long may Ragu retain it's 100% rating on TripAdvisor!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent food, phenomenal service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

What a wonderful restaurant. We took the five course tasting menu and each dish was delightful, beautifully presented, paired with great wine, not to mention the attentive , professional and friendly service. We look forward to going back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelVav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
389 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“The PERFECT balance: delicious food, exciting wines, exhilarating ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Ragu is the ULTIMATE fine-dining experience!

Our special, pre-ordered tasting menu was extraordinary. Memorable tastes, succulently cooked, beautifully served.

The individual tasting wines were creatively paired, boldly picked, and even 'educational', off the beaten track. Riia, the sommeliere, served us so well.

In its first 2+ months, Ragu has reached the exhilarating ambiance: the service is easy and relaxed, courteous and warm, while there is nothing relaxed about the food or wine. This is THE balance: VERY fine dining, without the AWKWARD RIGIDITY in service so often encountered.

In its stylish, well-designed, all-new space, with its lingering tastes and and warm feelings, Ragu is definitely on a roll.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rokkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ragu also viewed

 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Ragu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing