We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Albert
Ranked #38 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Great value hotel within walking distance of most of the sights. Our room was bright and modern, and very quiet. Excellent breakfast buffet; a very large variety to suit most palates. We had dinner here one night too and it was also very good. We would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divebunny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Andergard, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding the Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri.
Our staff are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would be honoured to have you as our guest again in the future.

Best regards,

Martin Andergard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Original Sokos Hotel Albert
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

The hotel Albert is well located, and is within walking distance of the train station, west harbour and esplanade. It is two blocks down from another sokos hotel, which lobby is more luxurious, but also more expensive. If location is what matters to you, then choose Albert.

Breakfast is included and is well above the average continental breakfast.

Front desk was very helpful.

Nearby grocery store and restaurants.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nytoparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I spent 3 nights here, upgrading to a superior room so I could check-in at 111AM (they had a room that was vacant). The people at the desk were lovely, the room was clean and reasonably sized. The #6 tram is on the corner and takes you to lots of places - Arabia, train station, city center.

I can't say more about the location because EVERYTHING was closed for the midsummer holiday, which was quite disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taureg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding the Sokos Hotel Albert
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am sorry for the inconvenience due to the national midsummer holiday caused you in the form of closed shops and businesses (a variety of restaurants are open). Although the shops are closed only for two days, it can be a disappointing surprise for visitors. I still hope you had a good time in Helsinki.

We do hope to see you as our guest again in the future.

Best regards,

Martin Andergard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights in a single room.

Pros:
*The room was nicely and modernly decorated. Single room had quite a big single bed, working table, flat screen tv, minibar, ironing board and iron, small "wardrobe" and bathroom with a shower.
*In the lobby there was a nice looking library/bar where you can read several magazines the hotel offers.
*Breakfast was ok, nothing special. The usual bread, bacon, eggs, cereals etc.

Cons:
*The room was very hot even though I had set the air conditioning to coolest. I can image that during summers it can get _really_ hot.
*There were stains on the room walls, especially next to the bed. I didn't even want to image what those were but otherwise the room was clean.
*The pillow was very hard and lumpy. There were two pillow options available, but the other one was too soft and slack for my taste. But I think hotel pillows are never very good.
*You could _really_ hear very loud bangs when people let the doors of the nearby rooms slam shut behind them. In fact the sound of the doors closing was so loud that you think someone just entered your room, and that is not a nice feeling when you are just about to fall asleep and alone in your room.

The hotel also has a restaurant but I didn't try that during my stay. The hotel is located about 10 minute walk to the city center and you can find a smallish supermarket very near. I would not likely go back to this hotel as there are many other hotels to try nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjut_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding the Sokos Hotel Albert.
Regarding the cons you mentioned we are delivering extra fans this week (week 26) to upper floors facing the sun and our goal is have our maintenance dept. paint over stains and scratches as soon as they are noticed.
We do have a harder and a softer pillow since this has been the feedback of our guests. In addition there are smaller (and thinner) children’s pillows that can be requested from the staff.

In July we are installing new, bigger TV:s with additional foreign channels into all rooms and the library bar.

We sincerely hope to see you as our guest again in the near future.

Best regards,

Martin Andergard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I'm really enjoying my time at the Sokos Hotel Albert. The rooms are really modern and cute, with a funky design. It's really nice to see after so many drab hotels. It's no wonder that Helsinki is the World Design Capital of 2012.

The staff are super friendly and helpful.

The restaurant downstairs has really good food, and breakfast was amazing.

I don't want to leave :]

Room Tip: Make sure you have the breakfast, it's delicious. Rooms on the corners are the best.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seattlestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmng, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyded our service and rooms. We hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards,

Kati Jousimies
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The main thing I remember from this stay is a decent sized room. Location was good and close enough to everything. Most of the decoration in the room was pretty new including huge television.

We did not encounter any problems with our stay so I'll rate this hotel very good.

Food tip: On the corner of the block (left from the main door) there is pizzeria "Dennis" which I think is the best pizzaplace in Finland.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Villemies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Andergard, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Dear Mr.Villemies,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding the Sokos Hotel Albert
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We will get new in room TV:s this summer, so the TV:s will be even better.
Also I would recommend the Pizzas at our hotel restaurant “Papa Albert”. They are really tasty and oh so good. My personal favourite is the “Diavola” ;)).

We do hope to see you as our guest again in the near future.

Best regards,

Martin Andergard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The hotel is easy to reach by public transport (5min direct tram from the central station) and offers excellent quality for the price (less than 100 euros). Nice district with beautiful buildings, many shops and 10-15min walking to the centre (well, there was so much snow&ice that one had to walk very slowly those days!) ; the building looks rather boring from outside but it is very cosy and modern inside; our room on the first floor was quiet (despite my fears when I started hearing the machines removing mountains of snow!), very big (a standard one), super clean, good bed and pillows. We can certainly recommend their Italian restaurant where we enjoyed dinner. Unfortunately we had breakfast in a hurry before leaving to the airport very early in the morning but the offer was quite impressive to satisfy all tastes. I wish I could have had more time to try more things!
Finally, staff was friendly, very helpful, easygoing -we noticed that in another Sokos hotel in the country, they seem to get good training on how to make the client feel home, really- Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank virblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 66 in Helsinki
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
#30 of 66 in Helsinki
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Albert

Address: Albertinkatu 30, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#29 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: £102 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Albert 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOKOS HOTEL ALBERT is located in the hub of the cultural, commercial, historical, and in a sense even bohemian Helsinki. Within walking distance the quest will find Signature Design clothes, Finnish Design Furniture, vintage furniture- and rare-to-find vinyl record shops. SOKOS HOTEL ALBERT represents a genuinely new type of urban hotel with a mission to compose individual hotel experiences according to each guest's wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Albert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing